M.M. DeLuca

year in books

M.M. DeLuca’s Followers (57)

member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
member photo
Donna F...
1,624 books | 4,829 friends

Hayley ...
802 books | 12 friends

Tam
Tam
10,183 books | 1,606 friends

Ana Lop...
3,558 books | 1,218 friends

Arianne...
63 books | 554 friends

Mike De...
0 books | 10 friends


M.M. DeLuca

Goodreads Author


Born
Durham City, The United Kingdom
Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
December 2020



M. M DeLuca spent her childhood in the ancient cathedral city of Durham in North-Eastern England. She attended the University of London, became a teacher, and then immigrated to Canada. There she also studied writing under her mentor, Pulitzer Prize winning author, Carol Shields. She writes in many genres, including historical, suspense and YA sci-fi. She also writes for screen and TV..

To ask M.M. DeLuca questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

M.M. DeLuca I never met my father's mother. She died before I was born, but apparently she was a lovely, well-dressed woman who was also a spiritualist and a medi…moreI never met my father's mother. She died before I was born, but apparently she was a lovely, well-dressed woman who was also a spiritualist and a medium. My father always told us about his memories of when he was a small boy, sitting near the door of a large room where adults sat around a table, my grandmother at the head, holding a seance. The table would thump and people would speak in tongues, but he wasn't afraid. My mother claimed my grandmother's spirit visited her the night she passed away, and when my dad came home to give her the news, mom sameaid, "Your mother is dead" before he could say a word. I'd love to know if she really was the seventh daughter of a seventh daughter as she claimed and how she came to discover her "powers." I've been exploring this in a new novel I'm working on called "The Night Side."(less)
M.M. DeLuca The best thing about being a writer is that imagination has no boundaries. I can be sitting in my office working and it's winter outside, but in my st…moreThe best thing about being a writer is that imagination has no boundaries. I can be sitting in my office working and it's winter outside, but in my story I can travel anywhere, do anything and create characters who I often become attached to like friends—even the villains! Also being a writer trains you to look at the world in a different way. I call it developing writer's eyes, ears and other senses. You become more alive to the world and everything in it. You notice details that others might not, possibilities others might not recognize, societal issues that many ignore. The best thing about it is that my work can be shared and enjoyed by many people across the world, which is really the most rewarding aspect of being a writer.(less)
Average rating: 3.99 · 2,286 ratings · 304 reviews · 5 distinct worksSimilar authors
The Perfect Family Man

4.10 avg rating — 1,154 ratings — published 2021 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Secret Sister

3.90 avg rating — 611 ratings — published 2021 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Savage Instinct

by
3.87 avg rating — 500 ratings — published 2015 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Pitman's Daughter

by
4.08 avg rating — 87 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lilah

by
4.19 avg rating — 16 ratings — published 2015 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by M.M. DeLuca…

HERE'S TO 2023!

It's always exciting to welcome in a new year even though that means cold, snowy winter weather here. It's even more exciting now that I have new agency representation from Trident Media Group and have completed two new novels. More news to come later about that! For now I've attached reviews of two novels I read recently. Both very different. Hope you enjoy! WARLIGHT by Michael Ondaatje Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on January 03, 2023 15:18

M.M.’s Recent Updates

M.M. DeLuca rated a book it was amazing
On the Savage Side by Tiffany   McDaniel
On the Savage Side
by Tiffany McDaniel (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
This was an incredibly brutal yet beautiful novel. Not for the faint of heart, it tackles addiction, parental neglect, child abuse, child sexual abuse, prostitution, police brutality, male brutality and the never-ending cycle of poverty and addiction ...more
M.M. DeLuca rated a book really liked it
Revival by Stephen King
Revival
by Stephen King (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Every now and again I pick up a Stephen King novel just to remind myself what an incredible storyteller he is. His easy style, richly developed characters you can root for, lovely sense of childhood nostalgia and lost innocence all add up to make thi ...more
M.M. DeLuca rated a book it was amazing
The Blackhouse by Carole Johnstone
The Blackhouse
by Carole Johnstone (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Having visited the Isle of Lewis many years ago, I was instantly transported back to this wild and wonderful place while Reading Carole Johnstone's darkly chilling novel. In many ways the dangerous and tumultuous setting of an island dominated by the ...more
M.M. DeLuca rated a book it was amazing
Warlight by Michael Ondaatje
Rate this book
Clear rating
Only Michael Ondaatje could pull off a novel like Warlight. Named after the twilight that shrouded London during World War 2 when all the streetlights were dimmed to avoid lighting the way for German bombers, the story itself seems to flicker in drea ...more
M.M. DeLuca voted for The Maid as Best Debut Novel in the Final Round of the 2022 Goodreads Choice Awards.
The Maid by Nita Prose
M.M. DeLuca rated a book it was amazing
Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood
Alias Grace
by Margaret Atwood (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
M.M. DeLuca rated a book it was amazing
The School for Good Mothers by Jessamine Chan
Rate this book
Clear rating
This dystopian debut novel by Jessamine Chan is a compelling and chilling take on the challenges of motherhood and the increasing levels of scrutiny and "prescriptive parenting advice" mothers are bombarded with from all angles. Chan takes this a ste ...more
M.M. DeLuca rated a book it was amazing
The Bad Sister by J.A. Corrigan
The Bad Sister
by J.A. Corrigan (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Bad Sister hooks the reader from the first paragraph, then builds up the suspense gradually, adding twists and turns along the way towards an explosive ending. This story of tightly-knit sisters in a dysfunctional family situation, is made more c ...more
M.M. DeLuca rated a book it was amazing
Stealing Foxy by Isabella Bright
Stealing Foxy
by Isabella Bright (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A character-driven, darkly comedic suspense novel, this beautifully-written page-turner would appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Cynthia Sweeney 's The Nest.' The author richly evokes the gorgeous French countryside, which provides a unique setting ...more
M.M. DeLuca rated a book it was amazing
The Retreat by Sherri Smith
The Retreat
by Sherri Smith (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
This fast-paced, captivating thriller is a hidden gem featuring fresh, original characters that jump from the page and a tone that is wry, witty and laugh-out-loud hilarious at times in its send-up of the wellness industry and its pretensions. Remini ...more
More of M.M.'s books…
Quotes by M.M. DeLuca  (?)
Quotes are added by the Goodreads community and are not verified by Goodreads. (Learn more)

“slight frown line notched the skin between”
M.M. DeLuca, The Perfect Family Man




No comments have been added yet.