Kerry Anne King

Goodreads Author


Born
in Canada
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
March 2016


Kerry Anne King is the author of the international bestselling novel Closer Home. Licensed both as an RN and a Mental Health Counselor, she draws on her experience working in the medical and mental health fields to explore themes of loss, grief, and transformation. Kerry lives in a little house in the big woods of the inland northwest with her Viking, three cats, a dog, and a yard full of wild turkey and deer. She also writes fantasy and mystery novels as Kerry Schafer.

To ask Kerry Anne King questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Kerry Anne King I get to re-create reality the way I want it to be. I take my characters through very dark places of grief and loss and despair, but I can always help…moreI get to re-create reality the way I want it to be. I take my characters through very dark places of grief and loss and despair, but I can always help them find their way through to a better place. And that makes me happy. Besides, it's always just fun to make stuff up.(less)
Kerry Anne King I'm just about ready to turn in my latest novel to editor Jodi. This one is about a woman who is called home to care for her parents when her mother…moreI'm just about ready to turn in my latest novel to editor Jodi. This one is about a woman who is called home to care for her parents when her mother is dying, only to discover that her mother has been harboring life altering secrets. I LOVE this book, but then I love whichever book I happen to be working on. I love my writing job.(less)
Average rating: 4.03 · 24,181 ratings · 1,579 reviews · 4 distinct worksSimilar authors
Whisper Me This

4.02 avg rating — 20,267 ratings — published 2018 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Closer Home

4.11 avg rating — 2,399 ratings — published 2016 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
I Wish You Happy

4.15 avg rating — 1,515 ratings5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Everything You Are

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

Because I love readers...

If you are an avid reader, then I love you, whether you happen to have read my books or not!

Seriously. Where would writers be without people to read their books?

So, today I want to give you a gift. I can’t give all of you a book (well, maybe I could but it would get really expensive and I’m not feeling quite THAT generous) but I can give books to some of you!

Comment below sometime today (Febru...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on February 14, 2019 07:55

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Widow's Watcher
Kerry Anne King is currently reading
by Eliza Maxwell (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Kerry’s Recent Updates

Kerry Anne King rated a book it was amazing
There's a Word for That by Sloane Tanen
There's a Word for That
by Sloane Tanen (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
There's a Word for That is so many different things-- funny, insightful, thought provoking, creative, heart warming--but at its wonderful heart it is a story of family and the bonds that hold us together. Beneath the laugh out loud humor, the story r ...more
" Oh, thank you! That makes me so happy to hear! "
Kerry Anne King rated a book it was amazing
The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan
The Keeper of Lost Things
by Ruth Hogan (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
An absolute delight

A whimsical, delightful interweaving of stories with an enchanting cast of characters. I loved them all, though it was Sunshine who stole my heart entirely. A beautifully written, magical book of tears, laughter, and the good and b
...more
Kerry Anne King rated a book it was amazing
The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden
Rate this book
Clear rating
Just finished blazing through this second installment of the trilogy, casting aside other important and pressing tasks to find out what happens. I adore Vasya, and followed her journey with my heart in my throat the whole way, cheering her on in her ...more
Kerry Anne King rated a book it was amazing
The Impossible Girl by Lydia Kang
The Impossible Girl
by Lydia Kang (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I fell in love with this book on page one, and loved it more as I read along. The world came alive for me with every page--I could see it, smell it, hear it. I loved the fun of a woman who also passes as a man, and the way Kang has woven a mystical t ...more
Kerry Anne King rated a book it was amazing
The Impossible Girl by Lydia Kang
The Impossible Girl
by Lydia Kang (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I fell in love with this book on page one, and loved it more as I read along. The world came alive for me with every page--I could see it, smell it, hear it. I loved the fun of a woman who also passes as a man, and the way Kang has woven a mystical t ...more
Kerry Anne King and 1 other person liked BookGypsy's review of What Lies Below:
What Lies Below by Barbara Taylor Sissel
"This was an intense read! I loved it. Gilly has visions or rather nightmares that predict what things are going to happen. When a little girl is kidnapped Gilly is afraid no one will believe her if she says what she knows. Gilly is also running fr..." Read more of this review »
The Survivor's Guide to Family Happiness by Maddie Dawson
" Loved this book! "
The Survivor's Guide to Family Happiness by Maddie Dawson
"Full review on www.novelgossip.com

Lake Union has done it again! They are quickly becoming one of my most valued and trusted publishers, it’s getting to the point where I’ll read anything they publish. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this o..." Read more of this review »
More of Kerry's books…
“I keep waiting for some great life purpose to rise up in front of me and declare itself, but I don’t seem to be wired for greatness.”
Kerry Anne King, Whisper Me This

“A familiar web of worry and indecision grounds me in my accustomed reality.”
Kerry Anne King, Whisper Me This

“My mother is present in every room of the house. She’s always in my head. Her grave is the last place in the world I feel close to her. But today is about some kind of symbolic gesture,”
Kerry Anne King, Whisper Me This

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Crazy Challenge C...: This topic has been closed to new comments. The Funny Pages 947 479 Dec 27, 2016 05:34PM  
Fans of Interraci...: Non IR Cheapies & Freebies 2113 503 Nov 15, 2018 05:52PM  
For Love of a Book: AHS: Reagan 52 53 Dec 10, 2018 03:45PM  
100 books in 2018 1 4 Dec 29, 2018 02:00PM  
For Love of a Book: This topic has been closed to new comments. Trisha Who's House 29 57 Dec 30, 2018 02:14PM  
Crazy Challenge C...: 2019 Randomizer Challenge 118 161 Feb 02, 2019 12:34PM  
Wanderlust Challe...: 2019 Travel Journal 45 47 Mar 27, 2019 08:41AM  
“My big dream was to write. I never thought about movie deals or book awards or bestseller lists. I still don't. All I've ever wanted from this gig is to sell enough books to allow me to keep writing more of them.”
Alistair Cross

87982 52 weeks, 52 books — 1440 members — last activity Oct 14, 2018 05:49PM
This year, we'll read a book a week - an eclectic mix of bestsellers, finds, and old favourites. With an emphasis on fiction but some non-fiction too.



No comments have been added yet.