J.M. Martin

year in books

J.M. Martin’s Followers (145)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
James T...
1,707 books | 4,568 friends

Dan
Dan
4,381 books | 3,338 friends

Erik Th...
361 books | 1,310 friends

Anne
6,488 books | 4,429 friends

Donna
8,392 books | 507 friends

Rob Edm...
100 books | 2,221 friends

Nathani...
78 books | 1,390 friends

Evans L...
4,228 books | 2,269 friends

More friends…

J.M. Martin

Goodreads Author


Born
in Lexington, KY, The United States
February 28, 1970

Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
August 2009

URL


In the mid-90s, Joe worked for Caliber Press, where he was mentored by the company's founder and publisher, Gary Reed. The Michigan-based publisher put out comics such as The Crow, Deadworld, The Realm, Kabuki, and more. While at Caliber, Joe had a hand in creating a collectible card game based on Todd McFarlane's Spawn universe; he also designed covers, advertisements, and Spawn "Collectors' Club" circulars for their toy line; he helped manage the company's art archives; he lettered dozens of comics; and he also wrote a 17-issue run of the fantasy comic series, Legendlore, illustrated by the now-renowned French artist Philippe Xavier.

From 2001 to 2005, Joe was the ENnie-award-winning managing editor of Privateer Press, assisting with build
...more

Average rating: 3.86 · 1,725 ratings · 302 reviews · 29 distinct worksSimilar authors
Blackguards: Tales of Assas...

by
3.81 avg rating — 682 ratings — published 2015 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Iron Kingdoms Character Gui...

by
4.21 avg rating — 38 ratings — published 2004
Rate this book
Clear rating
Warmachine: Prime (Steam Po...

3.71 avg rating — 42 ratings — published 2003 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Witchfire Trilogy, Coll...

3.91 avg rating — 23 ratings — published 2005
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tisarian's Treasure

by
3.89 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2011 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lock & Load: Iron Kingdoms ...

by
3.93 avg rating — 14 ratings — published 2002
Rate this book
Clear rating
Emergence (Humanity 2.0 #1)

by
3.69 avg rating — 13 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Monsternomicon

by
3.58 avg rating — 12 ratings — published 2002
Rate this book
Clear rating
Blackguards Blacklist: Anth...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 4 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Legendlore: Tainted Soul

by
4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by J.M. Martin…

A Response to HBO's Paterno

HBO [RECENTLY] AIRED A MOVIE about Joe Paterno. The film stars Al Pacino as Paterno and chronicles Paterno's fall from grace in November 2011 when he eclipsed the NCAA's all time coaching wins record AND was fired from PSU for his culpability in allowing Jerry Sandusky to sexually molest young boys. After viewing the film, I can say it failed to reveal the Paterno I personally experienced as an as Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on April 11, 2018 10:50
Emergence
(1 book)
by
3.69 avg rating — 13 ratings

The Night Angel T...
J.M. is currently reading
by Brent Weeks (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Four Agreemen...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Sword of Destiny
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

J.M.’s Recent Updates

J.M. made a comment on J.M.’s challenge
" I've been lax updating Goodreads this year. I've been reading a bit here and there. Eventually, I'll get around to adding them! Still behind though. ...more "
J.M. is now friends with Ray
765636
J.M. is currently reading
The Four Agreements by Miguel Ruiz
Rate this book
Clear rating
J.M. rated a book it was ok
Investigations of a Dog & Other Creatures by Franz Kafka
Rate this book
Clear rating
Marvel Masterworks by Stan Lee
"Enter the Green Goblin (#14)! Spidey’s nemesis is like many characters designed in these early days. Rough and unpolished (see notably Magneto in the Uncanny X-Men).
Apart from that the famous Parker’s luck sets in and causes many problems to poor Pe" Read more of this review »
J.M. rated a book liked it
Marvel Masterworks by Stan Lee
Rate this book
Clear rating
J.M. rated a book really liked it
Marvel Masterworks by Stan Lee
Rate this book
Clear rating
Marvel Masterworks by Stan Lee
"These Silver Age stories may be corny and too wordy, a product of their time, but the foundation Stan Lee and Steve Ditko laid with the original Spider-man made a huge impact on the superhero medium and deservedly so. Learn how it all started with Ma" Read more of this review »
Marvel Masterworks by Stan Lee
"8.1/10
Gather around folks and witness the origin of one of the greatest superheroes of all time.

Peter Palmer Peter Parker is a smart teenager that is made fun of all the time by his classmates. His life doesn't seem like much, but that will change wh" Read more of this review »
J.M. rated a book it was ok
Amazing Spider-Man/Inhuman/All-New Captain America by Jeff Loveness
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of J.M.'s books…
Quotes by J.M. Martin  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“...knowing the full depth of any human, knowing their hopes and frailties, the hurts of their past, the tremor with which they reach for the future...that knowledge is akin to love.”
J.M. Martin, Blackguards: Tales of Assassins, Mercenaries, and Rogues

“Alas, women have always been drawn to me. Don't roll your eyes, my friend, your wife has been wet all evening just from staring at me. Feel free to ask her, she won't lie.”
J.M. Martin, Blackguards: Tales of Assassins, Mercenaries, and Rogues

“There is evil in all of us, and it is the mark of a man how he defies the evil within.”
J.M. Martin, Blackguards: Tales of Assassins, Mercenaries, and Rogues

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Sword & Sorcery: ...: David Gemmell Returns - Legends Prequel Story 3 22 Oct 24, 2014 07:19AM  
Sword & Sorcery: ...: HORSEMEN OF THE APOCALYPSE: Card Game 1 13 Oct 27, 2015 03:38AM  
Sword & Sorcery: ...: 2016 Jan-Feb Anthologies 63 50 Feb 19, 2016 09:12AM  
Fantasy Book Club: Joe's On Beyond Zebra Challenge -- Completed! 30 58 Dec 12, 2016 12:16PM  
2022 Reading Chal...: M's 365 20 215 Dec 22, 2017 11:09AM  
Goodreads Authors...: * Welcome Fantasy Authors and Readers! 1917 5884 Sep 25, 2022 04:48AM  
“Courage is found in unlikely places.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

“Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.”
Groucho Marx, The Essential Groucho: Writings For By And About Groucho Marx

“Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”
Neil Gaiman, Coraline

“We make choices everyday, some of them good, some of them bad. And - if we are strong enough - we live with the consequences.”
David Gemmell

“Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split, as a general thing.”
Robert E. Howard

417136 Lost Lore Readalong! — 123 members — last activity Oct 13, 2018 06:18PM
This is an open group (so, EVERYONE is invited) for exploring the FREE fantasy anthology, Lost Lore (released on Monday 15th January, don'tchaknow) Th ...more
10915 Fantasy Book Club — 721 members — last activity 13 hours, 15 min ago
For readers of Fantasy, monthly book discussions and other fun stuff! We hold nominations on the first Saturday of the month, the poll opens the fo ...more
909 Zombies! — 2734 members — last activity Sep 17, 2022 09:19AM
For all those ready to battle the zombie hordes.
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 160461 members — last activity 3 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
202096 The Signed Page — 256 members — last activity Jan 30, 2022 09:21AM
The Signed Page is an online bookseller established in 2001 that has helped people all over the world acquire signed sci-fi/fantasy books at an afford ...more
11289 David Gemmell Readers — 225 members — last activity Jan 12, 2019 05:45PM
This group is for fans of David A. Gemmell and his writing.
80482 Sword & Sorcery: "An earthier sort of fantasy" — 929 members — last activity 9 hours, 25 min ago
Readers, authors, illustrators, and editors aggregate here to discuss Sword & Sorcery books and related media (movies, comics, blogposts, etc.). ...more
65868 THRONE OF THE CRESCENT MOON Q&A / Discussion Group — 61 members — last activity May 06, 2020 03:46AM
I'll be using this group to answer readers' questions and encourage discussion about my debut fantasy novel, THRONE OF THE CRESCENT MOON. So please, a ...more
25350 THE JAMES MASON COMMUNITY BOOK CLUB — 6779 members — last activity 11 hours, 15 min ago
ALL GENRE COMMUNITY OF BOOK LOVERS-Perfect for those interested in good books of any genre, film and lively discussion!- from current fiction, thrille ...more
8255 Tips for Self Promotion, Sales, and Advertising — 2420 members — last activity Dec 22, 2021 07:03PM
Tips from authors for authors. List what works for you and what hasn't. Whether you're selling a few author copies or just trying to get your name out ...more
More of J.M.’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-8)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 8: by Scott

Scott Roberts Merry christmas.


message 7: by L

L Dear J.M,
I would like to thank you so much for being my friend here on GoodReads. I very much look forward to future book discussions with you, as it seems we have a lot in common in regards to liking the fantasy, sci-fi and historical fiction genres and authors too. Thank you once again, it is a real privalidge.
Kind Regards
Lucinda x


Rachel Hartman LOL, nice to meet you! Central Baptist, though, not St. Joseph. :)


message 5: by J.M.

J.M. Thanks for the add! I hope you might feel inclined to check out Tisarian's Treasure at some point (or at least add to your To-Read list). To answer your question regarding the RPG stuff, I met a dude named Matt Wilson at a convention in Cincinnati back in the '90s. He was the art director for a little CCG called Magic at the time, but was also interested in comics and I happened to be penning one called Legendlore. So we kept in touch and, eventually, he called and pitched me on a company he was starting called Privateer Press. I was substitute teaching at the time, so it was a great situation for me as far as investing time in writing gaming material for a start-up. Long story short, it was a "who you know" kinda opportunity. I worked for Privateer around five years, taking the reins as managing editor, and helping develop the Iron Kingdoms and guide the ship to a few ENnie Awards. Definitely a fun time.


Michael Hey, thanks for the request, J.M.! You've written some intriguing-looking stuff. How did you get into writing RPG books? That's awesome.


message 3: by J.M.

J.M. Gurgi, Fflewdurr, Gwydion, and the budding romance between Taran and Eilonwy? The menace of Arawn and his Cauldron-Born? Awesome. I've been such a fantasy geek since an early age and absolutely loved those books as a teen. I re-read the Chronicles when I was around 30 and they still held up.


message 2: by Rupa

Rupa Got a kick out of seeing the Chronicles of Prydain in your book list :) Loved the hell out of those as a kid!


Heather McCorkle You're welcome J.M.! And thank you for adding my blog to your blogroll!


back to top