Ann Leckie

E.C.
931 books | 578 friends

Jacquel...
1,084 books | 174 friends

Lin
Lin
402 books | 62 friends

Beth Be...
222 books | 74 friends

Beth
1,355 books | 52 friends

Sorin A...
618 books | 81 friends

S.M. Muse
710 books | 100 friends

SciFi K...
347 books | 666 friends

More friends…

Ann Leckie

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
June 2011


Ann Leckie is currently not accepting new questions.

Popular Answered Questions

Ann Leckie So, I don't think I've ever said that Radchaai are gender neutral--just that they really don't care about anyone's gender, and don't mark it socially…moreSo, I don't think I've ever said that Radchaai are gender neutral--just that they really don't care about anyone's gender, and don't mark it socially or linguistically. So, they're humans, and as such come in all sorts of genders, and they know gender exists, but it's not really a thing they care much about. They care about it, maybe, as much as we care about hair color.

I think it's worth considering (though I know you didn't bring this up explicitly, but I feel it's sort of lurking in the background of your question) how much of what we consider to be "obvious" about someone's gender when we look at them is actually a set of social cues. Hairstyle, kinds of clothes, even certain colors of clothing. Ways of standing or moving. These can change from culture to culture, or even from decade to decade (just a couple hundred years ago, high heels and hose were a guy thing. Less than a hundred years ago, pink was a "boy" color.) And cues that we will often talk about as though they're non-negotiable are full of exceptions--breasts, for instance. I know unambiguously masculine cis-men who have more breast tissue than some unambiguously feminine cis-women. And consider that while quite a lot of people will say that one's genitals are the defining element of one's gender, we very rarely see the genitals of the people we quite automatically assign gender to. We're not actually gendering the people around us based on their genitals. We're making assumptions about their genitals based on a complicated mass of social cues.

Just something to think about.(less)
Ann Leckie Currently Ancillary Mercy is scheduled for October of 2015. And I'm so glad you're enjoying the books!

I'm not certain what my next project will be,…more
Currently Ancillary Mercy is scheduled for October of 2015. And I'm so glad you're enjoying the books!

I'm not certain what my next project will be, but there's a very good chance I'll want to write more in this universe.(less)
Average rating: 4.02 · 118,515 ratings · 13,192 reviews · 44 distinct worksSimilar authors
Ancillary Justice (Imperial...

3.97 avg rating — 56,653 ratings — published 2013 — 47 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ancillary Sword (Imperial R...

4.04 avg rating — 28,920 ratings — published 2014 — 37 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ancillary Mercy (Imperial R...

4.20 avg rating — 22,144 ratings — published 2015 — 29 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Provenance

3.84 avg rating — 6,189 ratings — published 2017 — 16 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Night's Slow Poison (Imperi...

3.59 avg rating — 712 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
She Commands Me and I Obey

3.75 avg rating — 517 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Imperial Radch Boxed Tr...

4.46 avg rating — 52 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beloved of the Sun

3.75 avg rating — 36 ratings — published 2010
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Sad History of the Tear...

3.60 avg rating — 25 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hesperia and Glory

3.76 avg rating — 17 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Ann Leckie…

I’ve been neglecting the blog, sorry! I’m head down in revisions for The Raven Tower.


But I’ll be some places in St Louis over the next couple of weeks! This coming Wednesday I’ll be at Left Bank Books–not for myself, but to chat with Chandler Klang-Smith, author of The Sky Is Yours. It’s a fascinating book, and I think it will be a great evening. I gather Left Bank is planning to do more SF-rel...

Read more of this blog post »
2 likes ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on April 17, 2018 08:42 • 248 views
Ancillary Justice Ancillary Sword Ancillary Mercy
(3 books)
by
4.04 avg rating — 108,933 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Interviews

September 2017, Ann Leckie
"The Hugo Award-winning author says the sci-fi and fantasy genres are sometimes thought of as stories just for the guys. She's setting the record straight." ...More

more interviews »

Ann’s Recent Updates

Ann Leckie wrote a new blog post
I’ve been neglecting the blog, sorry! I’m head down in revisions for The Raven Tower.
But I’ll be some places in St Louis over the next couple of we... Read more of this blog post »
Ann Leckie rated a book it was amazing
A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine
"An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov."
Ann Leckie rated a book it was amazing
Imagine No Religion by Carlin A. Barton
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Leckie has read
Provenance by Ann Leckie
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Leckie has read
Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Leckie has read
Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Leckie rated a book it was amazing
Artificial Condition by Martha Wells
Rate this book
Clear rating
" Hanna wrote: "I can't wait! And I absolutely love those covers! Is there any way of ordering a print?"

It's possible John Harris will make prints avail
...more "
Pilot Down, Presumed Dead by Marjorie Phleger
"in 5th grade I saw this book in the library. it looked interesting so I picked it up and startec reading. when I was finished it almost made me cry. later, in 7th grade my school got new books and they had a table out for free books to take and i..." Read more of this review »
More of Ann's books…
“Luxury always comes at someone else’s expense. One of the many advantages of civilization is that one doesn’t generally have to see that, if one doesn’t wish. You’re free to enjoy its benefits without troubling your conscience.”
Ann Leckie, Ancillary Justice

“Thoughts are ephemeral, they evaporate in the moment they occur, unless they are given action and material form. Wishes and intentions, the same. Meaningless, unless they impel you to one choice or another, some deed or course of action, however insignificant. Thoughts that lead to action can be dangerous. Thoughts that do not, mean less than nothing.”
Ann Leckie, Ancillary Justice

“If you’re going to make a desperate, hopeless act of defiance you should make it a good one.”
Ann Leckie, Ancillary Justice

Polls

More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Sword and Laser: November 2013 Sword Pick 41 423 Oct 24, 2013 09:54PM  
Beyond Reality: Nominations for January 2014 21 49 Oct 26, 2013 07:23AM  
The Sword and Laser: Book categories - why isn't SF or F enough? 26 175 Oct 27, 2013 12:06AM  
Beyond Reality: This topic has been closed to new comments. What are you reading in October 2013 55 75 Oct 30, 2013 04:51PM  
The Sword and Laser: This topic has been closed to new comments. What Else Are You Reading - October 2013 211 412 Nov 01, 2013 04:53AM  
SciFi and Fantasy...: This topic has been closed to new comments. February Science Fiction Theme: Space Opera 32 137 Nov 13, 2013 12:22PM  
Beyond Reality: Nominations for February 2014 19 51 Nov 26, 2013 10:07AM  
Beyond Reality: Welcome to December! 3 32 Dec 14, 2013 07:01AM  



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Valyssia Leigh Kind of you to accept. Thanks!


J.E.J. Fern Thank you!


back to top