Ben  Guterson

year in books
Belles ...
1,151 books | 195 friends

The Rea...
3,727 books | 344 friends

Allyson...
276 books | 131 friends

Robert ...
55 books | 180 friends

John Na...
20 books | 327 friends

Nettie
1,959 books | 19 friends

Laurie
1,610 books | 907 friends

Ryan
151 books | 115 friends

More friends…

Ben Guterson

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
September 2016


To ask Ben Guterson questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Ben Guterson Hi, Amanda--Thanks for reaching out, and I'm glad to hear you are enjoying the Winterhouse books. There's definitely a third one on the way--THE WINTE…moreHi, Amanda--Thanks for reaching out, and I'm glad to hear you are enjoying the Winterhouse books. There's definitely a third one on the way--THE WINTERHOUSE MYSTERIES will be released in December, and it will wrap up the trilogy. I hope you enjoy it!(less)
Ben Guterson I'm not planning a fourth book in the Winterhouse series--my hope is that THE WINTERHOUSE MYSTERIES is a satisfying conclusion to the set! I do have m…moreI'm not planning a fourth book in the Winterhouse series--my hope is that THE WINTERHOUSE MYSTERIES is a satisfying conclusion to the set! I do have more books coming, though. Here is the announcement from Publisher's Weekly this past September (and I'm very much looking forward to the release of these two books):

"Christy Ottaviano at Christy Ottaviano Books/Macmillan has acquired World Rights to two new middle grade novels by Ben Guterson, Edgar Award-Nominated creator of the WINTERHOUSE trilogy. The first, THE VISTA POINT EINSTEINS, is a suspenseful mystery featuring a grieving family eager to start fresh by relocating to a remote bed-and-breakfast, pitched as Summerlost meets Front Desk and scheduled for 2021. THE HIDDEN WORKSHOP OF JAVIER PRESTON, scheduled for 2022, is an atmospheric mystery layered with art, puzzles, friendship, and family in the vein of Chasing Vermeer and Book Scavenger. Rena Rossner at the Deborah Harris Agency negotiated the deal."(less)
Average rating: 3.98 · 5,358 ratings · 951 reviews · 8 distinct worksSimilar authors
Winterhouse (Winterhouse, #1)

3.97 avg rating — 3,701 ratings — published 2018 — 19 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Secrets of Winterhouse ...

by
3.98 avg rating — 1,194 ratings — published 2018 — 12 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Winterhouse Mysteries (...

by
4.07 avg rating — 446 ratings — published 2019 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Die Geheimnisse von Winterhaus

by
3.92 avg rating — 12 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Winterhouse (2 Book Series)

by
4.50 avg rating — 2 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Seasonal Guide to the Natur...

liked it 3.00 avg rating — 1 rating — published 1994
Rate this book
Clear rating
Die Magie von Winterhaus

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Retour à Winterhouse Hôtel ...

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Ben Guterson…
Winterhouse The Secrets of Winterhouse The Winterhouse Mysteries
(3 books)
by
3.98 avg rating — 5,338 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Bacchae and O...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Selected Pros...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Basic Writing...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Ben’s Recent Updates

Ben Guterson is now friends with Sandra Turton
58757268
Ben Guterson answered Mary Kathryn's question: Ben  Guterson
Hi Mary--Thank you for your kind note. WINTERHOUSE is basically contemporary, taking place in about 2016-2017, though I tried to minimize references that might make the era of the book too conspicuous. Freddy does use a computer, however! I really wa See Full Answer
Ben Guterson rated a book it was amazing
Begin the Begin by Robert Dean Lurie
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pure gold for R.E.M. enthusiasts and an absorbing look at artistic voice-finding generally, Robert Dean Lurie's BEGIN THE BEGIN is one fan's meticulous appreciation of a band’s success, blemishes unfiltered (un-Auto-Tuned?). Lurie focuses on the grou ...more
Ben Guterson is now following Elizabeth's reviews
25586770
The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner
"Gut-wrenching.

The Mars Room, named after the last adult oriented establishment Romy worked in before being arrested, is an unflinching look at the U.S. prison system today-and it's a train wreck. You find yourself wanting to look away, yet still cat" Read more of this review »
Ben Guterson is currently reading
The Bacchae and Other Plays by Euripides
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ben Guterson rated a book it was amazing
The Schoolmaster and Other Stories by Anton Chekhov
Rate this book
Clear rating
Great collection of stories--but then, each volume in this 13-volume series has been great. I don't see how a short-story lover can go wrong with Chekhov, though this collection--the eleventh overall in the Constance Garnett translations--is heavier ...more
Ben Guterson rated a book liked it
To Jerusalem and Back by Saul Bellow
Rate this book
Clear rating
I'm a huge Bellow fan, but I find his imaginative works far preferable to his non-fiction. This book, published in 1976, was both diffuse and mired in the politics and speculations of its time. Despite the intransigence of the dilemmas Bellow details ...more
Ben Guterson is currently reading
The Schoolmaster and Other Stories by Anton Chekhov
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ben Guterson rated a book really liked it
Anti-Judaism by David Nirenberg
Rate this book
Clear rating
A difficult read on several levels. Nirenberg's scholarship is as impressive as it is exhaustive, tracing the strains of anti-Jewish thought from ancient Egypt to the present. His thesis, though, is novel, one I'd not considered before, at least not ...more
More of Ben's books…
“I've always found, that when I finally recognize a quality about myself that's maybe not so pleasant, I'm better able to do something about it. Make a change, perhaps, if that's what's called for. I'm sure if you apologize to him, everything will be fine" -Norbridge (Winterhouse)”
Ben Guterson

“Christmas Eve is a magical time," he said. "It is one of the few nights of the year-perhaps the only night of the year-when the spirit of love and peace seems to settle on everyone, regardless of who they are or where they live or what circumstances they find themselves in. It is as though the spirit of the evening folds everyone inside itself, making it impossible to feel scared or alone.”
Ben Guterson, Winterhouse

Polls

What book should we read in March?

You may write in titles, provided the book is a 2019 Newbery contender and already published.

 
  23 votes 29.5%

 
  19 votes 24.4%

 
  16 votes 20.5%

 
  13 votes 16.7%

 
  7 votes 9.0%

78 total votes
More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Lost Challenges: May Scavenger Hunt - Library 89 69 Jun 06, 2018 04:31AM  
WACKY READING CHA...: May 2018 Word Search 101 72 Sep 13, 2018 03:12PM  
WACKY READING CHA...: Kimberly's Wacky Challenges 86 74 Dec 02, 2018 08:01AM  
2020 Reading Chal...: Dana's 65 books in 2018 13 58 Jan 02, 2019 10:02PM  
2020 Reading Chal...: Jess gets lit during quarantine (100) 5 208 May 18, 2020 09:44AM  
All Challenges Al...: Bath & Body Works Spell Out Challenge 967 64 May 31, 2020 03:31PM  
Reading with Style: This topic has been closed to new comments. Completed Tasks 840 58 May 31, 2020 09:00PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: 2018 A-Z Authors 158 112 Jul 21, 2020 04:16PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: December Spell- Chestnuts 152 67 Aug 03, 2020 09:05AM  



No comments have been added yet.