Brian Burt

year in books
Tabi Slick
117 books | 314 friends

Jimmy
2,662 books | 447 friends

Scott S...
498 books | 287 friends

Mary Wo...
230 books | 1,716 friends

Peter D...
237 books | 433 friends

Andrew ...
474 books | 56 friends

Michael...
1,205 books | 1,543 friends

Toni
489 books | 436 friends

More friends…

Brian Burt

Goodreads Author


Born
in Fort Wayne, Indiana, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
So many great books and authors, so little time. To see my influences, ...more

Member Since
May 2013


I grew up in Fort Wayne, Indiana (a proud Hoosier!), and started making up stories at an early age to try to get myself out of trouble. After college, I worked as a software engineer and got to travel as a consultant for a while, even landing a 16-month gig in Dublin, Ireland, which was fantastic!

I finally got tired of airports and decided to settle down back in the Midwest, in Southwest Michigan. I couldn't fight the writing bug and started submitting short fiction: science fiction, fantasy, and horror. (I loved them all and wasn't very decisive.) In 1992 I got my big break as a writer, winning the Gold Award (grand prize) in the Writers of the Future Contest for "The Last Indian War."

I met my wife of almost 20 years (who became my best fr
...more

To ask Brian Burt questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Brian Burt Climate change is one of the central drivers of my first two novels, absolutely. The Aquarius Rising trilogy focuses on a future Earth where global wa…moreClimate change is one of the central drivers of my first two novels, absolutely. The Aquarius Rising trilogy focuses on a future Earth where global warming, and an attempt to geo-engineer a solution that goes horribly wrong, have dramatically altered the biosphere. Humanity has been forced to take drastic action to adapt to the "new normal" environments. At one extreme, genetically altered human-dolphin hybrids now thrive in reef-cities built on the ruins of drowned coastal human cities beneath the waves. Other hybrid species have staked their claim to different ecological niches, human scientists cling to the arid wastelands and strive to restore the land to health, and the competition between all of these groups generates tension that ultimately leads to conflict.

So Aquarius Rising explores the aftermath of climate change, in a world where we failed to take action until it was far too late, and then our desperate attempts to "fix" things made the situation worse. I sincerely hope that we as a species are smart enough to avoid this worst-case scenario in the real world!(less)
Brian Burt I have three sons, ages 8 to 18, who provide much-needed distraction if I'm beating my creative head against the wall. After some goofing with the lad…moreI have three sons, ages 8 to 18, who provide much-needed distraction if I'm beating my creative head against the wall. After some goofing with the lads, the block usually crumbles!(less)
Average rating: 3.91 · 123 ratings · 57 reviews · 7 distinct worksSimilar authors
In the Tears of God

3.75 avg rating — 40 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Blood Tide

4.25 avg rating — 20 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Price of Eden (Aquarius Ris...

4.33 avg rating — 6 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Wri...

by
3.87 avg rating — 31 ratings — published 1992 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Glass and Gardens: Solarpun...

by
3.88 avg rating — 24 ratings — published 2020 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Resurrection Trust

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 3 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Anthology House (Vol. 1)

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Brian Burt…

Memorial




Bruce Rolff - Rising Soul



I haven't posted in quite a while. Life's been messy and complicated lately. My mom passed two weeks ago after a long, agonizing battle with Alzheimer's Disease. Especially around the Holidays, coping with this kind of grief is a challenge. My dad (who was married to Mom for more than 60 years) is struggling mightily, as are all of us. In truth, I'm utterly confl

Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  2 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on December 27, 2019 09:50
In the Tears of God Blood Tide Price of Eden
(3 books)
by
3.95 avg rating — 66 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Brian’s Recent Updates

Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupHumans in Prehistory and Medieval History topic
" The Word for World is Forest
[image]

One of my favorite SF novellas by Ursula K. Le Guin, a poignant look at the clash of imperialism and unconstrai
...more "
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupWomen's Issues topic
" Clare wrote: "The Young Scotswoman of the Year is an environmental campaigner.

https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/1......"


Great story. The younger ge
...more "
Brian Burt is now friends with Andrew
1009677
" Clare wrote: "Good news from / for NASA.

"NASA today received four 2020 Webby awards, highlighting the agency's diverse digital offerings in websites,
...more "
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupHoneybees topic
" Still wondering if the Asian giant hornets now detected in the US Pacific Northwest are a danger to already stressed honeybees?

An Expert Explains What
...more "
Brian Burt rated a book really liked it
I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream by Harlan Ellison
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt rated a book really liked it
Stone Cold by David Baldacci
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt is currently reading
I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream by Harlan Ellison
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt finished reading
Stone Cold by David Baldacci
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupWorld Ocean Day topic
" Clare wrote: "This octopus changes colour as she appears to dream. We can't be sure, but cats and dogs dream.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vKCL...
...more "
More of Brian's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Green Group: This topic has been closed to new comments. June 2013 Read: Bill McKibben's "Eaarth" 54 16 Jun 13, 2013 01:36PM  
William Gibson
“The future is already here – it's just not evenly distributed.

The Economist, December 4, 2003
William Gibson

William Gibson
“When you want to know how things really work, study them when they're coming apart.”
William Gibson, Zero History

William Gibson
“Cyberspace. A consensual hallucination experienced daily by billions of legitimate operators, in every nation, by children being taught mathematical concepts... A graphic representation of data abstracted from banks of every computer in the human system. Unthinkable complexity. Lines of light ranged in the nonspace of the mind, clusters and constellations of data. Like city lights, receding...”
William Gibson, Neuromancer

660 Green Group — 1322 members — last activity 1 hour, 40 min ago
The Green group is about living in a sustainable manner--how human activity affects the environment and how a changing climate/environment affects how ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 34450 members — last activity 18 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 109771 members — last activity 2 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
37092 Writers and Readers — 2915 members — last activity Jul 03, 2020 03:26PM
A group for writers and readers to meet and discuss books and the writing process. The group allows promotion of books, but please post in the designa ...more
1539 Climate Change, Environment and Ecology — 208 members — last activity May 11, 2017 12:33PM
A group for all those interested in reading, discussing and campaigning over Climate Change and environmental issues, particularly those interested in ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 215 members — last activity May 18, 2020 03:39PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
36506 Indie Book Collective — 2976 members — last activity Jun 17, 2020 05:56AM
A group of indie authors, helping each other out and bringing new books to the world
58236 Authors, readers, bloggers, reviewers, publisher group — 605 members — last activity Jul 06, 2020 11:24AM
I created this group for authors, readers, bloggers and reviewers to get together and help each other. Please find the appropriate topic to post.
51445 UK Amazon Kindle Forum — 6323 members — last activity 3 hours, 35 min ago
Where every hour is happy hour.
More of Brian’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by L

L Dear Brian,
Thank you for being my friend here on Goodreads. I look forward to reading and reviewing your novel.
Kind Regards
Lucinda x


back to top