A.M. Goetz's Blog: Ashkettle Boys Books

January 31, 2018

We've Moved!

Thanks for following the Ashkettle Boys Blog. Please bookmark us at:

https://ashkettleboysbooks.wordpress....

Anne
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on January 31, 2018 15:25

September 23, 2017

The Very Very Bad Bad Book Cover

If I thought writing a book would be the most difficult task I ever took on, I was so wrong.

So very very wrong.

What's more challenging than wringing thirty-four thousand words from your soul?

Trying to find an image, ONE IMAGE, to represent them.

One bling to rule them all.

Because I'm a tad stubborn, and because I can't bear to give up even an iota of control, I've been making my own book covers. And since you're viewing my books here, you're seeing the early EARLY fruits of my labors.

I'm so sorry.

They're pretty bad.

Cringy, my daughter would say, and she'd be massively, maddeningly correct.

She's twelve. It's a thing.

Goodreads doesn't update covers the way Amazon and Instafreebie update covers. So once you've added your book to Goodreads with a cringy cover, it's there, baby.

And there ain't no making it go away.

The things you learn too late.

So, if you're visiting my books here, you're sort of seeing the covers in their rawest forms.

Thank you for not throwing up. I appreciate your fortitude.

But my cover creation skills are improving with time and a little maniacal effort, so probably by Ashkettle Boys: Book 49, I'll have nailed it.

If you're interested in seeing pieces of the process, join me over on Facebook at the Official ABB Fan Page where I share all my latest snafus because, at one time, I loved them. I loved them ALL!

https://www.facebook.com/AshkettleBoy...

The fan page, like my life, is just one big, stewing science project, complete with smoke and the occasional funny smell.

Makes you want to run right over, doesn't it?
1 like ·   •  2 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on September 23, 2017 20:58 Tags: bad-book-covers, facebook, indie-authors

September 13, 2017

Beautiful Monster

Today's post is less about me and the book I've penned and more about the lovely, kind and thoughtful people who've read it.

Thank you.

Rumor has it, it's a slow build in establishing a career as an indie author.

And it's not just all about the words.

It's a delicate sort of science that mixes intriguing cover art with a mesmerizing blurb, pretty formatting and the innate ability to spin a good yarn. Lots of books under your belt helps too.

Toss beakers full of all those things into the old black cauldron and a beautiful monster, something with long, lovely eyelashes and cheeks like roses, should poof to life.

Should.

Poof to life.

But what constitutes beautiful? Is it thousands of 5-star reviews? Thousands of dollars pouring into the old bank account?

Thousands of new gray hairs daily? (this!)

Or is it one reader?

Just one.

Just one reader who is moved enough by what you've written to send off an email or to leave a comment on a Facebook page to let you know what you've done.

Whether good or bad, daunting or joyful, horrific or fascinating, somebody cared enough to let you know that something you wrote moved them.

And that's who today's post is for -- everyone everywhere who's ever laid down a book or a Nook or a Kindle and thought, "I really need to say something about this."

Maybe you tweeted out kudos. Maybe you composed an honest review filled with advice. Maybe you tracked down the author's website and left a comment.

Whatever you did, so long as you did it with love, (and sometimes love hurts), we authors appreciate it.

We appreciate you.

Because you rock.

Thank you.
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on September 13, 2017 13:25 Tags: thanks-to-the-readers

September 7, 2017

Ashkettle Haunted Available for Pre-Order Today

Hello my favorite readers, and thanks for stopping by the blog today! I have exciting news to share. Ashkettle Haunted, the chilling sequel to Ashkettle Crazy is available for pre-order today on Kindle:

This Halloween, Dack's past will pay a terrifying visit.

It's been almost a year since the Ashkettle brothers made their desperate escape from evil Uncle Merle, and Dack's mind still struggles to work through a lifetime of traumatic memories. Confused, angry and reckless, he wonders if his family might be better off without him.

But when a threat from the boys' past is resurrected and sets its sights on the youngest brother, will Dack learn his true worth? Or will it take an epic force of nature to convince him?

Fans of Stranger Things and Stephen King's, The Body, will enjoy this inspirational saga of three brothers dedicated to forging a better life from the shards and shrapnel of the past.

A full-length fiction novella, Ashkettle Haunted will release on October 31, 2017.

Lock in your exclusive, pre-order price by ordering today at: https://www.amazon.com/Ashkettle-Haun....

Or

Get your free sample on Instafreebie at:
https://www.instafreebie.com/free/mT0Xq

For exclusive bonus content, giveaways, and news on upcoming release dates, join the Ashkettle Boys Books Community on Facebook at:

https://www.facebook.com/AshkettleBoy...

And thank you all for your overwhelming response to Sonny, Bo and Dack Ashkettle, for your lovely feedback, for your generous support and for your remarkably kind words. They're my addiction!
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on September 07, 2017 17:23 Tags: ashkettle-crazy, mystery, psychological-thriller, sequel, suspense, ya-fiction

August 28, 2017

Ashkettle Crazy Debuts on Kindle

Ashkettle Crazy, the first book in the Ashkettle Boys Book Series, debuted on Amazon Kindle in August and revolves around three mountain boys and their struggle to save the youngest from the the crazed killer who wants him dead.


Written in the regional dialect used in the Appalachian Mountains of Pennsylvania, "Ashkettle Crazy" is suitable for readers ages 17+.

Thanks for stopping by the official blog of Ashkettle Boys Books. I'm A.M. Goetz, author, and it's my pleasure to introduce you to Sonny, Bo and Dack -- the Ashkettle brothers. For updates, exclusive content, giveaways and more, stop by our Facebook Fan Page at https://www.facebook.com/AshkettleBoy.... I look forward to seeing you there!

 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on August 28, 2017 19:26 Tags: a-m-goetz, ashkettle-boys-books, ashkettle-crazy, suspense, thriller

Ashkettle Boys Books

A.M. Goetz
A community for fans of the Ashkettle Boys Book Series by A.M. Goetz.
Follow A.M. Goetz's blog with rss.