Christina Dalcher

Anne Br...
410 books | 252 friends

Will By...
2,084 books | 4,092 friends

Miranda...
1,247 books | 2,368 friends

Jennifer
970 books | 143 friends

Crystal...
1,047 books | 3,298 friends

Laura Rash
1,226 books | 733 friends

Kristin...
75 books | 70 friends

Santino...
1,632 books | 133 friends

More friends…

Christina Dalcher

Goodreads Author


Born
in The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Margaret Atwood, Shirley Jackson, Stephen King

Member Since
April 2015

URL


Christina Dalcher earned her doctorate in theoretical linguistics from Georgetown University. She specializes in the phonetics of sound change in Italian and British dialects and has taught at universities in the United States, England, and the United Arab Emirates.
Her short stories and flash fiction appear in over one hundred journals worldwide. Recognitions include the Bath Flash Award’s Short List; nominations for The Pushcart Prize, Best of the Net, and Best Small Fictions; and multiple other awards. She teaches flash fiction as a member of the faculty at The Muse Writers Center in Norfolk, Virginia. Laura Bradford of Bradford Literary Agency represents Dalcher’s novels.
After spending several years abroad, most recently in Sri Lanka, Da
...more

To ask Christina Dalcher questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Christina Dalcher Well...
I think I’ll stick to the same kind of near future dystopias, but with the focus on different aspects of extremism. How’s that sound?
Average rating: 3.66 · 14,656 ratings · 3,395 reviews · 11 distinct works
Vox

3.65 avg rating — 14,606 ratings — published 2018 — 23 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Flash Fiction Festival One:...

by
4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Q

liked it 3.00 avg rating — 2 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Voz (Novela)

by
liked it 3.00 avg rating — 1 rating
Rate this book
Clear rating
Vine Leaves Literary Journa...

by
4.67 avg rating — 12 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
200 CCS: Year One

by
4.50 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2017
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ellipsis Zine One: A flash ...

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 6 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Lobsters Run Free: Bath...

by
4.29 avg rating — 7 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Five: 2: One - Issue 16

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2017
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Molotov Cocktail: Prize...

by
4.75 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2017 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Christina Dalcher…

And I couldn’t be happier! Many thanks for all the votes and the love and the kind reviews and everything else.


4 likes ·   •  7 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on December 14, 2018 07:32 • 31 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Interviews

July 2018, Christina Dalcher
"The debut novel Vox is set in a dystopian near-future where women live in forced silence, limited to 100 words a day, and are forbidden from holding jobs. " ...More

more interviews »

Louis & Louise
Christina Dalcher is currently reading
by Julie Cohen (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading, arcs
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Sleeping Beauties
Christina Dalcher is currently reading
by Stephen King (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Suicide Club
Christina Dalcher is currently reading
by Rachel Heng (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Christina’s Recent Updates

Vox by Christina Dalcher
"What a brilliant plot in the vein of "The Handmaid's Tale" and "Stepford Wives." Well written with good science to support the story. "
Vox by Christina Dalcher
"As a fan of dystopian fiction not to mention the handmaids tail, i thoroughly enjoyed this novel and read the whole thing within a day...plus 12 hours of work. Which screams how much it gripped me. Some authors i blame for my lack of sleep on occa..." Read more of this review »
Christina Dalcher entered a giveaway
The Water Cure by Sophie Mackintosh
The Water Cure
by Sophie Mackintosh
10 copies available, ends on February 10, 2019 Enter to win »
Vox by Christina Dalcher
"This book started off a little slowly but by the end had me quickly scanning the pages to get to the end as soon as I could. I just had to know how everything ties together.

Christina Dalcher paints a picture that may seem fantastical, but in our..." Read more of this review »
Vox by Christina Dalcher
" This book is riveting and haunting and sadly feels like it could happen tomorrow. High recommend!"
Christina Dalcher rated a book it was amazing
Poster Boy by Nj Crosskey
Rate this book
Clear rating
Christina Dalcher is currently reading
Louis & Louise by Julie Cohen
Louis & Louise
by Julie Cohen (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
" Thank you, Sarah! I’m hoping I write more of the same as well! ;-) "
Christina Dalcher made a comment on Amanda’s review of Vox
Vox by Christina Dalcher
" I just might need to write a sequel! ;-) "
More of Christina's books…
“Evil triumphs when good men do nothing. That’s what they say, right?”
Christina Dalcher, Vox
tags: evil, good

“They won't kill us for the same reason they won't sanction abortions. We've turned into necessary evils, objects to be fucked and not heard.”
Christina Dalcher, Vox

“One thing I learned from Jackie: you can’t protest what you don’t see coming.”
Christina Dalcher, Vox

Polls

3rd Quarter 2018 - SciFi

 
  6 votes, 21.4%

 
  5 votes, 17.9%

 
  5 votes, 17.9%

 
  3 votes, 10.7%

 
  2 votes, 7.1%

 
  2 votes, 7.1%

 
  2 votes, 7.1%

 
  2 votes, 7.1%

 
  1 vote, 3.6%

 
  0 votes, 0.0%

 
  0 votes, 0.0%

 
  0 votes, 0.0%

 
  0 votes, 0.0%

 
  0 votes, 0.0%

 
  0 votes, 0.0%

More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 90095 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more



No comments have been added yet.