William   Becker

year in books
Tanya
660 books | 242 friends

Char
6,462 books | 1,644 friends

TheYALi...
2,140 books | 1,416 friends

Irene
920 books | 783 friends

Gabby
1,439 books | 5,000 friends

Emily
5,442 books | 1,055 friends

Inna
1,151 books | 315 friends

Carmen
810 books | 92 friends

More friends…

William Becker

Goodreads Author


Born
in Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation
Website

Genre

Influences
David Lynch, Stephen King, Silent Hill

Member Since
March 2019


William Becker is a surrealist horror author with a mind for the more uncanny and stranger sides of the universe. Originally adopted from Saint Petersburg, Russia, he grew up in Boone, North Carolina. His work is known for being non-traditional, gritty, and psychedelic in influence. While originally being known as a practitioner of horror in the vein of David Lynch, Silent Hill, and Ari Aster, Becker's work encompasses elements of romance, sci-fi, drama, psychedelics, and mystery. Above all things, his works are complex, mysterious, and highly allegorical, constantly pushing the boundaries of what is possible within the world of writing, while also providing compelling storylines that transcend the cliches of modern horror.

His first novel,
...more

To ask William Becker questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

William Becker I have a handful. First and foremost, I am going to be reading "I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream" by Harlan Ellison. I'm extremely excited to dive pr…moreI have a handful. First and foremost, I am going to be reading "I Have No Mouth and I Must Scream" by Harlan Ellison. I'm extremely excited to dive pretty deeply into that. Once I've finished that, I think I'm going to check out the "The Five Love Languages" by Gary Chapman. It seems to be a very interesting take on love and relationships as a whole.

I also recently got "This Book is Full of Spiders" by David Wong, so I imagine I will be reading that and the first book in the series, "John Dies At The End." The first book was a crazy, absurd journey. I did a review for it on goodreads and found it mildly enjoyable.

Finally, I also got a huge H.P. Lovecraft collection from Barnes and Noble that I'm very very excited to read. It looks beautiful and it's over a thousand pages long.

The other books I own but aren't super high priority to me to read are "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" by John Berendt. "Balcony of Fog" by Rich Shapero, "The Rise of The Iron Moon" by Stephen Hunt, a handful of literary journals, and a few Stephen King Books. Hopefully I'll find time for all of them! (less)
William Becker Lifestyle changes and entertainment changes. I listen to an album every day at least. I watch tons of movies. I read lots of writing on the internet. …moreLifestyle changes and entertainment changes. I listen to an album every day at least. I watch tons of movies. I read lots of writing on the internet. I never feel very uninspired for long. Taking a break and setting up a different set of inspirations/surroundings helps. Go exercise, stop drinking, stop smoking, and pick up a good book. Add in some good music of a genre you aren't used to and then you'll be cooking in no time.(less)
Average rating: 4.72 · 94 ratings · 84 reviews · 5 distinct worksSimilar authors
New York Onions

4.97 avg rating — 39 ratings — published 2019 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Grey Skies

4.24 avg rating — 33 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Seventh Circle

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 13 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Egg

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 5 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Weeping of the Caverns

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by William Becker…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

William’s Recent Updates

The Egg by William   Becker
"Beautifully tragic, "The Egg" has its readers full attention from the very first page. The storyline itself is dark and twisting, and the dialogue keeps the audience reeled in close enough to never see the next twist coming. A delightful mix of past " Read more of this review »
New York Onions by William   Becker
""New York Onions" is a concise, gripping short story that keeps the reader hooked from the outset. Written in simple prose, it begins in a fashion not unlike horror-master Edgar Allan Poe's style of narration: Everything is Fine, absolutely fine at f" Read more of this review »
William Becker rated a book it was amazing
The Shining by Stephen King
The Shining
by Stephen King (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I saw the movie years ago, perhaps before I was even in high school, so my recollection beyond some iconic scenes is pretty limited. I read it in August, the hottest month of the year, but this was during COVID and after the first cases were announce ...more
William Becker rated a book it was amazing
Carrie by Stephen King
Carrie
by Stephen King (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is THE Stephen King book. Perhaps one of the few books he has written ( in my humble opinion) that is fantastic from the very first page. I would argue that most of his "great" works take a bit to kick in with character introductions and general ...more
William Becker rated a book it was amazing
Elevation by Stephen King
Elevation
by Stephen King (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I should preface this by saying I haven't read a Stephen King novel in years. The last two I read were Desperation and Under The Dome. Perhaps neither of these choices were particularly great, but I still kind of enjoyed them. I have a bit of bias wi ...more
William Becker started reading
Carrie by Stephen King
Carrie
by Stephen King (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
William Becker wants to read
Try the New Candy by Aron Beauregard
Try the New Candy
by Aron Beauregard (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
William Becker wants to read
Scary Bastard by Aron Beauregard
Scary Bastard
by Aron Beauregard (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
William Becker wants to read
Die Tommy by Aron Beauregard
Die Tommy
by Aron Beauregard (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
William Becker wants to read
The Slob by Aron Beauregard
The Slob
by Aron Beauregard (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of William's books…
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 113402 members — last activity 3 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more



No comments have been added yet.