Mike Reeves-McMillan

more photos (1)


#20 top librarians
#38 best reviewers
#42 top reviewers
L.E. Do...
584 books | 175 friends

J.T.
444 books | 103 friends

J.B. Wise
1,712 books | 58 friends

Blake P...
1,074 books | 318 friends

Beth Cato
1,499 books | 350 friends

Sarah (...
1,921 books | 1,380 friends

Stacey ...
1,582 books | 46 friends

Darusha...
655 books | 156 friends

More friends…

Mike Reeves-McMillan

Goodreads Author


Born
in Auckland, New Zealand
Website

Genre

Influences

Member Since
February 2008

URL


For someone with an English degree, Mike Reeves-McMillan has spent a surprising amount of time wearing a hard hat. He's also studied ritualmaking, hypnotherapy and health science.

He lives in Auckland, New Zealand, the setting of his Auckland Allies contemporary urban fantasy series; and also in his head, where the weather is more reliable, and there are a lot more wizards.

Popular Answered Questions

Mike Reeves-McMillan I particularly enjoy the fact that a lot of the speculation in her speculative fiction is sociological or anthropological, rather than technological.…moreI particularly enjoy the fact that a lot of the speculation in her speculative fiction is sociological or anthropological, rather than technological. It's all too easy to write a future or another world in which people's life experiences and attitudes are almost indistinguishable from those in the place and time you yourself grew up, even though the world is very different. By not doing that, she takes us to worlds that are as strange as... well, Japan, for example.

I also love the beauty of her prose, and how she writes wonderful prose without trying too hard. (less)
Average rating: 4.25 · 598 ratings · 138 reviews · 39 distinct worksSimilar authors
City Of Masks

3.77 avg rating — 44 ratings — published 2006 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Realmgolds (The Gryphon Cle...

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 72 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hand of the Trickster

4.31 avg rating — 26 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Auckland Allies

4.04 avg rating — 27 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Well-Presented Manuscri...

4.67 avg rating — 18 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mister Bucket for Assembly:...

4.65 avg rating — 20 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beastheads

4.47 avg rating — 15 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hope and the Clever Man (Th...

4.54 avg rating — 26 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hope and the Patient Man (T...

4.12 avg rating — 25 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Trickster's Nab (Hand of th...

4.62 avg rating — 13 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Mike Reeves-McMillan…

New Series: Realm Agents

Today I'm launching the first book of my new series, Realm Agents, set in the world of the Gryphon Clerks. (Amazon links in this post are affiliate links.)


I've decided to call it a new series, even though it features characters from earlier books and takes place in the same setting, mainly because it's a genre shift. Really, what it is is intensifying a few elements that were already present; there have been act...links.)


I've

Read more of this blog post »
2 likes ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share twitter circle
Published on November 01, 2019 12:52
Beastheads Realmgolds Hope and the Clever Man Hope and the Patient Man Mister Bucket for Assembly:... Illustrated Gnome News
(6 books)
by
4.23 avg rating — 167 ratings

Auckland Allies Ghost Bridge Unsafe Harbour
(3 books)
by
4.20 avg rating — 44 ratings

Hand of the Trickster Trickster's Nab
(2 books)
by
4.41 avg rating — 39 ratings

Capital Crimes
(3 books)
by
4.25 avg rating — 4 ratings

Something Rich and Strange
(1 book)
by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 3 ratings

More series by Mike Reeves-McMillan…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Endurance: The Co...
Mike is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Soup Book
Mike is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading, bookbub
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Spinning Silver
Mike is currently reading
by Naomi Novik (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Mike’s Recent Updates

Mike rated a book really liked it
The Immortal Conquistador by Carrie Vaughn
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Immortal Conquistador by Carrie Vaughn
The Immortal Conquistador
by Carrie Vaughn (Goodreads Author)
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar
Mike made a comment on his review of Floodtide
Floodtide by Heather Rose Jones
" Thanks - I'll take a look at those. Really, most of the elements were working, and I got the sense of an author who knew her way around a page. It's j ...more "
Mike is currently reading
Endurance by A.C. Spahn
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike is currently reading
The Immortal Conquistador by Carrie Vaughn
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike rated a book liked it
Floodtide by Heather Rose Jones
Floodtide
by Heather Rose Jones (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A very strong beginning and quite a strong ending were let down, for me, by a weak middle, and a viewpoint character who was neither the most interesting person nor the person with the most at stake. These craft missteps brought a well-edited and gen ...more
Mike is currently reading
The Soup Book by Sophie Grigson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike marked as partly-read
Life in a Medieval City by Frances Gies
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike rated a book really liked it
Real World SQL and PL/SQL by Arup Nanda
Rate this book
Clear rating
Some of the early advice is not particularly real-world, and even dangerous to apply in the real world, with toy examples that don't resemble reality at all closely. The section on cursors, in particular, is focused on outlining the functionality rat ...more
More of Mike's books…
“The wrong thing being?” asks Halwaz.
“Closing up their source, of course,” you say, in a tone which implies, “Did you think I was merely talking about their sacrificing small fuzzy animals in an attempt to bring back ancient evil gods?”
Mike Reeves-McMillan, Gu

“Beneath black makeup, the skin around her eyes wrinkled like satin sheets after a restless night.”
Mike Reeves-McMillan, In Memory: A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

“Enkeli shrugged. He was a well-practiced shrugger, and his gesture bore enough casual unconcern for others’ problems to supply an entire elite academy.”
Mike Reeves-McMillan

“If you have enough book space, I don't want to talk to you.”
Terry Pratchett

“Blessings be on this house," Granny said, perfunctorily. It was always a good opening remark for a witch. It concentrated people's minds on what other things might be on this house.”
Terry Pratchett, Witches Abroad

“There isn't a way things should be. There's just what happens, and what we do.”
Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky

“Using a metaphor in front of a man as unimaginative as Ridcully was like a
red flag to a bu... was like putting something very annoying in front of
someone who was annoyed by it.”
Terry Pratchett, Lords and Ladies

“What's a philosopher?' said Brutha.
Someone who's bright enough to find a job with no heavy lifting,' said a voice in his head.”
Terry Pratchett, Small Gods

28367 Steampunk, New Weird, Bizarro, Scifi, Fantasy Book Group — 1982 members — last activity Aug 11, 2019 07:26PM
This Group is for a wide range of readers. Those who are already into Fantasy, Scifi, Steampunk, New Weird and Bizzaro. Or those that are just branchi ...more
6181 Goodreads Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors — 2036 members — last activity Nov 15, 2019 10:43AM
Either you write it, Read it, But you must LOVE IT! DISCUSS!
60696 Making Connections — 12228 members — last activity 4 hours, 18 min ago
Over 1000 books listed to Read & Review.....come join us. This is a place for Authors, Bloggers, Publishers, Reviewers, Book Tours, Giveaways, and Int ...more
49507 Steampunk Reads — 1934 members — last activity Oct 28, 2019 08:13PM
What is steampunk? Steampunk is Victorian science fiction or "Steampunk" is the science-fiction of the Steam Age; the Industrial Revolution re-imagin ...more
74205 The Indie Bookshelf — 1682 members — last activity Nov 10, 2019 02:34PM
We are a group of avid readers and bloggers who review independent author's books. We offer our services free of charge and sincerely wish to bring mo ...more
2092 Kiwi Readers — 246 members — last activity Sep 09, 2017 11:59PM
Find out what people are reading in Aotearoa New Zealand.
72538 The Steampunk, Cyberpunk, and Other Fictitious and Non-Fictitious Works Group — 146 members — last activity Mar 16, 2017 11:27AM
We like fictional books, although we may read some non-fictions. If you like the Victorian ages or speculative fiction, there will probably be a lot o ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 214 members — last activity Oct 31, 2019 02:41AM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
21193 Book Excerpts — 304 members — last activity Feb 21, 2019 06:49AM
A group where authors can post excerpts of their books and links to where people can purchase them.
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 30932 members — last activity 4 hours, 17 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
More of Mike’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.