Mike Reeves-McMillan

more photos (1)


#37 top librarians
#37 best reviewers
year in books
Darusha...
754 books | 163 friends

Beth Cato
1,695 books | 359 friends

R.A. De...
870 books | 126 friends

Maria
518 books | 214 friends

Lawrenc...
1,413 books | 1,690 friends

Sandeep
1,431 books | 316 friends

R.J. Blain
84 books | 223 friends

Todd Fo...
485 books | 438 friends

More friends…

Mike Reeves-McMillan

Goodreads Author


Born
in Auckland, New Zealand
Website

Genre

Influences

Member Since
February 2008

URL


For someone with an English degree, Mike Reeves-McMillan has spent a surprising amount of time wearing a hard hat.

He lives in Auckland, New Zealand, the setting of his Auckland Allies contemporary urban fantasy series; and also in his head, where the weather is more reliable, and there are a lot more wizards.

Popular Answered Questions

Mike Reeves-McMillan I particularly enjoy the fact that a lot of the speculation in her speculative fiction is sociological or anthropological, rather than technological. …moreI particularly enjoy the fact that a lot of the speculation in her speculative fiction is sociological or anthropological, rather than technological. It's all too easy to write a future or another world in which people's life experiences and attitudes are almost indistinguishable from those in the place and time you yourself grew up, even though the world is very different. By not doing that, she takes us to worlds that are as strange as... well, Japan, for example.

I also love the beauty of her prose, and how she writes wonderful prose without trying too hard. (less)
Average rating: 4.25 · 648 ratings · 140 reviews · 44 distinct worksSimilar authors
City Of Masks

3.74 avg rating — 47 ratings — published 2006 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Realmgolds (The Gryphon Cle...

3.99 avg rating — 73 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hand of the Trickster

4.32 avg rating — 25 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Well-Presented Manuscri...

4.70 avg rating — 20 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Auckland Allies

4.04 avg rating — 27 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mister Bucket for Assembly:...

4.65 avg rating — 20 ratings3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beastheads

4.50 avg rating — 16 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hope and the Clever Man: A ...

4.56 avg rating — 25 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hope and the Patient Man (T...

4.13 avg rating — 24 ratings — published 2014 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Trickster's Nab (Hand of th...

4.67 avg rating — 12 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Mike Reeves-McMillan…

Where Next for Mike’s Writing?

I've been in a writing slump lately.

Health issues starting in November have put me out of the habit of regular writing, and I've not made much progress on the books I was working on. Auckland Allies 4 still needs a polish-up before it's ready to be published, and although I'm 20,000 words into the first book in my new Arcanists setting, it's tough going, and I'm not really feeling it. I think I've

Read more of this blog post »
1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on February 21, 2021 16:37
Beastheads Realmgolds Hope and the Clever Man: A ... Hope and the Patient Man Mister Bucket for Assembly:... Illustrated Gnome News
(6 books)
by
4.23 avg rating — 171 ratings

Auckland Allies Ghost Bridge Unsafe Harbour
(4 books)
by
4.20 avg rating — 44 ratings

Hand of the Trickster Trickster's Nab
(2 books)
by
4.43 avg rating — 37 ratings

Capital Crimes: A Realm Age... Underground War
(3 books)
by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 5 ratings

Something Rich and Strange
(1 book)
by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 3 ratings

More series by Mike Reeves-McMillan…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Thousand Deat...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Mike’s Recent Updates

Mike started reading
The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn by Tyler Whitesides
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike rated a book really liked it
A Grimoire for Gamblers by Amanda Creiglow
Rate this book
Clear rating
A cut above the usual made-from-box-mix urban fantasy, with a sensible, capable (sometimes to the point of ruthlessness) protagonist. It's darker than I really prefer, with a number of tragic deaths of innocents that the protagonist has some unintent ...more
Mike rated a book it was amazing
The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep by H.G. Parry
Rate this book
Clear rating
I thoroughly enjoyed this, for a few reasons.

First of all, it's wonderfully literate, and not just in the sense that the author is well-read and draws on lots of literature for her central concept. The prose is highly competent, the kind that I can
...more
Mike started reading
A Grimoire for Gamblers by Amanda Creiglow
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi
"There are some YA novels that are capable of hooking adult audiences as well as their target readers. This... is not one of them. I found it incoherently shallow on every level. This is a novel about illusions and things not being what they seem, whi" Read more of this review »
The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi
"
Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || Pinterest


Here we freaking go again. Once more the Conductor of Crushed Dreams and Disappointment™ has seen fit to kick me off the YA Hype Train. Most of my friends were singing this book's praises, an" Read more of this review »
Mike marked as partly-read
The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike wants to read
The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn by Tyler Whitesides
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mike marked as partly-read
Pemberley by Maria Grace
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Mike's books…
“The wrong thing being?” asks Halwaz.
“Closing up their source, of course,” you say, in a tone which implies, “Did you think I was merely talking about their sacrificing small fuzzy animals in an attempt to bring back ancient evil gods?”
Mike Reeves-McMillan, Gu

“Beneath black makeup, the skin around her eyes wrinkled like satin sheets after a restless night.”
Mike Reeves-McMillan, In Memory: A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

“Enkeli shrugged. He was a well-practiced shrugger, and his gesture bore enough casual unconcern for others’ problems to supply an entire elite academy.”
Mike Reeves-McMillan, In Memory: A Tribute to Sir Terry Pratchett

“If you have enough book space, I don't want to talk to you.”
Terry Pratchett

“Blessings be on this house," Granny said, perfunctorily. It was always a good opening remark for a witch. It concentrated people's minds on what other things might be on this house.”
Terry Pratchett, Witches Abroad

“There isn't a way things should be. There's just what happens, and what we do.”
Terry Pratchett, A Hat Full of Sky

“Using a metaphor in front of a man as unimaginative as Ridcully was like a
red flag to a bu... was like putting something very annoying in front of
someone who was annoyed by it.”
Terry Pratchett, Lords and Ladies

“What's a philosopher?' said Brutha.
Someone who's bright enough to find a job with no heavy lifting,' said a voice in his head.”
Terry Pratchett, Small Gods

28367 Steampunk, New Weird, Bizarro, Scifi, Fantasy Book Group — 1965 members — last activity Jan 05, 2021 07:00PM
This Group is for a wide range of readers. Those who are already into Fantasy, Scifi, Steampunk, New Weird and Bizzaro. Or those that are just branchi ...more
6181 Goodreads Sci-Fi/Fantasy Authors — 2083 members — last activity May 03, 2021 06:43AM
Either you write it, Read it, But you must LOVE IT! DISCUSS!
49507 Steampunk Reads — 1925 members — last activity Apr 08, 2021 07:39PM
What is steampunk? Steampunk is Victorian science fiction or "Steampunk" is the science-fiction of the Steam Age; the Industrial Revolution re-i ...more
2092 Kiwi Readers — 248 members — last activity Jun 16, 2020 06:17PM
Find out what people are reading in Aotearoa New Zealand.
74205 The Indie Bookshelf — 1745 members — last activity Apr 10, 2021 02:14AM
We are a group of avid readers and bloggers who review independent author's books. We offer our services free of charge and sincerely wish to bring mo ...more
72538 The Steampunk, Cyberpunk, and Other Fictitious and Non-Fictitious Works Group — 146 members — last activity Mar 16, 2017 04:27AM
We like fictional books, although we may read some non-fictions. If you like the Victorian ages or speculative fiction, there will probably be a lot o ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 215 members — last activity Sep 14, 2020 02:58PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers ar ...more
46509 Book Loving Kiwis — 1069 members — last activity May 15, 2021 04:47PM
A group for New Zealand book lovers (and authors) and lovers of New Zealand books (and books in general). A place to share what we are reading, introd ...more
21193 Book Excerpts — 303 members — last activity Feb 20, 2019 10:49PM
A group where authors can post excerpts of their books and links to where people can purchase them.
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 39610 members — last activity 26 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
More of Mike’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.