Rosemary Jones

Goodreads Author


Born
The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Phoebe Matthews

Member Since
January 2008


I've written three novels set in the Forgotten Realms, Cold Steel and Secrets, City of the Dead and Crypt of the Moaning Diamond as well as several short stories about this Dungeons & Dragons shared world. When not battling skeletons and other supernatural foes there, I'm authoring tales of Cobalt City, a place of superheroes, super villains, and regular joes just trying to get by. Check out teen adventurer Morgan Lee's encounters with a steampunk takeover of the library in "Wrecker of Engines" (Cobalt City Rookies).

My other science fiction and fantasy short stories appear in various anthologies.

As the co-author of the Encyclopedia of Collectible Childrens Books, I spent many years collecting and often dip back into these treasures for my o
...more

To ask Rosemary Jones questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Rosemary Jones A collection of all my Cobalt City stories with some new adventures for my characters living in this shared world of superheroes. I was nudged into th…moreA collection of all my Cobalt City stories with some new adventures for my characters living in this shared world of superheroes. I was nudged into this by Jeremy Zimmerman, who also writes YA set in this city.(less)
Average rating: 3.92 · 1,862 ratings · 157 reviews · 39 distinct worksSimilar authors
City of the Dead (Forgotten...

4.03 avg rating — 349 ratings — published 2009 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Crypt of the Moaning Diamon...

3.82 avg rating — 244 ratings — published 2007 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cold Steel and Secrets (Col...

3.72 avg rating — 57 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cold Steel and Secrets: A N...

3.70 avg rating — 74 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ed Greenwood Presents Water...

by
4.19 avg rating — 42 ratings — published 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cold Steel and Secrets: A N...

3.76 avg rating — 54 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cold Steel and Secrets: A N...

3.76 avg rating — 51 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cobalt City Rookies

by
4.67 avg rating — 12 ratings — published 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Carter, Tarzan, and Fr...

3.67 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
Educational and Career Oppo...

4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 1998
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Rosemary Jones…

Cover out for "Mask of Silver"

The largest of kudos, thanks, and general applause to artist Daniel Strange, who created the cover for my next novel. He absolutely captured the look of a 1920s silent movie poster for Mask of Silver. Which is perfect for this dark fantasy set in 1923 when director Sydney Fitzmaurice decides to film his latest "nightmare movie" in his hometown of Arkham. What could go wrong?
As costume and make-up Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on July 19, 2020 16:37
City of the Dead
(1 book)
by
4.03 avg rating — 349 ratings

Cold Steel and Secrets: A N... Cold Steel and Secrets: A N... Cold Steel and Secrets Cold Steel and Secrets: A N...
(4 books)
by
3.73 avg rating — 236 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Location, Location, Location (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated Mar 23, 2016 10:59PM
Description: Berry Fields finds the perfect setting in Cobalt City for the next blockbuster movie...now she just needs to avoid the horrors lurking inside. Luckily she's living in a city filled with superheroes.

Rosemary’s Recent Updates

Rosemary rated a book it was amazing
Minor Mage by T. Kingfisher
Rate this book
Clear rating
Flying sheep and an armadillo. What's not to like? As usual T. Kingfisher has some serious things to say (so you can feel good about reading this) and she says them in a very funny way (so you can feel really good after reading this). It's your brocc ...more
Rosemary rated a book it was amazing
A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik
Rate this book
Clear rating
From the killer opening line to the perfect cliffhanger ending, this novel is a nonstop roller coaster ride of deadly monsters, murderous magical teens, and a few socially relevant ideas mixed in. There's some important morals behind the mayhem, but ...more
Rosemary rated a book really liked it
The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo
Rate this book
Clear rating
A lovely read occupying the borderland between historical fiction, magic realism, and fantasy. There's no overt magic here, although there's shimmers of it dancing across a lake. The action also takes place far away from the lake house where the tale ...more
Rosemary rated a book really liked it
Find Me Their Bones by Sara Wolf
Find Me Their Bones
by Sara Wolf (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
While you cannot judge a book by the cover, I applaud the publisher's decision to abandon the more traditional fantasy look for the current series covers. The style suits the very different voice and descriptions that Wolf brings to this sword and so ...more
Rosemary rated a book it was amazing
The Last Uncharted Sky by Curtis Craddock
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fabulous finish to a trilogy of adventure, magic, and mad science where a musketeer's plumed hat provides the perfect clue. Fans of Isabelle, Jean-Claude, and their extended adopted family can go aloft on this final quest without any regrets. Well, m ...more
Rosemary rated a book really liked it
Fire & Heist by Sarah Beth Durst
Fire & Heist
by Sarah Beth Durst (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Reliably fun reads, Durst's books are a bit like the popcorn and pizza beloved by dragons in this book. Just the right amount of toppings for a quick nibble or settle in for a longer and satisfying chew of a fast-paced story. The theme of the book is ...more
Rosemary rated a book really liked it
A Labyrinth of Scions and Sorcery by Curtis Craddock
Rate this book
Clear rating
Craddock's elaborate sword, sorcery, steampunk, and musketeers saga continues with another rousing adventure through the twisted streets of a floating city. Introducing new characters like a crack troupe of granny musketeers, the powerful trio of roy ...more
Rosemary rated a book liked it
Miss Graham's Cold War Cookbook by Celia Rees
Rate this book
Clear rating
Set the temperature to slow burn and then lower to freezing in this tale of spies, refugees, and criminals in a post-war ruined Germany. Like the master of modern spy fiction, John le Carré, Rees focuses on people as much as the politics that rule th ...more
Rosemary rated a book really liked it
The Memory of Babel by Christelle Dabos
Rate this book
Clear rating
After a fabulous opening of parading clocks that will have the phrase "Merry Tickers" ringing in your head, Christelle Dabos once again leads us on a topsy-turvy adventure through floating fragments of a world created by...well that's almost revealed ...more
Rosemary rated a book really liked it
The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken
Rate this book
Clear rating
Should you ever be marooned in a rowboat with a crate of oranges and grapes, I hope you have the audio version of this book to entertain you. I started reading this series many years ago by beginning with the second book, Black Hearts in Battersea, t ...more
More of Rosemary's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Goodreads Authors...: * Welcome Fantasy Authors and Readers! 1697 4879 10 hours, 20 min ago  
Carlos Ruiz Zafón
“I still remember the day my father took me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books for the first time.”
Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Shadow of the Wind

Charlotte Brontë
“As to the thoughts, they are elfish. Those eyes in the Evening Star you must have seen in a dream.”
Charlotte Brontë , Jane Eyre

A.A. Milne
“James gave the huffle of a snail in danger. And nobody heard him at all.”
A.A. Milne

Tom Stoppard
“Rosencrantz: I don't believe in it anyway.
Guildenstern: What?
Rosencrantz: England.
Guildenstern: Just a conspiracy of cartographers, then? ”
Tom Stoppard, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead

Rosemary Clement-Moore
“My major vice is sarcasm with a side of caffeine addiction.”
Rosemary Clement-Moore, Prom Dates from Hell
tags: humor

2504 Forgotten Realms — 274 members — last activity Dec 19, 2018 04:06AM
A Group for fans of the Forgotten Realms setting, and all things D&D
527 Building a SciFi/Fantasy Library — 3575 members — last activity Oct 10, 2020 02:46PM
Add your science-fiction or fantasy books to the list, but make sure it's not already there. . .no need for duplicate entries.
6181 Goodreads Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors — 2067 members — last activity Oct 12, 2020 04:29PM
Either you write it, Read it, But you must LOVE IT! DISCUSS!
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 36156 members — last activity 4 hours, 35 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
17501 Space Opera Fans — 3945 members — last activity 10 hours, 16 min ago
If you like space opera: an epic scale adventure through the galaxy with military battles, interplanetary politics, realistic interpersonal relationsh ...more
128221 Fringe Fiction — 2130 members — last activity Sep 01, 2020 01:33PM
Publishing is rich with hidden gems and diamonds-in-the-rough that belong to self-published, indie and otherwise underappreciated authors. ** Please ...more
More of Rosemary’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.