Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond

Amber
651 books | 263 friends

snb
snb
302 books | 251 friends

Ingrid ...
45 books | 224 friends

Darkowaa
297 books | 150 friends

Shawn W...
1,263 books | 1,846 friends

Cyd
Cyd
2,244 books | 226 friends

Ibi Zoboi
386 books | 390 friends

Lizzie ...
392 books | 234 friends

More friends…

Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Buchi Emecheta, Janet Fitch, Zadie Smith

Member Since
August 2007


Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond's first book Powder Necklace (Washington Square Press 2010) is a YA tome loosely inspired by her experience attending a girls’ boarding school in the Central Region of Ghana, West Africa. Publishers Weekly called the book “a winning debut” while Library Journal recommended it "for readers who enjoyed Edwidge Danticat's Breath, Eyes, Memory or Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Purple Hibiscus".

In 2014, she was included among some of the most promising African authors under 39 in the Hay Festival-Rainbow Book Club Project Africa39: New Writing from Africa South of the Sahara (Bloomsbury). The Africa39 anthology was published in celebration of UNESCO's designation of Port Harcourt, Nigeria as 2014 World Book Capital. Most rece
...more

Average rating: 3.76 · 317 ratings · 71 reviews · 2 distinct worksSimilar authors
Powder Necklace

3.77 avg rating — 220 ratings — published 2010 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Africa39: New Writing from ...

by
3.68 avg rating — 146 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

If love is the highest ideal in society, the foundation and currency of any sustainable societal and human improvement, then truth is the way a writer loves. If love is patient, kind, never envious, boastful, arrogant, or rude, not insistent on its own way, not irritable, or resentful, not rejoicing at wrongdoing, but with the truth; if love bears all things,... Read more. Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on April 23, 2017 06:43 • 19 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Interviews

October 2009, Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond
" General Questions SS: What is your birthdate? NB: 10/5 SS: What were your previous occupations? NB: door-to-door canvasser, salesgirl, receptionist, travel coordinator, copywriter, editor SS: What was/is your favorite job? NB: Copywriter SS: Where d..." ...More

more interviews »

Favela: Four Deca...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Solace
Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Open City
Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Nana’s Recent Updates

Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond is now friends with Nana Boateng
Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond is now following
6432508
Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond wants to read
To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua Ferris
Rate this book
Clear rating
Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond wants to read
The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing by Mira Jacob
Rate this book
Clear rating
Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond wants to read
The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin
Rate this book
Clear rating
Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond wants to read
Bittersweet by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
Bittersweet
by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Nana's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
African-American ...: My name is Butterfly: March group read 105 41 Mar 17, 2014 07:42PM  
Around the World ...: Ghana 17 422 Jun 03, 2018 05:36PM  
J.M. Barrie
“The moment you doubt whether you can fly, you cease for ever to be able to do it.”
J.M. Barrie, Peter Pan

Coco Chanel
“If you were born without wings, do nothing to prevent them from growing.”
Coco Chanel

16084 The Write Vision — 300 members — last activity Jul 17, 2016 09:57PM
Write the vision! Have you completed your vision (book), and now want to share it with the world? This is the group for you! We will discuss the proce ...more
101912 Ask Isabel Allende - Wednesday, February 12th! — 1459 members — last activity Feb 19, 2014 01:56PM
Join us on Wednesday, February 12th for a special discussion with author Isabel Allende! Isabel will be discussing her work in English and Spanish inc ...more



No comments have been added yet.