Patrick Oster




Christo...
15 books | 576 friends

Louis G...
0 books | 11 friends

Bill
0 books | 36 friends

Bernd D...
0 books | 71 friends





Patrick Oster

Goodreads Author


gender
male

member since
June 2014

About this author


To ask Patrick Oster questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Patrick Oster Very inspiring. Mexico has come a long way from when I was there and read Proceso, La Jornada and Unomasuno and watched journalists like Julio Scherer…moreVery inspiring. Mexico has come a long way from when I was there and read Proceso, La Jornada and Unomasuno and watched journalists like Julio Scherer Garcia tell the "painful truths" of those days. In that chapter in my book I did on him and Mexican journalism, he wasn't sure the fight for more press freedom would be won, but clearly there have been many victories since then. And I, like he was then, am hopeful.(less)
Patrick Oster I did update the book in 2002 with a timeline and an afterword, so if you have the first edition, there is a little more to read in the later edition.…moreI did update the book in 2002 with a timeline and an afterword, so if you have the first edition, there is a little more to read in the later edition. I have no plans for a follow-up nonfiction book, but I am finishing up a spy novel that has some scenes in Mexico that draw from what I learned living there. I'm calling it The Sleeper List. I hope to have it out perhaps by spring of 2015. It will be my third novel.(less)
Average rating: 4.03 · 69 ratings · 12 reviews · 3 distinct works · Similar authors
The Mexicans: A Personal Po...
4.04 of 5 stars 4.04 avg rating — 56 ratings — published 2009 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Commuter
3.89 of 5 stars 3.89 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The German Club
4.25 of 5 stars 4.25 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2014 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

4-stars from IndieReader on my comic thriller The Commuter. "Oster starts the novel with a captivating beginning: “But on that fateful Friday just before things began to unravel, all seemed normal, even calm.” The tone of suspense carries throughout the story, with Gilbert finding himself in even more unusual settings (among them a Chinese counterfeit business and a house of prostitution). Beca... Read more of this blog post »
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on May 21, 2015 13:40 • 1 view • Tags: thriller-humor

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Patrick's Recent Updates

Patrick Oster wrote a new blog post
4-stars from IndieReader on my comic thriller The Commuter. "Oster starts the novel with a captivating beginning: “But on that fateful Friday just... Read more of this blog post »
The Good German by Joseph Kanon
The Good German
by Joseph Kanon (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
like his latest, Leaving Berlin, I liked the period detail of end of World War II Berlin. It's as good if not better than Alan Furst's pre-World War II novels, which I also like a lot. A little talky sometimes, but he keeps the pages turning. Going t ...more
Leaving Berlin by Joseph Kanon
Leaving Berlin
by Joseph Kanon (Goodreads Author)
read in May, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
also read The Good German, which has great detail about the period right at the end of World War II. Rea it first, then this one. A little heavy on the dialogue to tell rather than show, but intriguing story and interesting characters.
Patrick Oster started reading
Leaving Berlin by Joseph Kanon
Leaving Berlin
by Joseph Kanon (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Istanbul Passage by Joseph Kanon
Istanbul Passage
by Joseph Kanon (Goodreads Author)
read in April, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is a story in the vein of Alan Furst's pre-World War II novels with all the intrigue and local and historical color, the product of a lot of research that makes the writing all the more believable. I like Furst a lot but maybe because I was just ...more
Dead Wake by Erik Larson
Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania
by Erik Larson (Goodreads Author)
read in April, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Another good one from Larson in the tradition of Devil in the White City and In the Garden of the Beasts. I've had to do a lot of research for my own books, non-fiction and novels, but Larson is in a class by himself.
Patrick Oster started reading
Istanbul Passage by Joseph Kanon
Istanbul Passage
by Joseph Kanon (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
The Buried Giant
by Kazuo Ishiguro
read in March, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Not Remains of the Day, but if you are into fantasy, which I'm not, the plot ticks along. Just read it to see how it compared to Remains and Never Let Me Go.
Patrick Oster is currently reading
The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Commuter by Patrick Oster
"This is a goodreads give away. This is probably closer to a 4 1/2 star than a 4. I read the book in one sitting. I found the main character very fun to read about and the assisting characters fit well into the book. It is a subject I would never h..." Read more of this review »
More of Patrick's books…



No comments have been added yet.