in Kuchwada, Madhya Pradesh, India
December 11, 1931

January 19, 1990





Rajneesh (born Chandra Mohan Jain, 11 December 1931 – 19 January 1990) and latter rebranded as Osho was leader of the Rajneesh movement. During his lifetime he was viewed as a controversial new religious movement leader and mystic.

In the 1960s he traveled throughout India as a public speaker and was a vocal critic of socialism, Mahatma Gandhi, and Hindu religious orthodoxy.

Rajneesh emphasized the importance of meditation, mindfulness, love, celebration, courage, creativity and humor—qualities that he viewed as being suppressed by adherence to static belief systems, religious tradition and socialization.

In advocating a more open attitude to human sexuality he caused controversy in India during the late 1960s and became known as "the sex gu

Average rating: 4.11 · 103,432 ratings · 7,707 reviews · 3,430 distinct worksSimilar authors
Courage: The Joy of Living ...

4.13 avg rating — 7,276 ratings — published 1977 — 70 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Love, Freedom, Aloneness: T...

4.11 avg rating — 5,892 ratings — published 2001 — 36 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Intuition: Knowing Beyond L...

4.01 avg rating — 4,170 ratings — published 2001 — 49 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Freedom: The Courage to Be ...

4.07 avg rating — 3,881 ratings — published 2004 — 50 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Book of Secrets

4.18 avg rating — 3,657 ratings — published 1974 — 41 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
From Sex to Superconsciousness

4.14 avg rating — 3,396 ratings — published 1969 — 80 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

4.18 avg rating — 3,104 ratings — published 1999 — 49 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Awareness: The Key to Livin...

4.32 avg rating — 2,834 ratings — published 2001 — 41 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Intimacy: Trusting Oneself ...

4.14 avg rating — 2,850 ratings — published 2001 — 48 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Book of Woman

3.81 avg rating — 3,066 ratings — published 1976 — 61 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Osho…
Courage: The Joy of Living ... Fear: Understanding and Acc... Awareness: The Key to Livin... L'eterno nel tempo Compassion: The Ultimate Fl... Creativity Freedom: The Courage to Be ...
(13 books)
4.13 avg rating — 33,710 ratings

The Book of Woman The Book of Man The Book of Children: Suppo...
(3 books)
3.90 avg rating — 4,794 ratings

Belief, Doubt, and Fanatici... Destiny, Freedom, and the Soul Fame, Fortune, and Ambition... INNOCENCE, KNOWLEDGE, AND W... Living on Your Own Terms Moral, Immoral, Amoral: Wha... POWER, POLITICS, AND CHANGE
(8 books)
4.11 avg rating — 2,407 ratings

Philosophy of non violence Discovering Your Center: Yo... Jealousy: The Psychological... Astrology Superstition Blin... Bringing Up Children Compassion Love and Sex Every Human Being Is a Seek...
(26 books)
4.17 avg rating — 1,614 ratings

The Art of Dying The Art of Living and Dying... Zen and the Art of Living Tao: The State and the Art Art of Tea
(6 books)
4.14 avg rating — 698 ratings

More series by Osho…
Quotes by Osho  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“If you love a flower, don’t pick it up.
Because if you pick it up it dies and it ceases to be what you love.
So if you love a flower, let it be.
Love is not about possession.
Love is about appreciation.”

“Experience life in all possible ways --
good-bad, bitter-sweet, dark-light,
summer-winter. Experience all the dualities.
Don't be afraid of experience, because
the more experience you have, the more
mature you become.”

“Sadness gives depth. Happiness gives height. Sadness gives roots. Happiness gives branches. Happiness is like a tree going into the sky, and sadness is like the roots going down into the womb of the earth. Both are needed, and the higher a tree goes, the deeper it goes, simultaneously. The bigger the tree, the bigger will be its roots. In fact, it is always in proportion. That's its balance.”
Osho Rajneesh, Everyday Osho: 365 Daily Meditations for the Here and Now

Topics Mentioning This Author