Ann Hood

Ann Hood


Born
West Warwick, RI, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre


Ann Hood is the editor of Knitting Yarns: Writers on Knitting and the bestselling author of The Book That Matters Most, The Knitting Circle, The Red Thread, Comfort, and An Italian Wife, among other works. She is the recipient of two Pushcart Prizes, a Best American Spiritual Writing Award, a Best American Food Writing Award, a Best American Travel Writing Award, and the Paul Bowles Prize for Short Fiction. She lives in Providence, Rhode Island.

Ann Hood isn't a Goodreads Author (yet), but she does have a blog, so here are some recent posts imported from her feed.
What a wonderful month I’ve had since I last posted here! Annabelle graduated from 8th grade, Sam left for London to continue THE DIANA TAPES, the inaugural residency of the Newport MFA was a rollicking success, and my favorite people gathered joined Sam in London in a sprawling Soho flat with a roof deck and room for big dinners, late night games, so much laughter and love that I returned refr... Read more of this blog post »
4 likes ·   •  1 comment  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on July 12, 2018 12:23 • 30 views
Average rating: 3.7 · 47,952 ratings · 7,527 reviews · 53 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Book That Matters Most

3.78 avg rating — 10,016 ratings — published 2016 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Obituary Writer

3.71 avg rating — 12,174 ratings — published 2013 — 15 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Knitting Circle

3.79 avg rating — 8,964 ratings — published 2006 — 33 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Red Thread

3.73 avg rating — 3,273 ratings — published 2010 — 14 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Comfort: A Journey Through ...

4.14 avg rating — 1,518 ratings — published 2008 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
An Italian Wife

2.67 avg rating — 2,208 ratings — published 2014 — 13 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Knitting Yarns: Writers on ...

3.74 avg rating — 1,608 ratings — published 2013 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Morningstar: Growing Up Wit...

3.81 avg rating — 759 ratings — published 2017 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Somewhere Off the Coast of ...

3.53 avg rating — 1,020 ratings — published 1987 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ruby

3.40 avg rating — 429 ratings — published 1998 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Ann Hood…
Clara Barton: Angel of the ... Alexander Hamilton: Little ... Pearl Buck: Jewel of the East Harry Houdini: Prince of Air Crazy Horse: Brave Warrior Queen Liliuokalani: Royal P... Alexander Graham Bell: Mast...
(10 books)
by
3.90 avg rating — 478 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

“Grief is not linear. People kept telling me that once this happened or that passed, everything would be better. Some people gave me one year to grieve. They saw grief as a straight line, with a beginning, middle, and end. But it is not linear. It is disjointed. One day you are acting almost like a normal person. You maybe even manage to take a shower. Your clothes match. You think the autumn leaves look pretty, or enjoy the sound of snow crunching under your feet. Then a song, a glimpse of something, or maybe even nothing sends you back into the hole of grief. It is not one step forward, two steps back. It is a jumble. It is hours that are all right, and weeks that aren't. Or it is good days and bad days. Or it is the weight of sadness making you look different to others and nothing helps.”
Ann Hood, Comfort: A Journey Through Grief

“Even now, there are still days so beautiful, I almost believe in God.”
Ann Hood, Comfort: A Journey Through Grief

“No mother should lose her child.”
Ann Hood, The Knitting Circle
tags: death

Polls

April 2017 BB's Choice
Vote For 1, Top 2 Win

The Obituary Writer The Obituary Writer by Ann Hood by Ann Hood
On the day John F. Kennedy is inaugurated, Claire, an uncompromising young wife and mother obsessed with the glamour of Jackie O, struggles over the decision of whether to stay in a loveless marriage or follow the man she loves and whose baby she may be carrying.
 
  4 votes 30.8%

Behind Her Eyes Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough by Sarah Pinborough
Why is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough's Behind Her Eyes?

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.
 
  2 votes 15.4%

The Handmaid's Tale The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood by Margaret Atwood
Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable.
 
  2 votes 15.4%

Lone Wolf Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult by Jodi Picoult
A life hanging in the balance…a family torn apart. The #1 internationally bestselling author Jodi Picoult tells an unforgettable story about family secrets, love, and letting go.
 
  1 vote 7.7%

I'll Take You There I'll Take You There by Wally Lamb by Wally Lamb
New York Times bestselling author Wally Lamb weaves an evocative, deeply affecting tapestry of one Baby Boomer's life—Felix Funicello, introduced in Wishin’ and Hopin’—and the trio of unforgettable women who have changed it, in this radiant homage to the resiliency, strength, and power of women.
 
  1 vote 7.7%

The Butterfly Garden The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison by Dot Hutchison
Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden. In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.
 
  1 vote 7.7%

God-Shaped Hole God-Shaped Hole by Tiffanie DeBartolo by Tiffanie DeBartolo
Written with the snap, glitter and wit of The Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing, God-Shaped Hole is a memorable, poignant love story that will leave you weeping with laughter. It is told in the wry, vulnerable voice of Beatrice "Trixie" Jordan who replies to a personal ad, "If your intentions are pure I am seeking a friend for the end of the world."
 
  1 vote 7.7%

A Boy Made of Blocks A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart by Keith Stuart
In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft.
 
  1 vote 7.7%

13 total votes
More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Complete Idio...: This topic has been closed to new comments. February - I just finished 14 79 Mar 02, 2010 08:59AM  
The Seasonal Read...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Summer Challenge 2010 Completed Tasks (do NOT delete any posts in this thread) 3059 3167 Aug 31, 2010 10:39PM  
Cover to Cover Ch...: Stephanie L's 144 Books in 2010 11 72 Dec 31, 2010 11:26AM  


Is this you? Let us know. If not, help out and invite Ann to Goodreads.