Lou Berney

Lou Berney’s Followers (756)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
Susan “...
19,519 books | 228 friends

Will Mills
397 books | 54 friends

Jamie
1,475 books | 246 friends

Dan Sti...
8,035 books | 748 friends

Steph
2,984 books | 483 friends

Lee
Lee
2,674 books | 136 friends

Jim
Jim
1,459 books | 1,099 friends

Tim
Tim
1,157 books | 542 friends

More friends…

Lou Berney

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
December 2009


Lou Berney is the Edgar Award-winning author of November Road (2018), The Long and Faraway Gone (2015), Whiplash River (2012), and Gutshot Straight (2010), all from William Morrow. His short fiction has appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, Ploughshares, the New England Review, and the Pushcart Prize anthology.

To ask Lou Berney questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Lou Berney Thanks very much. At this point I'm not sure if Wyatt will show up in another book, but if I had to put money on it I'd say it's a pretty good bet.…moreThanks very much. At this point I'm not sure if Wyatt will show up in another book, but if I had to put money on it I'd say it's a pretty good bet.(less)
Lou Berney Don't trust anyone who tells you writer's block is a myth. It's not. When I get stuck, I usually switch to a different part of the writing process. So…moreDon't trust anyone who tells you writer's block is a myth. It's not. When I get stuck, I usually switch to a different part of the writing process. So if I get stuck drafting, I'll do some brainstorming or outlining. If I get stuck outlining, I'll do some drafting or revising. I just always try to keep moving forward.(less)
Average rating: 3.9 · 24,951 ratings · 3,438 reviews · 5 distinct worksSimilar authors
November Road

3.85 avg rating — 11,354 ratings — published 2018 — 43 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Long and Faraway Gone

3.97 avg rating — 9,865 ratings — published 2015 — 15 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Gutshot Straight (Shake Bou...

3.84 avg rating — 2,355 ratings — published 2009 — 12 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Whiplash River (Shake Bouch...

3.81 avg rating — 1,374 ratings — published 2012 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Double Barrel Bluff (Shake ...

3.33 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2017 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Lou Berney…
Gutshot Straight Whiplash River
(3 books)
by
3.83 avg rating — 3,732 ratings

Related News

It's always the perfect time to lose yourself in a mystery or thriller...but there's nothing like summer to curl poolside with a...
208 likes · 52 comments
If you ask us, it's always the perfect time to lose yourself in a page-turning mystery. To help you sleuth out a new read, we asked the...
174 likes · 103 comments
If you love a page-turning mystery, you are in for a treat this month. We're seeing a great assortment of highly anticipated mysteries and...
69 likes · 24 comments
Quotes by Lou Berney  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“The past had power. The past was a riptide. That's why, if you had a brain in your head, you didn't go in the water.”
Lou Berney, The Long and Faraway Gone

“That’s the problem with the world,” he said. “You save it today, and tomorrow it’s gone and gotten itself into trouble all over again. It’s like a Kardashian.”
Lou Berney, The Long and Faraway Gone

“The sun dropped beneath the horizon and then detonated, torching the racks of clouds stacked up above the downtown skyline. Wyatt had forgotten how quickly, in the vast empty sky of the southern plains, the ordinary could turn so flamboyant.”
Lou Berney, The Long and Faraway Gone

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Challenge: 50 Books: Diane's 50 Books for 2012 68 95 Dec 31, 2012 07:06AM  
Challenge: 50 Books: Question #115: Finding New Authors 13 49 Feb 17, 2013 06:24PM  
Mystery/Thriller ...: feb 2013 - sandi 4 20 Mar 03, 2013 03:46PM  
Around the World ...: Yvonne--frequent Flyer 2013 27 98 Jul 08, 2013 01:01PM  
The Seasonal Read...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Summer Challenge 2013: Completed Tasks (DO NOT DELETE POSTS) 2515 739 Aug 31, 2013 09:04PM  
The Life of a Boo...: ***Beckee's 2013 Individual Reading Goals*** 39 136 Dec 10, 2013 04:21PM  
Nothing But Readi...: New 2 U Authors: 2013 197 429 Jan 06, 2014 06:11PM  
Mystery/Thriller ...: july 2014 - sandi 17 26 Aug 09, 2014 10:24AM  



Comments (showing 1-6)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Deborah Ledford Thanks for the friend add, Lou. Congratulations on your Edgar Nomination for Best Paperback Original! Wishing you and your Whiplash River: A Novel the very best.

Deborah J. Ledford
Snare
Staccato


message 4: by Lou

Lou Berney Thanks, Rosemary. I'm really looking forward to the event at Murder by the Book. Every writer and reader I've talked to raves about the place.


Rosemary Hi, Lou. Congratulations on Gutshot Straight! Below is the info I just received in Murder by the Book's online newsletter:

"This Thursday, January 7, 6:30 p.m. First novel!
Lou Berney
Debut thriller writer Lou Berney will sign & discuss his first novel, Gutshot Straight (Harper; $24.99). A fast and funny caper in the tradition of Elmore Leonard, Carl Hiaasen, and the Coen Brothers, Gutshot Straight brings a fresh new talent into the crime fiction fold: Louis Berney. He’s already won raves for his short fiction collection The Road to Bobby Joe and Other Stories (“Rivals the work of contemporary hotshots T.C. Boyle and Ralph Lombreglia” —Chicago Tribune). With Gutshot Straight, Berney is “all in”—sure to win a fervent following with the story of “Shake” Bouchon, fresh out of prison and on the straight and narrow path… after maybe just one last job.

This debut crime novel is highly recommended by Anne & David!

Lou Berney is an accomplished writer, teacher, and liar. He has written feature screenplays and created TV pilots for, among others, Warner Brothers, Paramount, Focus Features, ABC, and Fox. He is the author of The Road to Bobby Joe, a collection of stories, and his short fiction has appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, New England Review, Ploughshares, and the Pushcart Prize anthology. He has taught at the University of Oklahoma, the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and in the MFA program at Saint Mary's College in California. Gutshot Straight, his first novel, was written during the 2007-2008 film and TV Writers Guild strike."

Have a great time at MBTB. The staff is the best!



message 2: by Lou

Lou Berney Thanks, Evan. It is a small world, isn't it? I'm looking forward to your book recommendations.

Best,

Lou


message 1: by Evan

Evan Lou - great to connect on Goodreads and congrats on the book. My brother spoke very highly of you. Small world. Hope all's well with you.

Cheers,
Evan


back to top