Sophie Hannah

more photos (1)

Michele
1,903 books | 1,264 friends

Laura Rash
1,173 books | 719 friends

Lynda D...
3,220 books | 4,993 friends

Thomas ...
1,304 books | 119 friends

Nathan ...
921 books | 82 friends

Simon
702 books | 3,354 friends

Laura
3,042 books | 1,004 friends

Rita
1,746 books | 413 friends

More friends…

Sophie Hannah

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United Kingdom
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Agatha Christie, Ruth Rendell, Nicci French

Member Since
April 2014


Sophie Hannah is an internationally bestselling writer of psychological crime fiction, published in 27 countries. In 2013, her latest novel, The Carrier, won the Crime Thriller of the Year Award at the Specsavers National Book Awards. Two of Sophie’s crime novels, The Point of Rescue and The Other Half Lives, have been adapted for television and appeared on ITV1 under the series title Case Sensitive in 2011 and 2012. In 2004, Sophie won first prize in the Daphne Du Maurier Festival Short Story Competition for her suspense story The Octopus Nest, which is now published in her first collection of short stories, The Fantastic Book of Everybody’s Secrets.

Sophie has also published five collections of poetry. Her fifth, Pessimism for Beginners,
...more

To ask Sophie Hannah questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Sophie Hannah Thanks so much! I'm delighted to hear you liked it! Look out for news about another one - it's looking quite likely!
Sophie Hannah Are you based in UK or US? I have two coming out in US that have already been published in UK - The Carrier and The Telling Error (which will be…moreAre you based in UK or US? I have two coming out in US that have already been published in UK - The Carrier and The Telling Error (which will be called Woman With A Secret in America!) have you already read those two? If so, the next Simon/Charlie book will be The Warning (US title) in June. No babies for Simon and Charlie, I'm afraid!(less)
Average rating: 3.41 · 79,771 ratings · 11,474 reviews · 78 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Monogram Murders

by
3.26 avg rating — 12,753 ratings — published 2014 — 79 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Little Face (Spilling CID, #1)

3.44 avg rating — 9,000 ratings — published 2006 — 50 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Wrong Mother (Spilling ...

3.48 avg rating — 7,280 ratings — published 2008 — 45 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hurting Distance (Spilling ...

3.70 avg rating — 5,065 ratings — published 2007 — 42 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Closed Casket

by
3.51 avg rating — 6,223 ratings — published 2016 — 61 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kind of Cruel (Spilling CID...

3.59 avg rating — 4,121 ratings — published 2012 — 24 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Game For All The Family

3.13 avg rating — 3,899 ratings — published 2015 — 25 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Other Half Lives (Spill...

3.58 avg rating — 4,359 ratings — published 2009 — 33 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
A Room Swept White (Spillin...

3.34 avg rating — 3,673 ratings — published 2010 — 34 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Woman with a Secret (Spilli...

3.18 avg rating — 4,718 ratings — published 2014 — 37 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Sophie Hannah…
CategoriesLatest News
Interviews
Crime Fiction
Simon & Charlie
Hercule Poirot
Articles by Sophie














** Update – latest news on Simon & Charlie


Fans of Simon and Charlie, do not despair! I’m working on the next full-length Simon and Charlie novel – I think it will probably be published in early 2021, because it requires a lot of research. It’s an idea I have loved and nurtured for years, and its...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on November 13, 2018 10:26 • 25 views
Little Face Hurting Distance The Wrong Mother The Other Half Lives A Room Swept White Lasting Damage Kind of Cruel
(11 books)
by
3.45 avg rating — 46,145 ratings

The Monogram Murders Closed Casket The Mystery of Three Quarters
(3 books)
by
3.37 avg rating — 20,395 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Sophie’s Recent Updates

Sophie Hannah wrote a new blog post
CategoriesLatest News
Interviews
Crime Fiction
Simon & Charlie
Hercule Poirot
Articles by Sophie















** Update – latest news on Simon & Charlie

Fans... Read more of this blog post »
Sophie Hannah made a comment on My Arizona Trip
" Yes - one of the resorts in the photo was the one I stayed in to research Melody! "
The Last Place You Look by Kristen Lepionka
" Yes, it's a debut! "
Sophie Hannah rated a book it was amazing
The Last Place You Look by Kristen Lepionka
Rate this book
Clear rating
The most enjoyable and well written book I've read for a long time - brilliant! Thoroughly recommended. private eye thriller about a terrible miscarriage of justice, with a protagonist I am v keen to see more of!
" Thank you so much Andreia! I'm so glad you liked A Game For All the Family! It's one of my favourites that I've written, I must admit. It's always so ...more "
Sophie Hannah wants to read
Tony and Susan by Austin Wright
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Sophie's books…
“I never do enjoy my breaks, long or short...I look forward to them intensely, but as soon as they begin, I can feel them starting to end. I feel the temporariness of my freedom, and find it hard to concentrate on anything other than the sensation of it trickling away.”
Sophie Hannah, The Wrong Mother

“Lies were lethal, however honourable the intentions of the liar. They deprived people of the opportunity to know the basic facts of their own lives. ”
Sophie Hannah, Little Face
tags: lies

“Weak people always attack strong people - it's safer. It's weak people who are dangerous, who lash out uncontrollably and hurt you back. Stong people can walk away - no repercussions, you see, if you attack a stong person.”
Sophie Hannah

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Mystery/Thriller ...: Bouchercon reports 55 143 Nov 04, 2009 01:48PM  
Cover to Cover Ch...: chucklesthescot big 144-FINISHED 56 68 Dec 18, 2010 08:49AM  
Historical Fictio...: Mini-Challenge #3 - September 2011 - REPORT POINTS HERE 267 202 Oct 01, 2011 03:06PM  
Book lovers : Angela's 2011 Books I Own Challenge. 90 61 Jan 01, 2012 01:11PM  
Coffee & Books: Teneals Reads 11 56 Feb 03, 2012 02:58AM  



Comments (showing 1-6)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Sophie Hannah Kim wrote: "finally got round to reading The Carrier, brilliant, as always , thanks Sophie x"

Thanks, Kim! Really glad you enjoyed it! Sophie


message 5: by Kim

Kim finally got round to reading The Carrier, brilliant, as always , thanks Sophie x


Christine Hatfield What's your favorite color and what's your home address?


message 3: by Christine (last edited Aug 20, 2014 03:28PM)

Christine Hatfield Aww thanks and I'm already reading your book called kind of cruel and it's very good so don't send me that book and my home address is

406 greenwood ave
Riverside
NJ
08075


Sophie Hannah Yes, if you send me a copy with a stamped, addressed envelope care of my publishers (Hodder & Stoughton, 338 Euston Road, London, NW1 3BH), I can then sign it and send it back to you!


Christine Hatfield I was wondering if you can autograph one of your books and send it in the mail for me please


back to top