Julie Manthey

Goodreads Author


Born
The United States
Website

Genre

Member Since
August 2017

URL


Julie Manthey started writing stories for her family and friends as soon as she could hold on to a crayon. She is a proud Hoya alumna of Georgetown University.

Julie thinks that the best part of writing fiction is imagining alternate worlds and mixing up a small echo of reality with a very large dose of fiction to create a fun, magical reading escape.

Julie Manthey is currently not accepting new questions.

Popular Answered Questions

Julie Manthey To me, writer's block is similar to trying to remember something - the more you try to remember, the more something eludes you. So for writer's block,…moreTo me, writer's block is similar to trying to remember something - the more you try to remember, the more something eludes you. So for writer's block, I shift gears and start working on another project, like a screenplay or short story, or maybe something simple like a character's bio. Once I stop trying to force the ideas on the project with writer's block and shift to something else, very soon the writer's block disappears and I get a great idea to be able to return to the other project again. I hope that helps others! (less)
Julie Manthey Generally my advice is to remember the reason they started writing in the first place and to not get distracted with everything else around "writing."…moreGenerally my advice is to remember the reason they started writing in the first place and to not get distracted with everything else around "writing." Being a writer is a creative endeavor that generally takes a lot of work, edits, and time. Focus on the work and sharing your unique voice with readers. (less)
Average rating: 3.85 · 40 ratings · 29 reviews · 1 distinct work
The Magic of Cape Disappoin...

3.85 avg rating — 40 ratings — published 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

I’ve been writing in Magical Realism for a while now and I’ve picked up on a few tips that are key to sort out before adding a little magic to your novel. I hope these help if you are considering adding in a little magic in your work in progress.
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on August 03, 2018 15:06

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Julie’s Recent Updates

Julie Manthey wrote a new blog post
I’ve been writing in Magical Realism for a while now and I’ve picked up on a few tips that are key to sort out before adding a little magic to your... Read more of this blog post »
Julie Manthey rated a book liked it
Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole
Letters from Skye
by Jessica Brockmole (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Fans of 'The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society' will appreciate this novel. 'Letters from Skye' is a story about an unlikely first World War romance that blooms from a single fan letter from an American to a Scottish poet who lives on the ...more
Julie Manthey rated a book liked it
The Austen Escape by Katherine Reay
The Austen Escape
by Katherine Reay (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I've been on an Austen-related reading kick recently, which is how I found this book. It's a cute premise about two women who go to a very luxurious, Austen-themed resort in Bath, England where the guests even dress up in Regency period clothing and ...more
7501
Julie Manthey has completed her goal of reading 36 books for the 2018 Reading Challenge!
 
Create your own 2018 Reading Challenge »
Julie Manthey rated a book liked it
The Austen Escape by Katherine Reay
The Austen Escape
by Katherine Reay (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I've been on an Austen-related reading kick recently, which is how I found this book. It's a cute premise about two women who go to a very luxurious, Austen-themed resort in Bath, England where the guests even dress up in Regency period clothing and ...more
Julie Manthey rated a book really liked it
Lost in Austen by Emma Campbell Webster
Rate this book
Clear rating
Such fun - a 'choose your own adventure' Jane Austen themed book! Will you take the path to the left or the right on the country walk that will change your fate? A fun book that, depending on your choices, will take you from Longbourn to Pemberley or ...more
Julie Manthey rated a book it was amazing
The Nordic Theory of Everything by Anu  Partanen
Rate this book
Clear rating
The author is Finnish-American writing about the similarities and differences between American and Nordic / Scandinavian health care, education, and other related systems. Whether or not you agree with her, "The Nordic Theory of Everything" presents ...more
Julie Manthey rated a book liked it
Uncommon Type by Tom Hanks
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is a solid collection of short stories that all share one thing in common: they all feature a typewriter at some point, but other than that the stories are very different from each other. The stories vary and the characters seemed unique and aut ...more
Julie Manthey rated a book it was amazing
The Nordic Theory of Everything by Anu  Partanen
Rate this book
Clear rating
The author is Finnish-American writing about the similarities and differences between American and Nordic / Scandinavian health care, education, and other related systems. Whether or not you agree with her, "The Nordic Theory of Everything" presents ...more
Julie Manthey rated a book liked it
Agatha Raisin and the Witches' Tree by M.C. Beaton
Rate this book
Clear rating
I sort of jumped into this series toward the end, but I did enjoy this British Cotswold mystery. Well thought out twists and turns, keeping me guessing until the end, which is exactly what one hopes for from any mystery. The protagonist, Agatha, is a ...more
More of Julie's books…



No comments have been added yet.