,
Brian Burt

year in books

Brian Burt’s Followers (48)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
Jimmy
3,360 books | 557 friends

Scott S...
507 books | 277 friends

Mary Wo...
352 books | 1,818 friends

Michael...
1,447 books | 1,539 friends

Peter D...
242 books | 428 friends

Toni
724 books | 455 friends

Ben Kal...
128 books | 3,542 friends

Tabi Slick
135 books | 325 friends

More friends…

Brian Burt

Goodreads Author


Born
in Fort Wayne, Indiana, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
So many great books and authors, so little time. To see my influences, ...more

Member Since
May 2013


As a long-time software engineer, I've always enjoyed writing code but was driven to compose other forms of alternate reality. About three decades ago (wow, I'm old), I got my first big break as an aspiring speculative fiction writer when my short story "The Last Indian War" won the L. Ron Hubbard Gold Award in the 1991 Writers of the Future contest. I continued submitting short stories to various magazines and anthologies, enjoying the process and learning a lot but "staying small" in terms of projects. Then, in 2013, my first novel -- Aquarius Rising: In the Tears of God -- was published by Double Dragon Publishing. To my surprise, it won EPIC's eBook Award for Science Fiction in 2014. I followed that first novel with a sequel -- Aquarius ...more

To ask Brian Burt questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Brian Burt No, no luck yet. I must have posted in the wrong area or format. I've had good luck in the past, but the process may have changed; guess I need to do …moreNo, no luck yet. I must have posted in the wrong area or format. I've had good luck in the past, but the process may have changed; guess I need to do more digging in the Librarians Group posts to figure out what I did wrong. ;-)(less)
Brian Burt Climate change is one of the central drivers of my first two novels, absolutely. The Aquarius Rising trilogy focuses on a future Earth where global wa…moreClimate change is one of the central drivers of my first two novels, absolutely. The Aquarius Rising trilogy focuses on a future Earth where global warming, and an attempt to geo-engineer a solution that goes horribly wrong, have dramatically altered the biosphere. Humanity has been forced to take drastic action to adapt to the "new normal" environments. At one extreme, genetically altered human-dolphin hybrids now thrive in reef-cities built on the ruins of drowned coastal human cities beneath the waves. Other hybrid species have staked their claim to different ecological niches, human scientists cling to the arid wastelands and strive to restore the land to health, and the competition between all of these groups generates tension that ultimately leads to conflict.

So Aquarius Rising explores the aftermath of climate change, in a world where we failed to take action until it was far too late, and then our desperate attempts to "fix" things made the situation worse. I sincerely hope that we as a species are smart enough to avoid this worst-case scenario in the real world!(less)
Average rating: 3.93 · 196 ratings · 71 reviews · 12 distinct worksSimilar authors
Glass and Gardens: Solarpun...

by
3.86 avg rating — 65 ratings — published 2020 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
In the Tears of God

3.63 avg rating — 38 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Wri...

by
3.79 avg rating — 33 ratings — published 1992 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Blood Tide

4.18 avg rating — 22 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mindshards: A Collection

4.25 avg rating — 8 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Price of Eden (Aquarius Ris...

4.13 avg rating — 8 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Resurrection Trust

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 7 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aquarius Rising Trilogy

4.60 avg rating — 5 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
No More Fairy Tales: Storie...

by
4.60 avg rating — 5 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tales From the Dream Zone

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Brian Burt…

Relocation

It's probably obvious, given the antiquated dates on my Goodreads blog posts...but I've relocated my Blog to my own web site. Feel free to follow me here: https://www.briantburt.com/Blog/index...
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on September 03, 2022 14:29
In the Tears of God Blood Tide Price of Eden
(3 books)
by
3.87 avg rating — 68 ratings

Brian’s Recent Updates

" Looks great, thanks! "
" Awesome, thank you! "
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupNature-Based Solutions to Climate Change topic
" Awesome. Still laughing!!! "
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupFilms and Documentaries topic
" Here's another climate change documentary on Netflix (Chasing Coral) that is absolutely spectacular. Vibrant, stunning, with coral bleaching time-laps ...more "
Brian Burt is now friends with Michael McGinty
107531455
Brian Burt rated a book really liked it
ARFID Avoidant Restrictive Food Intake Disorder by Rachel Bryant-Waugh
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt rated a book it was amazing
The Ministry for the Future by Kim Stanley Robinson
Rate this book
Clear rating
" Excellent (but sobering) summary from PBS Terra about what Earth will look like when 6 key "climate change tipping points" are reached.

https://youtu.b
...more "
Brian Burt rated a book it was amazing
Aquarius Rising Trilogy by Brian Burt
Aquarius Rising Trilogy
by Brian Burt (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt is currently reading
The Ministry for the Future by Kim Stanley Robinson
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Brian's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Green Group: This topic has been closed to new comments. June 2013 Read: Bill McKibben's "Eaarth" 54 16 Jun 13, 2013 01:36PM  
Goodreads Librari...: Add as Contributor 5 30 Sep 16, 2020 03:13PM  
Around the Year i...: Laurel K.'s 2023 ATY Planning and Tracking 5 95 Jan 22, 2023 06:20PM  
William Gibson
“The future is already here – it's just not evenly distributed.

The Economist, December 4, 2003
William Gibson

William Gibson
“When you want to know how things really work, study them when they're coming apart.”
William Gibson, Zero History

William Gibson
“Cyberspace. A consensual hallucination experienced daily by billions of legitimate operators, in every nation, by children being taught mathematical concepts... A graphic representation of data abstracted from banks of every computer in the human system. Unthinkable complexity. Lines of light ranged in the nonspace of the mind, clusters and constellations of data. Like city lights, receding...”
William Gibson, Neuromancer

660 Green Group — 1683 members — last activity 1 hour, 24 min ago
The Green group is about living in a sustainable manner--how human activity affects the environment and how a changing climate/environment affects how ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 184126 members — last activity 6 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 46376 members — last activity 2 hours, 47 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
37092 Writers and Readers — 3015 members — last activity Feb 02, 2023 03:56AM
A group for writers and readers to meet and discuss books and the writing process. The group allows promotion of books, but please post in the designa ...more
1539 Climate Change, Environment and Ecology — 237 members — last activity Jun 19, 2022 02:35AM
A group for all those interested in reading, discussing and campaigning over Climate Change and environmental issues, particularly those interested in ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 214 members — last activity Nov 22, 2021 03:43PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
36506 Indie Book Collective — 2950 members — last activity Jan 16, 2023 09:21AM
A group of indie authors, helping each other out and bringing new books to the world
58236 Authors, readers, bloggers, reviewers, publisher group — 680 members — last activity Jan 24, 2023 03:37PM
I created this group for authors, readers, bloggers and reviewers to get together and help each other. Please find the appropriate topic to post.
51445 UK Amazon Kindle Forum — 6420 members — last activity 5 hours, 29 min ago
Where every hour is happy hour.
More of Brian’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by L

L Dear Brian,
Thank you for being my friend here on Goodreads. I look forward to reading and reviewing your novel.
Kind Regards
Lucinda x


back to top