Moss Whelan

Nichola...
589 books | 917 friends

J.P. Ja...
401 books | 125 friends

Ann Jones
299 books | 5,001 friends

J.P. Mc...
337 books | 500 friends

Vashti ...
183 books | 1,339 friends

Richard...
61 books | 590 friends

William...
188 books | 685 friends

S.J. Hi...
491 books | 84 friends

More friends…

Moss Whelan

Goodreads Author


Twitter

Genre

Influences

Member Since
September 2017


Moss Whelan (1968) born in Vancouver, British Columbia, is the Canadian author of Gray Hawk of Terrapin published on January the 12th, 2018. He is an English Literature Bachelor of Arts, a Creative Writing Associate, and possesses a Diploma in Writing for Film, Television, and Interactive Media. He is active in the online Fantasy community and teaches Creative Writing. His work depicts a return to transcendent self-esteem in contrast with worldviews that shape perceived reality. He received the President’s Award at Douglas College and the M. Sheila O’Connel Undergraduate Prize in Children's Literature at Simon Fraser University. A survivor of PTSD, he hopes to be a voice for continued access to mental health.

To ask Moss Whelan questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Moss Whelan I write about the block. What does it look like? What shape is it? Texture? Taste? And the block becomes part of the process.
Moss Whelan I was in a Creative Writing class where we were asked to present three stories that we'd like to work on. The class then voted on which one they would…moreI was in a Creative Writing class where we were asked to present three stories that we'd like to work on. The class then voted on which one they would like to see / read. In my case, the readers wanted the female character. I did have the choice to not listen to the class, but I knew the character was more interesting.

The pink mist--good that you asked because I was about to forget. Short answer: pigs are pink. Long answer: the mist is a crossroads and the threshold guardian is a border guard. Growing up, I was told repeatedly that cops were pigs. Later in the story I play with the phrases "the cat's out of the bag" and "pig in a poke". These phrases are from from a trick played on people where a cat in a bag is sold as a pig. (less)
Average rating: 4.39 · 31 ratings · 18 reviews · 2 distinct works
Gray Hawk of Terrapin

4.39 avg rating — 31 ratings5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Lightworker's Way: A Spirit...

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

More Beginnings

Over at my video titled The Beginning of Terrapin I talk about how I got started writing about Terrapin and where that led me. Here, I'm hoping to dig a bit more into that memory vault before it becomes some dragon's hoard.

The title of the first manuscript, The E. of P. (The Enterer of Pictures), was from reading a book that suggested we live in pictures. Delighted by the idea, I imagined t...Terrapin Read more of this blog post »
5 likes ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share twitter circle
Published on October 07, 2017 06:36 Tags: amwritingfantasy, beginning, fantasy, fantasy-world, terrapin, world-building, worldbuilding, writing

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Cuteness Overlord
Moss Whelan is currently reading
by Mike Aaron (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Shadow Tribe:...
Moss Whelan is currently reading
by Jaffrey Clark (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Gaia Effect
Moss Whelan is currently reading
by Claire Buss (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Moss’s Recent Updates

Moss Whelan is now friends with Chris Wojcek
9020810
Moss Whelan answered Mike's question: Moss Whelan
I was in a Creative Writing class where we were asked to present three stories that we'd like to work on. The class then voted on which one they would like to see / read. In my case, the readers wanted the female character. I did have the choice t... See Full Answer
Moss Whelan has read
The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
Rate this book
Clear rating
Moss Whelan wants to read
Wizards' Secret Service by George A. Kos
Rate this book
Clear rating
Moss Whelan is now following
16969269
Moss Whelan wants to read
Zella's Awakening by Braden Wheeler
Rate this book
Clear rating
Moss Whelan has read
Howl's Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
Rate this book
Clear rating
Moss Whelan has read
The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
Rate this book
Clear rating
Moss Whelan has read
Frankenstein Or, the Modern Prometheus by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
Rate this book
Clear rating
Moss Whelan has read
Conan of Cimmeria by Robert E. Howard
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Moss's books…
45059 Sci-fi and Heroic Fantasy — 6795 members — last activity 13 hours, 0 min ago
A place for those who walk the green forests of Middle Earth, cross the pale sands of Arakis, sail the blue waters of Earthsea, slip among the shadows ...more
25x33 Into the Wardrobe — 13 members — last activity Nov 07, 2018 05:00AM
for members of the Into the Wardrobe Facebook group, fans of CS Lewis and the other inklings.
175943 Mythopoeia — 5 members — last activity Apr 08, 2017 10:38AM
Mythopoeia and mytho-poetic novels. Example, JRR Tolkien's The Silmarillion is a mythopoeia. Mythopoeia is "myth-making" and would include any books t ...more
98214 Traditional Fantasy — 114 members — last activity Jan 02, 2017 08:59AM
This group is to discuss Traditional Fantasy, which includes Quest Fantasy, Sword & Sorcery, Mystical Fantasy and Classic Fantasy. Please note that Tr ...more
53021 Mythgard Institute Scholars Group — 109 members — last activity Nov 04, 2018 04:48PM
a group for students in the Mythgard Institute starting with this autumns Tolkien and the Epic Course - the day has come!!!
62441 Pre-Tolkien Fantasy — 116 members — last activity May 07, 2016 08:06AM
Bored with "the best fantasy epic since Tolkien". There was life before Tolkien and this is the place to explore, discuss, recommend and read the clas ...more
167574 Tolkien Support Group — 5 members — last activity Jul 16, 2015 10:54PM
Struggling with a Tolkien novel? Huge Tolkien fan? Feel like moving to Middle-Earth? Then this is the place for you :)
190639 Fans of The Lord of the Rings Trilogy and The Hobbit — 8 members — last activity May 28, 2016 04:34AM
This group is for General discussion about Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit books and movies. I hope you enjoy!
50319 Middle Earth Geeks — 155 members — last activity Mar 21, 2016 01:14PM
If you are at all interested in The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, or The Histories of Middle Earth, JOIN THIS GROUP!!
25x33 The Motley Book Club — 12 members — last activity Jun 08, 2015 10:54AM
A Book group for people to join if they like literature. All people welcome. But if your favourite books list includes Twilight, Fifty shades or other ...more
More of Moss’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-1)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 1: by Vanda

Vanda Denton Hi Moss
a longer reply to your email request requesting I put your new book on my To Read list. I have clicked the Follow on your Goodreads page. Nice if you could do that for me too. I'm not good with social media and having difficulty getting noticed. So help with that would be good. Checked Gray Hawk Terrapin on Kindle and was considering £6.71 might be a bit expensive for me when the net went down. I will buy it when it comes out. And your other one. They look very interesting indeed. I will soon be promoting my Vinctalin Legacy series, mainly Book 1 Harvest (only 99p on Kindle) next month. Help with that would be great. We can't swap reviews on Amazon but no reason I know of that we can't spread the word for each other in Facebook and Goodreads groups. Hope you do very well with your new book.

Vanda


back to top