Taryn Bashford

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
July 2013

URL


Taryn lives the typical writer’s life alongside supportive husband, teen children, and characters from her latest book insisting they help make dinner. This can be disconcerting as Jacob is always sticking his fingers in the cheese sauce and Harper can’t cook.

Taryn’s been an English Literature Honours student, an advertising sales rep and a CEO of an internet company, but writing is her first love. The Harper Effect is her debut novel.

To ask Taryn Bashford questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Taryn Bashford Rejection email from a publisher.
Another rejection email.
Taryn Bashford Hi Margaret. And thanks for your question. But no, Harper in The Harper Effect isn't the Prime Minister of Canada - good idea for a book though :)…moreHi Margaret. And thanks for your question. But no, Harper in The Harper Effect isn't the Prime Minister of Canada - good idea for a book though :) Harper is the 16 year old professional tennis player who learns to win from a boy who has lost everything. That boy is Colt, her doubles partner. But while she's trying to figure him out and the secrets he's hiding, she's making some bad choices in the rest of her life - like betraying her sister. It's a coming of age story, with some exciting insights into the world of professional tennis. Think Rocky or Million Dollar Baby or Karate Kid - but in the world of tennis.
Now I must go and think about this plot about the Canadian Prime Minister...(less)
Average rating: 3.52 · 343 ratings · 109 reviews · 1 distinct workSimilar authors
The Harper Effect

3.52 avg rating — 343 ratings — published 2017 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

I am chairman (woman, person).

Care to dance? I'm not sure what was going on when this shot was taken. It's meant to be me chairing the discussion with Lynette Noni (author of The Medoran Chronicles and new series Whisper), and Jessica Townsend, author of Nevermoor, The Trials of Morrigan Crow. This all happened last night at Australian Reading Hour. We did settle into a civilized conversation though. As you can see Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on September 20, 2018 17:11 • 3 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Taryn’s Recent Updates

Taryn Bashford is now friends with Sarah Woodard
894462
Taryn Bashford is now following Caitlin Sheehan and Annie
10418445 8002572
Taryn Bashford wants to read
The Accident by Todd Strasser
The Accident
by Todd Strasser (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Taryn Bashford and 1 other person liked Jennifer's review of The Harper Effect:
The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford
"

-

Fun for everyone! "
Taryn Bashford and 1 other person liked Shelley's review of The Harper Effect:
The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford
"This YA novel is fresh, whimsical and the plot moves along like a high-stakes tennis match. Set against the backdrop of the international tennis arena, the action is driven by the tensions between characters, which I found taut and compelling. Wil..." Read more of this review »
Taryn Bashford and 1 other person liked Lauren's review of The Harper Effect:
The Harper Effect by Taryn Bashford
"Taryn Bashford's YA novel The Harper Effect is a book I devoured the moment I read the first page. To me, it was one of those books you HAD to finish. I read the book within two days (which can be very difficult for me working full-time) and know..." Read more of this review »
Taryn Bashford wants to read
Tears of a Tiger by Sharon M. Draper
Rate this book
Clear rating
Taryn Bashford wants to read
Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles
Rate this book
Clear rating
Taryn Bashford wants to read
Whirligig by Paul Fleischman
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Taryn's books…
Lisa L. Wiedmeier
“If I could have looked into the future to see what I would have become, I wouldn't have become the person I was always meant to be. ~ lw”
Lisa Wiedmeier, Cheyenne

Nora Ephron
“When your children are teenagers, it's important to have a dog so that someone in the house is happy to see you.”
Nora Ephron, I Feel Bad about My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman

Dr. Seuss
“Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”
Dr. Seuss

Mae West
“You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.”
Mae West

William Congreve
“Say what you will, ’tis better to be left than never to have been loved.”
William Congreve

188703 Pitch Wars 2015 — 50 members — last activity May 15, 2017 07:06PM
A place for pitch warriors to offer support to one another.
25x33 The Harper Effect Fan page — 2 members — last activity May 08, 2017 06:59PM
For readers of The Harper Effect to comment, ask questions and find out where the author, Taryn Bashford, will be for signings and launches.
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 29617 members — last activity 18 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
1 Goodreads Feedback — 27829 members — last activity 1 hour, 5 min ago
Welcome to the Feedback Group! We’re glad you’re here. This is a place to find out what’s new at Goodreads and to share your feedback, including shari ...more



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 2: by Taryn

Taryn Bashford Kira wrote: "Hey there Taryn! Thanks for the friend request. I recognize you from Twitter and it's nice to run into a familiar face!"
Great to 'meet' you here too ;)


message 1: by Kira

Kira Hawke Hey there Taryn! Thanks for the friend request. I recognize you from Twitter and it's nice to run into a familiar face!


back to top