Nadia Janice Brown

more photos (3)

Carrie
14,369 books | 2,618 friends

Martin
1,150 books | 420 friends

Patry
923 books | 3,224 friends

Jennife...
344 books | 1,485 friends

Tien
7,470 books | 604 friends

Linda
32 books | 171 friends

Fiona
5,625 books | 4,164 friends

Carolin...
155 books | 987 friends

More friends…

Nadia Janice Brown

Goodreads Author


Born
Queens, New York, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Dr. Maya Angelou, Jane Austen, Lisa Bevere

Member Since
May 2008

URL


Nadia Janice Brown is a writer and poet living in Miami, Florida. She works as a book publicist for www.author-promotions.com. Nadia is the author of Becoming: The Life & Musings of a Girl Poet and Unscrambled Eggs. ...more

Is Writing Your Calling? Maybe Not!

We Are Not All Meant To Write writing

I know now; writing is my purpose. When I was a small girl, I had a simple wish-- to inspire people with my words. I never wanted to be a writer for the sake of being one. In fact, I'm the opposite of what I think a writer and author should be! I'm fairly quiet. Shy. Private. Reserved. So there were moments where I questioned if this was truly my calling. It was Read more of this blog post »
12 likes ·   •  18 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on August 30, 2013 03:11 Tags: author, brown, dream, janice, nadia, purpose, writer, writing
Average rating: 3.93 · 166 ratings · 71 reviews · 2 distinct worksSimilar authors
Unscrambled Eggs

3.88 avg rating — 118 ratings — published 2005 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Becoming: The Life & Musing...

4.04 avg rating — 48 ratings — published 2011 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

So, this is Love? (Poetry)
1 chapters   —   updated Oct 06, 2014 10:24AM
Description: A poem about domestic abuse.
Before I Knew Better (Poetry)
1 chapters   —   updated Dec 14, 2009 10:01PM
Description: A poem from the book Unscrambled Eggs.
“Fear is a bird that refuses to fly, and each time she neglects to use her wings, she consents to the slow death of her destiny.”
Nadia Janice Brown

“What good are dreams if they lie only in closed boxes.”
Nadia Janice Brown, Unscrambled Eggs

“Creativity is the Blue Heron within us waiting to fly; through her imagination, all things become possible.”
Nadia Janice Brown

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Perks Of Bein...: A-Z of Authors! 545 783 Apr 03, 2016 09:56PM  
Goodreads Authors...: * Author List 5913 14781 17 hours, 21 min ago  
“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”
Eleanor Roosevelt

“When power leads man toward arrogance, poetry reminds him of his limitations. When power narrows the area of man's concern, poetry reminds him of the richness and diversity of existence. When power corrupts, poetry cleanses.”
John F. Kennedy

“The desire to reach for the stars is ambitious. The desire to reach hearts is wise.”
Maya Angelou

“A woman's heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her.”
Max Lucado

“The saddest aspect of life right now is that science gathers knowledge faster than society gathers wisdom.”
Isaac Asimov

233 ¡ POETRY ! — 21990 members — last activity 1 hour, 6 min ago
No pretensions: just poetry. Stop by, recommend books, offer up poems (excerpted), tempt us, taunt us, tell us what to read and where to go (to read ...more
6593 Excelling Authors — 1724 members — last activity May 30, 2019 01:25PM
Excelling Authors welcomes all authors and non-authors to this group. Founded in 2008, Excelling Authors was created with the advancement of authors a ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 38444 members — last activity 56 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
9066 Book Trailers (tm) & Author Web Sites — 920 members — last activity Feb 15, 2021 10:45AM
This is the place to discuss the creation and promotion of your "book videos" and "author web sites." ...more
2510 The Reasons Why you wrote your book or books — 669 members — last activity Nov 15, 2020 07:38PM
People write books for many reasons, so why did you write yours?
8255 Tips for Self Promotion, Sales, and Advertising — 2424 members — last activity Nov 27, 2020 04:19AM
Tips from authors for authors. List what works for you and what hasn't. Whether you're selling a few author copies or just trying to get your name out ...more
53 Christian Readers — 5042 members — last activity 3 hours, 41 min ago
This is an open forum for people to discuss Christ-themed books. Whether you'd like to discuss theology, biographies, church history, novels or anythi ...more
3364 Writerpedia — 1286 members — last activity Nov 16, 2020 06:44PM
This is a place to share knowledge. If you are writing and need to know something maybe someone here can give you an answer.
25350 THE JAMES MASON COMMUNITY BOOK CLUB — 6802 members — last activity 6 hours, 29 min ago
ALL GENRE COMMUNITY OF BOOK LOVERS-Perfect for those interested in good books of any genre, film and lively discussion!- from current fiction, thrille ...more
21386 Collection of Authors — 55 members — last activity May 29, 2014 10:29AM
I have found thousands of authors I haven't even heard of, let alone read. I want to read a book by each one, if possible. Join me ...more
More of Nadia’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-37)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 36: by Daniel

Daniel Chamberlayne Hi Nadia!

Passing through your spot showiing you some Hollis, Queens love!

Don't be a stranger...

Daniel


message 35: by Ginger

Ginger Simpson I'm trying to rectify my problem. I have TWO pages. Please come join me at "Gingers" page and be my friend as I'm going to delete this one soon.


message 34: by Laura

Laura Insightunicorn many thanks for the add. and wanting to be friends. hope all is well? many blessings laura


message 33: by Pamela

Pamela Hey Nadia...Thanks for accepting my friend request.


message 32: by Jaree

Jaree Francis Hey, ma. First five chapters free> https://www.smashwords.com/books/view...

- Jay


message 31: by Eugene

Eugene Nadia, I'm also very pleased to meet you. I hope this note finds you well. And may you remain always inspired.


message 30: by Jaree

Jaree Francis "Creativity is the Blue Heron within us waiting to fly; through her imagination, all things become possible." Loved that!

- Jay


Shalonda Williams-McClendon Just stopping by to say thank you for accepting the invite. I do pray that your new year is going great. Peace


message 28: by Ronyell

Ronyell Thanks!! What did you do for New Years? Me and my family were shooting firecrackers all night!


message 27: by Ronyell

Ronyell Hey!!! Happy Late New Year!!! LOL!!!


message 26: by D.A.

D.A. Schneider Hello,

My new book The 9 Ghosts of Samen's Bane is available now at amazon.com. I hope you have a great holiday.

[image error]


message 25: by Katrina

Katrina Burchett It's nice to meet you, too, Nadia. Thanks very much for the add :)


Ramin_lion HAPPY NEW YEAR - 1388
TO ALL MY FRIEND'S (specially my Persian friends)
with the best regards for you

نوروز باستانی نوید دهنده بهار زندگانی بر همگان فرخنده باد
هر روزتان نوروز ؛ نوروزتان پیروز
بهار 1388



message 23: by Jeannie

Jeannie Faulkner Barber Hello Nadia...love the name! Thanks for adding me!
Blessings,
Jeannie


message 22: by Karin

Karin Thanks for the book recommendation. Just Meg sounds great.


Jessie Terwilliger Hi Nadia! Hope all is well.


message 20: by Rita (last edited Jan 29, 2009 11:20AM)

Rita Thanks for your friendship, Nadia! Your Author & Book Promotion website is fantastic.
All best wishes from Rome,
Rita




Edna Little Fish In Running Waters Spring I wooould love to be your friend, Nadia.
You and I have the same person as an Inspiration: Maya Angelou!



message 18: by John

John Wills

Thank you for being a friend and we know a friend is one attached to another by affection or esteem. One that is of the same nation, party, or group that favors or promotes something, which is how we met here. I will just say you’re very special and a highly favored. I would greatly appreciate you’re viewing my webpage to read a full chapter and reviews to which one wrote:

"Not since The Color Purple have I read a book that evoked such emotions. John T. Wills possesses the ability to transport the reader directly into the life and struggles of his main characters story. I was educated in a way that did not afford me the benefit of truly understanding the significance of the historical events taught from a stand alone perspective. This book actually touched my heart and inspired me to increase the equity in my "dash"! Excellent -- Tonja Covington

Wishing you the blessings of peace, joy, and success…
www.justaseason.com



message 17: by Saleh

Saleh Hi.What We Talk About When We Talk About Love?PLZ Answer The Question In My Profile.


Vanda Dien Dear Nadia, Have a blessed Christmas!

[image error]


Ramin_lion Hi Nadia. Thanks so much for the add

درود
شاد شدم ؛ از اينكه دوستي مرا فراخواند
سپاسگزارم
بدرود



message 14: by Letitia

Letitia Nadia, my book is a historical novel titled Heatherstone. It is in the tradition of Jane Austen and Brontes. A romantic tale of mistaken identity, financial ruin, moral dilemmas and the obsession of desire.


Rosemary Thanks so much for adding me. I wish you the best with your lovely poetry!


message 12: by Letitia

Letitia Added your book to my to-read list. I'm really looking forward to it!


message 11: by Robert

Robert Hello Nadia and thank you for the kind request. Good luck with the books!




message 10: by Valerie

Valerie Thanks for the book recommendation--I love true stories about travel.


Eva Marie Hi Nadia! Thanks for the friend request- it's always nice to meet fellow book lovers! :)


message 8: by Roger

Roger Cottrell Hi Nadia,
Wonderful to "add" you as a friend on Goodreads and I would love to know much more about your book promotion initiatibve either here or on my own e-mail which is corkfilms@hotmail.com


Redman Thank you for the friendship!


Vanda Dien Hi Nadia,

thanks for being my friend!

i'm browsing your site and found it informative.

look forward to reading your unscrambled eggs!

ciao,
May


message 4: by Aine

Aine MacAodha Thanks Nadia. :)


message 3: by Aine

Aine MacAodha Hi fellow poet, thanks for finding me, I look forwards to getting to know your work,

Slainte,
Aine


message 2: by Aishe

Aishe Congrats on your first published book! I look forward to reading it!


message 1: by SassyMama (last edited Jul 04, 2008 11:20PM)

SassyMama Hi, Nadia...thanks for the invite into your circle of friends...I enjoyed reading your poems posted on your profile page...congrats on the book...and much continued success to you...looking forward to sharing chats reviews and any/all recommendations...enjoy the rest of your weekend...Happy Reading & Writing :-)


back to top