Linda Jordan

Goodreads Author


Born
Great Falls, MT, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
March 2016


Linda Jordan writes fascinating characters, visionary worlds, and imaginative fiction. She creates both long and short fiction, serious and silly. She believes in the power of healing and transformation, and many of her stories follow those themes.

In a previous lifetime, Linda coordinated the Clarion West Writers’ Workshop as well as the Reading Series. She spent four years as Chair of the Board of Directors during Clarion West’s formative period.

She’s also worked as a travel agent, a baker, and a pond plant/fish sales person, you know, the sort of things one does as a writer.

Linda now lives in the rainy wilds of Washington state with her husband, daughter, four cats, sixteen Koi and an infinite number of slugs and snails.

To ask Linda Jordan questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Linda Jordan Writer's block happens when I'm being too hard on myself. I think it was William Stafford who said he lowered his standards on those days. I tell the…moreWriter's block happens when I'm being too hard on myself. I think it was William Stafford who said he lowered his standards on those days. I tell the critical part of my brain to take a hike. Once I'm at the keyboard, I dive into the character and see what happens.
For me writer's block used to prevent me from getting to the computer. Once I was there it was fine. That's why routine works well for me, no matter how much I'd like to just toss it out the window.
Writing is the first thing on my calendar for the day. And it's on the calendar every day for five hours, whether I do it or not. Once I've got the writing done, I feel freer to do whatever I want. Mostly, I choose to do all the publishing stuff that's on the list, but it's optional. Writing is the required stuff to do. Makes me feel better to just do it. Put those words on the page.(less)
Linda Jordan Those awesome days when I get to sit around in my pajamas, or in my outside office, drinking tea and making things up. Those are the days when the…moreThose awesome days when I get to sit around in my pajamas, or in my outside office, drinking tea and making things up. Those are the days when the writing just flows and the story moves forward as it should.(less)
Average rating: 4.14 · 58 ratings · 27 reviews · 116 distinct works
The Black Opal: Jeweled Wor...

4.80 avg rating — 10 ratings — published 2011 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Faerie Unraveled (The Bones...

3.88 avg rating — 8 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Doc Martens

by
3.40 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Horticultural Homicide

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 6 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Faerie Descent (Bones of th...

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Faerie Contact (The Bones o...

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Poison Passion

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 2 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ice Dragons

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Continental Divide

4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Faerie Flight (The Bones of...

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 1 rating2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Linda Jordan…

Is It Spring Yet?

I’m ready for spring. Well, to be truthful, I’m ready for summer, but I’m not that optimistic. Even though our snow’s melted (and I refuse to believe we’re going to get more of it tonight, even thought it’s been forecast), it’s been too cold outside. And yes, I’ve become a weather wimp.


I’ve been doing the occasional dash outside to prune or stick  a plant in the ground. Mostly, I’ve been avoidi...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on February 27, 2019 19:54
The Black Opal: Jeweled Wor... The Enigmatic Pearl The Flaming Ruby
(3 books)
by
4.82 avg rating — 11 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Linda’s Recent Updates

Linda Jordan wrote a new blog post

Is It Spring Yet?

I’m ready for spring. Well, to be truthful, I’m ready for summer, but I’m not that optimistic. Even though our snow’s melted (and I refuse to belie... Read more of this blog post »
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Moon Cursed by Tori Centanni
Rate this book
Clear rating
A fun reluctant werewolf story from a writer who understands humor. Charlotte’s pissed off about the whole thing, she was planning on becoming a vampire. Way to ruin her life!

Along the way she attracts werewolf hunters and a bodyguard in this roller
...more
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Peasprout Chen, Future Legend of Skate and Sword by Henry Lien
Rate this book
Clear rating
I don’t generally write reviews and I’d never write one on a book I didn’t love.

I’d just finished a huge required reading list of books for a workshop (many of which I hated with a passion) and returned from the workshop, when this book came to me. I
...more
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Moon Cursed by Tori Centanni
Rate this book
Clear rating
A fun reluctant werewolf story from a writer who understands humor. Charlotte’s pissed off about the whole thing, she was planning on becoming a vampire. Way to ruin her life!

Along the way she attracts werewolf hunters and a bodyguard in this roller
...more
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Space Tripping With the Shredded Orphans by Sonya Rhen
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Shredded Orphans is a fun science fiction novel about a rock band stranded in the middle of nowhere and late for their concert. It’s humor in the vein of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett and the humor feels British to me, although the writer’s A ...more
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Space Tripping With the Shredded Orphans by Sonya Rhen
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Shredded Orphans is a fun science fiction novel about a rock band stranded in the middle of nowhere and late for their concert. It’s humor in the vein of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett and the humor feels British to me, although the writer’s A ...more
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Old Baggage by Toni Kief
Old Baggage
by Toni Kief (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Old Baggage is a coming of age story for older women. Libby’s been abused most of her adult life, but she’s planned her escape well. The story takes us through her recovery from abuse and the stages she goes through on her journey towards wholeness.

I
...more
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Old Baggage by Toni Kief
Old Baggage
by Toni Kief (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Old Baggage is a coming of age story for older women. Libby’s been abused most of her adult life, but she’s planned her escape well. The story takes us through her recovery from abuse and the stages she goes through on her journey towards wholeness.

I
...more
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Sammy and the Devil Dog by Susan Brown
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sammy’s going through some big changes in her life and it’s been hard. Everything she tries just makes life worse. Especially when she decides to liberate a classmate’s abused dog.

The characters are complex, the writing’s lovely and the plot’s very w
...more
Linda Jordan rated a book it was amazing
Sammy and the Devil Dog by Susan Brown
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sammy’s going through some big changes in her life and it’s been hard. Everything she tries just makes life worse. Especially when she decides to liberate a classmate’s abused dog.

The characters are complex, the writing’s lovely and the plot’s very w
...more
More of Linda's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Bookworm Belles: October WCRTM 84 23 Oct 31, 2017 05:52PM  
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 92377 members — last activity 4 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
187981 Writers co op of the Pacific NW — 16 members — last activity Jul 31, 2017 10:06AM
We are writers, authors, editors and more. We meet several times a year to share thoughts, ideas, tips on publishing and writing. We also have worksho ...more



No comments have been added yet.