Mike Reeves-McMillan

more photos (1)


#15 top librarians
#37 best reviewers
year in books
Ronda B...
633 books | 1,312 friends

Maria
517 books | 213 friends

Sandeep
1,396 books | 313 friends

Sarah (...
1,971 books | 1,377 friends

Samanth...
10,787 books | 424 friends

Meera
1,668 books | 36 friends

Beth Cato
1,657 books | 359 friends

Patrici...
366 books | 812 friends

More friends…

Mike Reeves-McMillan

Goodreads Author


Born
in Auckland, New Zealand
Website

Genre

Influences

Member Since
February 2008

URL


For someone with an English degree, Mike Reeves-McMillan has spent a surprising amount of time wearing a hard hat.

He lives in Auckland, New Zealand, the setting of his Auckland Allies contemporary urban fantasy series; and also in his head, where the weather is more reliable, and there are a lot more wizards.

Popular Answered Questions

Mike Reeves-McMillan I particularly enjoy the fact that a lot of the speculation in her speculative fiction is sociological or anthropological, rather than technological. …moreI particularly enjoy the fact that a lot of the speculation in her speculative fiction is sociological or anthropological, rather than technological. It's all too easy to write a future or another world in which people's life experiences and attitudes are almost indistinguishable from those in the place and time you yourself grew up, even though the world is very different. By not doing that, she takes us to worlds that are as strange as... well, Japan, for example.

I also love the beauty of her prose, and how she writes wonderful prose without trying too hard. (less)
Average rating: 4.24 · 632 ratings · 138 reviews · 43 distinct worksSimilar authors
City Of Masks

3.74 avg rating — 47 ratings — published 2006 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Realmgolds (The Gryphon Cle...

3.99 avg rating — 71 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hand of the Trickster

4.32 avg rating — 25 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Well-Presented Manuscri...

4.70 avg rating — 20 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Auckland Allies

4.04 avg rating — 27 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mister Bucket for Assembly:...

4.65 avg rating — 20 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beastheads

4.50 avg rating — 16 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hope and the Clever Man: A ...

4.56 avg rating — 25 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hope and the Patient Man (T...

4.13 avg rating — 24 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Trickster's Nab (Hand of th...

4.67 avg rating — 12 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Mike Reeves-McMillan…

Sensawunda!

So, since my last post, I've started on the first book of the Institute Arcane series. Working title is Novices.


And my thinking on the setting has developed. I said in the previous post that when I came up with the idea of the magical Great Work being a network of canals, I felt like it maybe should be something with more sensawunda. Well, Fred (Damon Knight's name for the subconscious assistant t

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on November 22, 2020 12:57
Beastheads Realmgolds Hope and the Clever Man: A ... Hope and the Patient Man Mister Bucket for Assembly:... Illustrated Gnome News
(6 books)
by
4.23 avg rating — 169 ratings

Auckland Allies Ghost Bridge Unsafe Harbour
(3 books)
by
4.20 avg rating — 44 ratings

Hand of the Trickster Trickster's Nab
(2 books)
by
4.43 avg rating — 37 ratings

Capital Crimes: A Realm Age... Underground War
(3 books)
by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 5 ratings

Something Rich and Strange
(1 book)
by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 3 ratings

More series by Mike Reeves-McMillan…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Fate Accompli
Mike is currently reading
by Keith R. Fentonmiller (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Fanny Burney and ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Mike’s Recent Updates

Mike is currently reading
Fate Accompli by Keith R. Fentonmiller
Fate Accompli
by Keith R. Fentonmiller (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike added a status update: Just posted my Best of 2020 list: http://mikerm.blogspot.com/2021/01/to...

A record 32 books on this year's list; a good many fantasy heists, for some reason, and lots of noblebright characters battling to do the right thing in dark worlds.
Mike has read
A Dead Djinn in Cairo by P. Djèlí Clark
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike and 3 other people liked Bandit's review of A Master of Djinn:
A Master of Djinn by P. Djèlí Clark
" Note to self…always, always check the page count. But, to be fair, why wouldn’t you expect the third Agent Fatma adventure to be something other than a novella. The first book in the series was maybe 50 pages and the second one was less than 150. An" Read more of this review »
Super Powereds by Drew  Hayes
"I have mixed feelings about this book. The fact that it was originally written as serial shows when you read it all in one go. It leads to some strange pacing for a novel, where the big fight that comes at the end isn't even foreshadowed in the rest " Read more of this review »
Mike and 32 other people liked Jheurf's review of Super Powereds: Year 1:
Super Powereds by Drew  Hayes
"It was a slog, but I did finish it, because there was a good story in there. It was just buried under bad metaphors, stilted phrasings, unneeded modifiers (cool wet river water?) and just awful attempts at wry humour, all making for an overly long bo" Read more of this review »
Mike marked as partly-read
Super Powereds by Drew  Hayes
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike wants to read
Roger Zelazny by F. Brett Cox
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike rated a book really liked it
A Master of Djinn by P. Djèlí Clark
Rate this book
Clear rating
A strong adventure story with a postcolonial sensibility; the stupid/nasty English people approach the status of caricatures, but unfortunately are probably pretty accurate.

I've read a previous story with the same main character, and enjoyed it, so
...more
Mike rated a book liked it
Sense and Scent Ability by Renee George
Rate this book
Clear rating
A mediocre example of a genre that, in my experience, tends to mediocrity. The mystery is largely progressed through the main character's unexplained superpower, but the solution ends up basically being dropped in her lap anyway. The romance subplot ...more
More of Mike's books…
“The wrong thing being?” asks Halwaz.
“Closing up their source, of course,” you say, in a tone which implies, “Did you think I was merely talking about their sacrificing small fuzzy animals in an attempt to bring back ancient evil gods?”
Mike Reeves-McMillan, Gu

“Beneath black makeup, the skin around her eyes wrinkled like satin sheets after a restless night.”
Mike Reeves-McMillan, In Memory: A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

“Enkeli shrugged. He was a well-practiced shrugger, and his gesture bore enough casual unconcern for others’ problems to supply an entire elite academy.”
Mike Reeves-McMillan, In Memory: A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

“If you have enough book space, I don't want to talk to you.”
Terry Pratchett

“Blessings be on this house," Granny said, perfunctorily. It was always a good opening remark for a witch. It concentrated people's minds on what other things might be on this house.”
Terry Pratchett, Witches Abroad

“There isn't a way things should be. There's just what happens, and what we do.”
Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky

“Using a metaphor in front of a man as unimaginative as Ridcully was like a
red flag to a bu... was like putting something very annoying in front of
someone who was annoyed by it.”
Terry Pratchett, Lords and Ladies

“What's a philosopher?' said Brutha.
Someone who's bright enough to find a job with no heavy lifting,' said a voice in his head.”
Terry Pratchett, Small Gods

28367 Steampunk, New Weird, Bizarro, Scifi, Fantasy Book Group — 1972 members — last activity Jan 05, 2021 07:00PM
This Group is for a wide range of readers. Those who are already into Fantasy, Scifi, Steampunk, New Weird and Bizzaro. Or those that are just branchi ...more
6181 Goodreads Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors — 2081 members — last activity 12 hours, 18 min ago
Either you write it, Read it, But you must LOVE IT! DISCUSS!
49507 Steampunk Reads — 1927 members — last activity Jan 09, 2021 02:00PM
What is steampunk? Steampunk is Victorian science fiction or "Steampunk" is the science-fiction of the Steam Age; the Industrial Revolution re-i ...more
2092 Kiwi Readers — 248 members — last activity Jun 16, 2020 06:17PM
Find out what people are reading in Aotearoa New Zealand.
74205 The Indie Bookshelf — 1731 members — last activity Dec 23, 2020 02:00PM
We are a group of avid readers and bloggers who review independent author's books. We offer our services free of charge and sincerely wish to bring mo ...more
72538 The Steampunk, Cyberpunk, and Other Fictitious and Non-Fictitious Works Group — 146 members — last activity Mar 16, 2017 04:27AM
We like fictional books, although we may read some non-fictions. If you like the Victorian ages or speculative fiction, there will probably be a lot o ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 213 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
46509 Book Loving Kiwis — 1044 members — last activity 34 minutes ago
A group for New Zealand book lovers (and authors) and lovers of New Zealand books (and books in general). A place to share what we are reading, introd ...more
21193 Book Excerpts — 304 members — last activity Feb 20, 2019 10:49PM
A group where authors can post excerpts of their books and links to where people can purchase them.
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 37630 members — last activity 1 hour, 42 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
More of Mike’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.