Brian Burt

Jimmy
2,080 books | 364 friends

Lucinda
1,506 books | 1,823 friends

Scott S...
463 books | 285 friends

Michael...
1,071 books | 1,547 friends

Peter D...
167 books | 417 friends

Tabi Slick
81 books | 276 friends

Mary Wo...
187 books | 1,434 friends

Toni
458 books | 436 friends

More friends…

Brian Burt

Goodreads Author


Born
in Fort Wayne, Indiana, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
So many great books and authors, so little time. To see my influences, ...more

Member Since
May 2013


I grew up in Fort Wayne, Indiana (a proud Hoosier!), and started making up stories at an early age to try to get myself out of trouble. After college, I worked as a software engineer and got to travel as a consultant for a while, even landing a 16-month gig in Dublin, Ireland, which was fantastic!

I finally got tired of airports and decided to settle down back in the Midwest, in Southwest Michigan. I couldn't fight the writing bug and started submitting short fiction: science fiction, fantasy, and horror. (I loved them all and wasn't very decisive.) In 1992 I got my big break as a writer, winning the Gold Award (grand prize) in the Writers of the Future Contest for "The Last Indian War."

I met my wife of almost 20 years (who became my best fr
...more

To ask Brian Burt questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Brian Burt Climate change is one of the central drivers of my first two novels, absolutely. The Aquarius Rising trilogy focuses on a future Earth where global…moreClimate change is one of the central drivers of my first two novels, absolutely. The Aquarius Rising trilogy focuses on a future Earth where global warming, and an attempt to geo-engineer a solution that goes horribly wrong, have dramatically altered the biosphere. Humanity has been forced to take drastic action to adapt to the "new normal" environments. At one extreme, genetically altered human-dolphin hybrids now thrive in reef-cities built on the ruins of drowned coastal human cities beneath the waves. Other hybrid species have staked their claim to different ecological niches, human scientists cling to the arid wastelands and strive to restore the land to health, and the competition between all of these groups generates tension that ultimately leads to conflict.

So Aquarius Rising explores the aftermath of climate change, in a world where we failed to take action until it was far too late, and then our desperate attempts to "fix" things made the situation worse. I sincerely hope that we as a species are smart enough to avoid this worst-case scenario in the real world!(less)
Brian Burt I have three sons, ages 8 to 18, who provide much-needed distraction if I'm beating my creative head against the wall. After some goofing with the…moreI have three sons, ages 8 to 18, who provide much-needed distraction if I'm beating my creative head against the wall. After some goofing with the lads, the block usually crumbles!(less)
Average rating: 3.91 · 93 ratings · 43 reviews · 5 distinct worksSimilar authors
In the Tears of God

3.77 avg rating — 39 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Blood Tide

4.25 avg rating — 20 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Price of Eden (Aquarius Ris...

4.33 avg rating — 6 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Wri...

by
3.83 avg rating — 29 ratings — published 1992 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Anthology House (Vol. 1)

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Brian Burt…





I love writing fiction. Spawning a world from your imagination, searching for the right words to give it depth and meaning, is both wondrous and terrifying. What could give a writer more satisfaction than that simple, creative act? Contributing the result toward a worthy cause. In the past year, I've been fortunate enough to stumble across two projects intended to give writers this precious op... Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on September 09, 2018 08:41 • 102 views • Tags: eco-fiction, habitat-for-humanity, sustainability
In the Tears of God Blood Tide Price of Eden
(3 books)
by
3.97 avg rating — 65 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Brian’s Recent Updates

Brian Burt rated a book really liked it
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupFlying insects Are Disappearing topic
" Clare wrote: "Dublin Airport is among the places in Ireland actively promoting bees and other pollinators. As the airport is surrounded by farmland to ...more "
" Jimmy wrote: "A new analysis, published Thursday in the journal Science, found that the oceans are heating up 40 percent faster than the United Nation ...more "
Brian Burt rated a book liked it
The Restless Wave by John McCain
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupOil Spills topic
" Robert wrote: "50 percent of the oil from the Deepwater Horizon spill that was floating on the surface was chemically altered by exposure to sunlight, ...more "
Brian Burt made a comment in the group Green GroupJimmy's Blog topic
" Followed you, sir. Btw, my birthday is on 12/19. We December-born folks need to look out for each other (since Santa always eclipses our b-days... ;-) ...more "
Brian Burt is now following
8265313
" Awesome -- I love Katherine Hayhoe. In addition to being an eloquent, down-to-earth explainer of climate science, her Christian faith overcomes the kn ...more "
Brian Burt rated a book liked it
Here Comes Trouble by Michael Moore
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brian Burt is currently reading
Here Comes Trouble by Michael Moore
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Brian's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Green Group: This topic has been closed to new comments. June 2013 Read: Bill McKibben's "Eaarth" 54 16 Jun 13, 2013 01:36PM  
William Gibson
“The future is already here – it's just not evenly distributed.

The Economist, December 4, 2003
William Gibson

William Gibson
“When you want to know how things really work, study them when they're coming apart.”
William Gibson, Zero History

William Gibson
“Cyberspace. A consensual hallucination experienced daily by billions of legitimate operators, in every nation, by children being taught mathematical concepts... A graphic representation of data abstracted from banks of every computer in the human system. Unthinkable complexity. Lines of light ranged in the nonspace of the mind, clusters and constellations of data. Like city lights, receding...”
William Gibson, Neuromancer

660 Green Group — 1133 members — last activity 40 minutes ago
The Green group is about living in a sustainable manner--how human activity affects the environment and how a changing climate/environment affects how ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 29452 members — last activity 15 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
37092 Writers and Readers — 2803 members — last activity 15 hours, 10 min ago
A group for writers and readers to meet and discuss books and the writing process. The group allows promotion of books, but please post in the designa ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 90257 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
1539 Climate Change, Environment and Ecology — 206 members — last activity May 11, 2017 12:33PM
A group for all those interested in reading, discussing and campaigning over Climate Change and environmental issues, particularly those interested in ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 212 members — last activity Jan 06, 2019 12:02PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
36506 Indie Book Collective — 2968 members — last activity Jan 14, 2019 01:58PM
A group of indie authors, helping each other out and bringing new books to the world
58236 Authors, readers, bloggers, reviewers, publisher group — 594 members — last activity Jan 02, 2019 12:58PM
I created this group for authors, readers, bloggers and reviewers to get together and help each other. Please find the appropriate topic to post.
51445 UK Amazon Kindle Forum — 6197 members — last activity 1 hour, 33 min ago
Where every hour is happy hour.
More of Brian’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Lucinda Dear Brian,
Thank you for being my friend here on Goodreads. I look forward to reading and reviewing your novel.
Kind Regards
Lucinda x


back to top