Laurie Lisle

Goodreads Author


Born
Providence, RI, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
May 2013

URL



Laurie Lisle's most recent book is her forthcoming memoir, Word for Word: A Writer's Life.

BookLife says "This unconventional memoir details one accomplished woman writer's dedication to developing her voice. It's great for fans of Vivian Gornick's Fierce Attachments and Rebecca Solnit's Recollections of My Nonexistence."

Laurie began her professional life as a journalist then became a biographer before beginning to write in the first person.

She wrote the initial biographies of two women artists, Georgia O'Keeffe and Louise Nevelson. She has also written books about childlessness, gardening, and the small girls' high school, where she decided to become a writer.

Her best-selling biography of O'Keeffe, Portrait of an Artist, which was fir
...more

To ask Laurie Lisle questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Laurie Lisle When the ideas and words do not come, it's best to be patient and explore your interests and read widely until they do.…moreWhen the ideas and words do not come, it's best to be patient and explore your interests and read widely until they do.(less)
Laurie Lisle The best thing is being able to follow and write about your deepest interests and desires, the topics that fascinate and excite you. Also, I love to w…moreThe best thing is being able to follow and write about your deepest interests and desires, the topics that fascinate and excite you. Also, I love to write at home.(less)
Average rating: 4.08 · 2,189 ratings · 165 reviews · 6 distinct worksSimilar authors
Portrait of an Artist: A Bi...

4.12 avg rating — 2,012 ratings — published 1980 — 18 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Four Tenths of an Acre: Ref...

3.27 avg rating — 74 ratings — published 2005 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Without Child: Challenging ...

3.53 avg rating — 45 ratings — published 1996 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Louise Nevelson: A Passiona...

3.98 avg rating — 47 ratings — published 1990 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Westover: Giving Girls a Pl...

4.13 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2009 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Word for Word: A Writer’s Life

3.33 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Laurie Lisle…

When Writing About Others

Perhaps the most problematic part about writing a memoir is writing about others, dead and alive. Especially alive.

What to do? You can drop names and change names. You can express yourself extremely carefully. You can be absolutely sure of your facts. You can get liability insurance.

The problem is usually more daunting at the beginning than at the end of writing a memoir.

What I and other memoirist Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Share on Twitter
Published on April 19, 2021 08:36 Tags: laurie-lisle, memoir

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Laurie’s Recent Updates

Laurie Lisle rated a book it was amazing
Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

Hamnet is a luminous imaginary tale about a family based on the real one of William Shakespeare. It has a lovely mysterious quality: the name "William" is never used to name the playwright, and we don't know until the end that Hamnet's last name is S
...more
Laurie Lisle rated a book it was amazing
Here We Are by Benjamin Taylor
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is a wonderful short memoir about the author's friendship with the famed writer. Benjamin Taylor is an intelligent and insightful writer who evokes how much the friendship meant to him. "You have been the joy of my life," he says to the dying Ro ...more
Laurie Lisle rated a book really liked it
Women & Power by Mary Beard
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is an erudite look at women's powerlessness in history and the present by an English classical scholar. She defines power as "the ability to be effective, to make a difference... and the right to be taken seriously."
Her references to silenced an
...more
Laurie Lisle rated a book really liked it
Women & Power by Mary Beard
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is an erudite look at women's powerlessness in history and the present by an English classical scholar. She defines power as "the ability to be effective, to make a difference... and the right to be taken seriously."
Her references to silenced an
...more
Laurie Lisle is accepting questions on her profile page.
Laurie Lisle rated a book really liked it
Kafka Was the Rage by Anatole Broyard
Rate this book
Clear rating

Broyard's witty observations are a delight. It's interesting to read about his exploits with women and his explanations about sex and love from a male point-of-view. He shows how he and his friends were influenced by Greenwich Village in the years r
...more
Laurie Lisle rated a book liked it
The Power Notebooks by Katie Roiphe
Rate this book
Clear rating
Katie Roiphe decided to do something different in this book from what she did in her other published writings: instead of arguing and taking stands, she has published an account of her "uncertainties, doubts, shifts," mostly in relationships with men ...more
Laurie Lisle rated a book really liked it
A Life of My Own by Claire Tomalin
Rate this book
Clear rating
When I read English biographer Claire Tomalin's moving memoir, I noticed startling similarities in our lives as writers. We both moved from journalism to biography to memoir. Also, we both were deeply affected by patriarchal expectations, our mothers ...more
Laurie Lisle rated a book really liked it
Recollections of My Nonexistence by Rebecca Solnit
Rate this book
Clear rating

A lovely memoir with thoughtful digressions about her journey as a writer and activist in California. It was disturbing to read about her struggles as a young woman writer but heartening to watch her evolve and come into her own and recognize, as a
...more
Laurie Lisle rated a book really liked it
Recollections of My Nonexistence by Rebecca Solnit
Rate this book
Clear rating

A lovely memoir with thoughtful digressions about her journey as a writer and activist in California. It was disturbing to read about her struggles as a young woman writer but heartening to watch her evolve and come into her own and recognize, as a
...more
More of Laurie's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Seasonal Read...: Fall Challenge 2011: Reading Plans 53 314 Oct 25, 2011 08:07PM  
The Seasonal Read...: Winter Challenge 2011: Reading Plans 45 319 Jan 17, 2012 08:52PM  
The Seasonal Read...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Winter Challenge 2011: Completed Tasks -DO NOT DELETE ANY POSTS IN THIS TOPIC 2895 738 Feb 29, 2012 09:03PM  
500 Great Books B...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Nonfiction Varieties 4 127 Sep 20, 2014 08:07PM  
500 Great Books B...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Decades, Centuries, and Millenia 8 290 Dec 06, 2014 09:46PM  
The History Book ...: * PAINTING 153 426 Jun 13, 2020 07:18AM  
57685 Memoir Authors — 1121 members — last activity May 17, 2021 07:49AM
A group for those who have written or are busy writing a memoir - let's share experiences. ...more



No comments have been added yet.