William   Becker

year in books
Nora Ko...
448 books | 5,001 friends

Emily
5,856 books | 1,082 friends

Char
6,724 books | 1,787 friends

Irene
1,017 books | 803 friends

Inna
1,292 books | 333 friends

Gabby
1,657 books | 4,998 friends

Tanya
736 books | 266 friends

David R...
87 books | 554 friends

More friends…

William Becker

Goodreads Author


Born
in Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Website

Genre

Influences
David Lynch, Stephen King, Silent Hill

Member Since
March 2019


William Becker is a surrealist horror author with a mind for the more uncanny and stranger sides of the universe. Originally adopted from Saint Petersburg, Russia, he grew up in Boone, North Carolina. His work is known for being non-traditional, gritty, and psychedelic in influence. While originally being known as a practitioner of horror in the vein of David Lynch, Silent Hill, and Ari Aster, Becker's work encompasses elements of romance, sci-fi, drama, psychedelics, and mystery. Above all things, his works are complex, mysterious, and highly allegorical, constantly pushing the boundaries of what is possible within the world of writing, while also providing compelling storylines that transcend the cliches of modern horror.

His first novel,
...more

To ask William Becker questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

William Becker I have a handful. First and foremost, I am going to be reading "I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream" by Harlan Ellison. I'm extremely excited to dive pr…moreI have a handful. First and foremost, I am going to be reading "I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream" by Harlan Ellison. I'm extremely excited to dive pretty deeply into that. Once I've finished that, I think I'm going to check out the "The Five Love Languages" by Gary Chapman. It seems to be a very interesting take on love and relationships as a whole.

I also recently got "This Book is Full of Spiders" by David Wong, so I imagine I will be reading that and the first book in the series, "John Dies At The End." The first book was a crazy, absurd journey. I did a review for it on goodreads and found it mildly enjoyable.

Finally, I also got a huge H.P. Lovecraft collection from Barnes and Noble that I'm very very excited to read. It looks beautiful and it's over a thousand pages long.

The other books I own but aren't super high priority to me to read are "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" by John Berendt. "Balcony of Fog" by Rich Shapero, "The Rise of The Iron Moon" by Stephen Hunt, a handful of literary journals, and a few Stephen King Books. Hopefully I'll find time for all of them! (less)
William Becker Lifestyle changes and entertainment changes. I listen to an album every day at least. I watch tons of movies. I read lots of writing on the internet. …moreLifestyle changes and entertainment changes. I listen to an album every day at least. I watch tons of movies. I read lots of writing on the internet. I never feel very uninspired for long. Taking a break and setting up a different set of inspirations/surroundings helps. Go exercise, stop drinking, stop smoking, and pick up a good book. Add in some good music of a genre you aren't used to and then you'll be cooking in no time.(less)
Average rating: 4.72 · 113 ratings · 101 reviews · 6 distinct worksSimilar authors
New York Onions

4.91 avg rating — 46 ratings — published 2019 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Grey Skies

4.22 avg rating — 32 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Seventh Circle

4.94 avg rating — 16 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Egg

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 8 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Weeping of the Caverns

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 5 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
For We Are Many

4.67 avg rating — 6 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by William Becker…

William Becker hasn't written any blog posts yet.

William’s Recent Updates

William Becker rated a book really liked it
Lovesickness by Junji Ito
Rate this book
Clear rating
It's best to think of "Lovesickness" as one medium-length story, with a couple of unrelated pieces tacked onto the end.


Lovesickness, the first one, might be my favorite story that Junji Ito has ever written. While not as all-out insane as Gyo, Uzumak
...more
William Becker rated a book really liked it
Junji Ito's Dissolving Classroom by Junji Ito
Rate this book
Clear rating
Junji Ito has this insane ability to show something earth-shatteringly horrible in each and every one of his books. Something that bites into the soul and really sucks the life out of it. The main attraction of most of his work is the event itself, n ...more
New York Onions by William   Becker
"This was very emotional because of the realism of such an event in my day. I enjoyed, and then asked for more. "
New York Onions by William   Becker
"I literally felt my stomach drop at the end. I suspected there was a twist, and I still had an emotional reaction. Completely unexpected ending. Suspenseful, provocative, multi layered. There is a lesson in this story, a meaningful one I learned; I h" Read more of this review »
Grey Skies by William   Becker
"I have nothing against surrealism. A surrealist work is like a puzzle that presents us with tantalizing hints of meaning, toys with our perception of it, dangling full understanding out of reach, and then leaves us with powerful images that keep reap" Read more of this review »
William Becker rated a book it was amazing
Gyo by Junji Ito
Rate this book
Clear rating
The perfect test is to go swimming in the ocean after you read this. While not as sprawling and initially impressive as Uzumaki, Gyo feels like Junji Ito with an idea that seems pretty silly on paper: "What if fish had legs?" That is the basic gist o ...more
William Becker rated a book liked it
東京喰種トーキョーグール 3 by Sui Ishida
Rate this book
Clear rating
This series is okay. The overarching narrative is compelling enough, but the characters are ridiculously cliche for the genre. Lots of tropes. The action is very poorly done. I found it hard to get through this one. About done with this. Sorry.
William Becker rated a book it was amazing
東京喰種トーキョーグール 2 by Sui Ishida
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is where the story really begins to pick up. The action is still mostly incomprehensible, but the narrative is so gripping that it's easy to ignore. ...more
William Becker is currently reading
東京喰種トーキョーグール 3 by Sui Ishida
Rate this book
Clear rating
William Becker finished reading
東京喰種トーキョーグール 2 by Sui Ishida
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of William's books…
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 128895 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more



No comments have been added yet.