Brian Burt

year in books
Michael...
1,273 books | 1,542 friends

Scott S...
507 books | 282 friends

Jimmy
3,014 books | 504 friends

Peter D...
237 books | 419 friends

Andrew ...
475 books | 58 friends

Mary Wo...
302 books | 1,771 friends

Tabi Slick
132 books | 324 friends

Toni
556 books | 451 friends

More friends…

Brian Burt

Goodreads Author


Born
in Fort Wayne, Indiana, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
So many great books and authors, so little time. To see my influences, ...more

Member Since
May 2013


I grew up in Fort Wayne, Indiana (a proud Hoosier!), and started making up stories at an early age to try to get myself out of trouble. After college, I worked as a software engineer and got to travel as a consultant for a while, even landing a 16-month gig in Dublin, Ireland, which was fantastic!

I finally got tired of airports and decided to settle down back in the Midwest, in Southwest Michigan. I couldn't fight the writing bug and started submitting short fiction: science fiction, fantasy, and horror. (I loved them all and wasn't very decisive.) In 1992 I got my big break as a writer, winning the Gold Award (grand prize) in the Writers of the Future Contest for "The Last Indian War."

I met my wife of almost 20 years (who became my best fr
...more

To ask Brian Burt questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Brian Burt No, no luck yet. I must have posted in the wrong area or format. I've had good luck in the past, but the process may have changed; guess I need to do …moreNo, no luck yet. I must have posted in the wrong area or format. I've had good luck in the past, but the process may have changed; guess I need to do more digging in the Librarians Group posts to figure out what I did wrong. ;-)(less)
Brian Burt Climate change is one of the central drivers of my first two novels, absolutely. The Aquarius Rising trilogy focuses on a future Earth where global wa…moreClimate change is one of the central drivers of my first two novels, absolutely. The Aquarius Rising trilogy focuses on a future Earth where global warming, and an attempt to geo-engineer a solution that goes horribly wrong, have dramatically altered the biosphere. Humanity has been forced to take drastic action to adapt to the "new normal" environments. At one extreme, genetically altered human-dolphin hybrids now thrive in reef-cities built on the ruins of drowned coastal human cities beneath the waves. Other hybrid species have staked their claim to different ecological niches, human scientists cling to the arid wastelands and strive to restore the land to health, and the competition between all of these groups generates tension that ultimately leads to conflict.

So Aquarius Rising explores the aftermath of climate change, in a world where we failed to take action until it was far too late, and then our desperate attempts to "fix" things made the situation worse. I sincerely hope that we as a species are smart enough to avoid this worst-case scenario in the real world!(less)
Average rating: 3.96 · 153 ratings · 58 reviews · 8 distinct worksSimilar authors
In the Tears of God

3.71 avg rating — 38 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Blood Tide

4.29 avg rating — 21 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Price of Eden (Aquarius Ris...

4.33 avg rating — 6 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Wri...

by
3.94 avg rating — 34 ratings — published 1992 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Glass and Gardens: Solarpun...

by
3.96 avg rating — 46 ratings — published 2020 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tales From the Dream Zone

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Resurrection Trust

by
3.83 avg rating — 6 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Anthology House (Vol. 1)

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Brian Burt…

Memorial




Bruce Rolff - Rising Soul



I haven't posted in quite a while. Life's been messy and complicated lately. My mom passed two weeks ago after a long, agonizing battle with Alzheimer's Disease. Especially around the Holidays, coping with this kind of grief is a challenge. My dad (who was married to Mom for more than 60 years) is struggling mightily, as are all of us. In truth, I'm utterly confl

Read more of this blog post »
2 likes ·   •  2 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on December 27, 2019 09:50
In the Tears of God Blood Tide Price of Eden
(3 books)
by
3.95 avg rating — 65 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Brian’s Recent Updates

Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupFilms and Documentaries topic
" Wanted to share this if you, like me, need some science (and climate science) that is uplifting. If you're able to find a way to stream Cosmos: Possib ...more "
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupCurrent Corona Virus may never go away topic
" Wanted to share that I got my 2nd shot of the Moderna vaccine 2 days ago. Was pretty sick yesterday, but much better today. Totally worth the short-te ...more "
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupGood news for a change! topic
" Just wanted to wish everyone a very Happy Earth Day today!

[image]
"
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupOil Spills topic
" I've posted before about the precarious situation related to Enbridge Energy's aging Line 5 pipeline that connects Canada and Northern Michigan via th ...more "
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupFlooding topic
" My brother lives in Nashville, TN, and they had major flash flooding there a week ago. He lives about a block from where things got really dangerous. ...more "
Brian Burt rated a book really liked it
Blowout by Rachel Maddow
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt rated a book it was amazing
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes by Dan Egan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt rated a book really liked it
The Upcycle by William McDonough
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt rated a book really liked it
A Sea in Flames by Carl Safina
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt is currently reading
The Upcycle by William McDonough
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Brian's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Green Group: This topic has been closed to new comments. June 2013 Read: Bill McKibben's "Eaarth" 54 16 Jun 13, 2013 01:36PM  
Goodreads Librari...: Add as Contributor 5 30 Sep 16, 2020 03:13PM  
William Gibson
“The future is already here – it's just not evenly distributed.

The Economist, December 4, 2003
William Gibson

William Gibson
“When you want to know how things really work, study them when they're coming apart.”
William Gibson, Zero History

William Gibson
“Cyberspace. A consensual hallucination experienced daily by billions of legitimate operators, in every nation, by children being taught mathematical concepts... A graphic representation of data abstracted from banks of every computer in the human system. Unthinkable complexity. Lines of light ranged in the nonspace of the mind, clusters and constellations of data. Like city lights, receding...”
William Gibson, Neuromancer

660 Green Group — 1455 members — last activity 11 hours, 0 min ago
The Green group is about living in a sustainable manner--how human activity affects the environment and how a changing climate/environment affects how ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 39558 members — last activity 50 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 125352 members — last activity 2 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
37092 Writers and Readers — 2949 members — last activity Apr 27, 2021 10:51AM
A group for writers and readers to meet and discuss books and the writing process. The group allows promotion of books, but please post in the designa ...more
1539 Climate Change, Environment and Ecology — 211 members — last activity May 11, 2017 12:33PM
A group for all those interested in reading, discussing and campaigning over Climate Change and environmental issues, particularly those interested in ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 215 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
36506 Indie Book Collective — 2973 members — last activity 19 hours, 35 min ago
A group of indie authors, helping each other out and bringing new books to the world
58236 Authors, readers, bloggers, reviewers, publisher group — 625 members — last activity 11 hours, 44 min ago
I created this group for authors, readers, bloggers and reviewers to get together and help each other. Please find the appropriate topic to post.
51445 UK Amazon Kindle Forum — 6358 members — last activity 3 hours, 23 min ago
Where every hour is happy hour.
More of Brian’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by L

L Dear Brian,
Thank you for being my friend here on Goodreads. I look forward to reading and reviewing your novel.
Kind Regards
Lucinda x


back to top