Laura Williams McCaffrey

more photos (1)

Greg Fi...
405 books | 1,067 friends

Crystal...
1,117 books | 3,327 friends

Laurie ...
131 books | 1,427 friends

Heather...
217 books | 293 friends

Christy
387 books | 75 friends

Kelly G...
2,888 books | 789 friends

Laurie
609 books | 412 friends

Chris
330 books | 2,193 friends

More friends…

Laura Williams McCaffrey

Goodreads Author


Born
The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
July 2010

URL


I read, I write, I teach. I've published short stories in Cicada, YA Review Network, Solstice Literary Magazine, and Soundings Review. In 2016, Clarion Books released my YA dystopian fantasy MARKED, which Kirkus Books called "an original, textured page-turner." My other fantasy novels are WATER SHAPER and ALIA WAKING (both published by Clarion Books). For more information, it's best to visit my website: http://www.laurawilliamsmccaffrey.com

Popular Answered Questions

Laura Williams McCaffrey I sit down every day at the same time, and I simply try to write something related to the story. What I write doesn't have to be good. It doesn't have…moreI sit down every day at the same time, and I simply try to write something related to the story. What I write doesn't have to be good. It doesn't have to end up in the draft. It doesn't even have to be relevant to the story — though I often find the thing that unsticks me is information about a character or situation I need to know to continue. (less)
Laura Williams McCaffrey Writing, and other writers.

I don't always find the act of writing easy. I throw away a lot of what I write. Still, I love my mechanical pencils and…more
Writing, and other writers.

I don't always find the act of writing easy. I throw away a lot of what I write. Still, I love my mechanical pencils and my lined white paper. I love putting words on pages, the way the words accumulate and grow into characters.

And I love talking with other writers, about the books we're reading, about the stories we're writing, about the pitfalls of working in a home office and wearing pajamas too often.(less)
Average rating: 3.28 · 378 ratings · 72 reviews · 3 distinct worksSimilar authors
Water Shaper

3.23 avg rating — 186 ratings — published 2006
Rate this book
Clear rating
Marked

3.08 avg rating — 124 ratings — published 2016 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Alia Waking

3.76 avg rating — 68 ratings — published 2003
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Laura’s Recent Updates

Laura McCaffrey answered Goodreads's question: Laura Williams McCaffrey
Well, I teach, so some of my reading relates to what I'll be teaching next year. This summer, I'll definitely be reading the books on Vermont's Dorothy Canfield Fisher list, and I'm especially looking forward to Kelly Barnhill's The Girl Who Drank... See Full Answer
Laura McCaffrey answered Goodreads's question: Laura Williams McCaffrey
This is tough one to answer.

I think I have to say Puck and Sean from The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. I love how determined they both are, and how dedicated to their families and their passions, which are in conflict. I won't give away how... See Full Answer
Laura Williams McCaffrey is accepting questions on her profile page.
Laura McCaffrey finished reading
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth E. Wein
Rate this book
Clear rating
Laura McCaffrey finished reading
The Outpost by Jake Tapper
Rate this book
Clear rating
Laura McCaffrey has read
The Mighty Miss Malone by Christopher Paul Curtis
Rate this book
Clear rating
A great companion read to Bud, Not Buddy, particularly for those who enjoy spunky girl protagonists. Curtis relays big issues like poverty and racism In their day-to-day manifestations, as exemplified by his main character's rotten teeth and inabilit ...more
Laura McCaffrey has read
The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand
Rate this book
Clear rating
A good one for fans of Coraline and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, as well as Joseph Bruchac's Skeleton Man. It has gross-out moments, so despite the old-fashioned feel of the voice and characters, it isn't for those who enjoy gentle reads.
Laura McCaffrey has read
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth E. Wein
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Laura's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
You'll love this ...: May 2012 Challenge - "M's" the Word 166 90 Jun 10, 2012 12:47AM  
4030 Endicott Mythic Fiction — 295 members — last activity Jul 02, 2016 11:20PM
The Endicott Mythic Fiction group is now closed. The group focused on books inspired by "myth, folklore, fairy tales, and the oral storytelling tradit ...more
56405 Sirens Conference — 259 members — last activity Jul 12, 2019 08:01AM
Sirens Conference Website: http://www.sirensconference.org/ Once a year, Narrate Conferences presents Sirens, a conference on women in fantasy literat ...more



No comments have been added yet.