Ann Leckie

Seth
222 books | 700 friends

Jeff James
3,337 books | 143 friends

Shavind...
1,045 books | 55 friends

Stephen...
398 books | 265 friends

Beth
1,929 books | 127 friends

Jacquel...
999 books | 80 friends

Bogi Ta...
3,966 books | 264 friends

Frances...
833 books | 76 friends

More friends…

Ann Leckie

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
June 2011


Ann Leckie is currently not accepting new questions.

Popular Answered Questions

Ann Leckie So, I don't think I've ever said that Radchaai are gender neutral--just that they really don't care about anyone's gender, and don't mark it socially …moreSo, I don't think I've ever said that Radchaai are gender neutral--just that they really don't care about anyone's gender, and don't mark it socially or linguistically. So, they're humans, and as such come in all sorts of genders, and they know gender exists, but it's not really a thing they care much about. They care about it, maybe, as much as we care about hair color.

I think it's worth considering (though I know you didn't bring this up explicitly, but I feel it's sort of lurking in the background of your question) how much of what we consider to be "obvious" about someone's gender when we look at them is actually a set of social cues. Hairstyle, kinds of clothes, even certain colors of clothing. Ways of standing or moving. These can change from culture to culture, or even from decade to decade (just a couple hundred years ago, high heels and hose were a guy thing. Less than a hundred years ago, pink was a "boy" color.) And cues that we will often talk about as though they're non-negotiable are full of exceptions--breasts, for instance. I know unambiguously masculine cis-men who have more breast tissue than some unambiguously feminine cis-women. And consider that while quite a lot of people will say that one's genitals are the defining element of one's gender, we very rarely see the genitals of the people we quite automatically assign gender to. We're not actually gendering the people around us based on their genitals. We're making assumptions about their genitals based on a complicated mass of social cues.

Just something to think about.(less)
Ann Leckie Currently Ancillary Mercy is scheduled for October of 2015. And I'm so glad you're enjoying the books!

I'm not certain what my next project will be, bu…more
Currently Ancillary Mercy is scheduled for October of 2015. And I'm so glad you're enjoying the books!

I'm not certain what my next project will be, but there's a very good chance I'll want to write more in this universe.(less)
Average rating: 4.01 · 191,322 ratings · 19,765 reviews · 51 distinct worksSimilar authors
Ancillary Justice (Imperial...

3.97 avg rating — 83,150 ratings — published 2013 — 63 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ancillary Sword (Imperial R...

4.06 avg rating — 41,725 ratings — published 2014 — 42 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ancillary Mercy (Imperial R...

4.21 avg rating — 33,188 ratings — published 2015 — 37 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Provenance

3.83 avg rating — 13,818 ratings — published 2017 — 24 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Raven Tower

3.94 avg rating — 12,469 ratings — published 2019 — 19 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Night's Slow Poison (Imperi...

3.59 avg rating — 982 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
She Commands Me and I Obey ...

3.77 avg rating — 770 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Imperial Radch Boxed Tr...

4.45 avg rating — 215 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beloved of the Sun

3.69 avg rating — 54 ratings — published 2010
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Sad History of the Tear...

3.57 avg rating — 49 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Ann Leckie…

The Hugos and The Raven Tower

First of all, SUPER CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE HUGO WINNERS!!





Kermit flailing happily



The less said about the actual ceremony the better, and besides lots of people have already said good words about it, and do listen to them. But the results were fabulous! The results were always going to be fabulous, because LOOK AT THAT FINALIST LIST they are all awesome.





2019 was a particularly strong year for no

Read more of this blog post »
44 likes ·   •  5 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on August 03, 2020 10:15
Ancillary Justice Ancillary Sword Ancillary Mercy
(3 books)
by
4.02 avg rating — 173,861 ratings

Related News

If you love the fantasy genre, this is the season for you! Some of the biggest books out this fall promise to be epics full of magic, adventure,...
186 likes · 49 comments
Until this summer, Lindsay Ellis was mainly known as a super smart and witty film critic and YouTube essayist, making videos that range from...
171 likes · 16 comments
You probably know coauthors Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck as James S.A. Corey—their shared pen name. And you probably know them from their wildly...
151 likes · 17 comments

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Ann’s Recent Updates

Ann Leckie wrote a new blog post

The Hugos and The Raven Tower

First of all, SUPER CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE HUGO WINNERS!!



Kermit flailing happily



The less said about the actual ceremony the better, and besides lo Read more of this blog post »
" Luciano Joublanc wrote: ""anywhere USPS lets me" - is that to say no international shipping?"

That is to say, anywhere in the world that I can mail to.
"
Ann Leckie rated a book it was amazing
A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine
"An exceptional first novel recommended for fans of Cherryh, Leckie, Banks, and Asimov."
Ann Leckie rated a book it was amazing
Imagine No Religion by Carlin A. Barton
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Leckie has read
Provenance by Ann Leckie
Provenance
by Ann Leckie (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Leckie has read
Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Leckie has read
Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Leckie rated a book it was amazing
Artificial Condition by Martha Wells
Rate this book
Clear rating
" Hanna wrote: "I can't wait! And I absolutely love those covers! Is there any way of ordering a print?"

It's possible John Harris will make prints avail
...more "
More of Ann's books…
“Luxury always comes at someone else’s expense. One of the many advantages of civilization is that one doesn’t generally have to see that, if one doesn’t wish. You’re free to enjoy its benefits without troubling your conscience.”
Ann Leckie, Ancillary Justice

“Thoughts are ephemeral, they evaporate in the moment they occur, unless they are given action and material form. Wishes and intentions, the same. Meaningless, unless they impel you to one choice or another, some deed or course of action, however insignificant. Thoughts that lead to action can be dangerous. Thoughts that do not, mean less than nothing.”
Ann Leckie, Ancillary Justice

“If you’re going to make a desperate, hopeless act of defiance you should make it a good one.”
Ann Leckie, Ancillary Justice

Polls

January 2014 -- Science Fiction

This poll decided which two books will go on to the second round of voting for the Beyond Reality Science Fiction Book of the Month for January 2014.

 
  21 votes, 22.3%

 
  20 votes, 21.3%

 
  14 votes, 14.9%

 
  11 votes, 11.7%

 
  11 votes, 11.7%

 
  10 votes, 10.6%

 
  5 votes, 5.3%

 
  2 votes, 2.1%

More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Sword and Laser: November 2013 Sword Pick 41 428 Oct 24, 2013 09:54PM  
Beyond Reality: Nominations for January 2014 21 50 Oct 26, 2013 07:23AM  
The Sword and Laser: Book categories - why isn't SF or F enough? 26 176 Oct 27, 2013 12:06AM  
Beyond Reality: This topic has been closed to new comments. What are you reading in October 2013 55 76 Oct 30, 2013 04:51PM  
The Sword and Laser: This topic has been closed to new comments. What Else Are You Reading - October 2013 210 412 Nov 01, 2013 04:53AM  
SciFi and Fantasy...: This topic has been closed to new comments. February Science Fiction Theme: Space Opera 32 141 Nov 13, 2013 12:22PM  
Beyond Reality: Nominations for February 2014 19 51 Nov 26, 2013 10:07AM  
Beyond Reality: Welcome to December! 3 32 Dec 14, 2013 07:01AM  



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Valyssia Leigh Kind of you to accept. Thanks!


J.E.J. Fern Thank you!


back to top