Jennifer Rockwell

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Jennifer.

http://www.jenniferrockwell.com
http://www.goodreads.com/JenniferRockwell

Add as a Friend Follow Reviews   Send Message | Compare Books


It Can't Happen Here
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
A Pig in Provence...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
A Thousand Mornings
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
See all 10 books that Jennifer is reading…

Jennifer’s Recent Updates

Jennifer Rockwell started reading
It Can't Happen Here by Sinclair Lewis
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Rockwell rated a book it was amazing
The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
The Hobbit
by J.R.R. Tolkien
recommended to Jennifer Rockwell by: My mother read it aloud to me as a girl
recommended for: children and adults
Rate this book
Clear rating
A perennial favorite. Who among us can forget Bilbo Baggins' journey across Middle-earth?

A mild-mannered shire-dwelling hobbit voyages finds himself on an epic quest for treasure with Gandalf the wizard, the dwarven King Under the Mountain, Thorin O
...more
Jennifer Rockwell rated a book liked it
Three Plays by Mae West by Lillian Schlissel
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Rockwell rated a book really liked it
For a Song and a Hundred Songs by Liao Yiwu
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Rockwell rated a book liked it
Dagon by Fred Chappell
Dagon
by Fred Chappell
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
A worthy psychological horror story in the tradition of Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House and H.P. Lovecraft's Dagon.

The physical, philosophical, psychological and religious themes are all creepily mingled. While at times the language is
...more
Jennifer Rockwell is currently reading
A Pig in Provence by Georgeanne Brennan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Rockwell is currently reading
A Thousand Mornings by Mary Oliver
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Rockwell is currently reading
E-Myth Mastery by Michael E. Gerber
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Rockwell is currently reading
A Few Figs from Thistles by Edna St. Vincent Millay
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jennifer Rockwell finished reading
Three Plays by Mae West by Lillian Schlissel
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Jennifer's books…
Stephen King
“If you intend to write as truthfully as you can, your days as a member of polite society are numbered.”
Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

Malcolm X
“Despite my firm convictions, I have been always a man who tries to face facts, and to accept the reality of life as new experience and new knowledge unfolds it. I have always kept an open mind, which is necessary to the flexibility that must go hand in hand with every form of intelligent search for truth.”
Malcolm X, The Autobiography of Malcolm X

Walt Whitman
“I believe in you my soul, the other I am must not abase itself to you,
And you must not be abased to the other.

Loaf with me on the grass, loose the stop from your throat,
Not words, not music or rhyme I want, not custom or lecture, not even the best,
Only the lull I like, the hum of your valved voice.

I mind how once we lay such a transparent summer morning,
How you settled your head athwart my hips, and gently turned over upon me,
And parted the shirt from my bosom bone, and plunged your tongue to my bare-stripped heart,
And reached till you felt my beard, and reached till you held my feet.

Swiftly arose and spread around me the peace and knowledge that pass all the argument of the earth,
And I know that the hand of God is the promise of my own,
And I know that the spirit of God is the brother of my own,
And that all the men ever born are also my brothers, and the women my sisters and lovers,
And that a kelson of the creation is love,
And limitless are leaves stiff or drooping in the fields,
And brown ants in the little wells beneath them,
And mossy scabs of the worm fence, heaped stones, elder, mullein and pokeweed.”
Walt Whitman

Katherine Mansfield
“Risk! Risk anything! Care no more for the opinions of others, for those voices. Do the hardest thing on earth for you. Act for yourself. Face the truth.”
Katherine Mansfield

Lloyd Alexander
“Fantasy is hardly an escape from reality. It's a way of understanding it.”
Lloyd Alexander

46928 The Bookhouse Boys — 82 members — last activity Dec 01, 2016 09:10AM
Hatched from the The Bookhouse Boys podcast, this is the group for the lover of classic and modern literature, a community made for discussion of all ...more
1 Goodreads Feedback — 22160 members — last activity 48 minutes ago
This is a place to give feedback about Goodreads. Feature ideas, bugs, or any other suggestion for improvement. The Goodreads staff monitors this grou ...more
31817 Graywolf Press — 352 members — last activity Oct 18, 2014 09:26PM
An instinct for great books since 1974.
67106 Black Balloon Publishing — 81 members — last activity Aug 28, 2013 08:03AM
Black Balloon Publishing is an independent press with both print and digital distribution channels, headquartered in New York, NY. We've published lit ...more
178481 The GoodBook Club — 1815 members — last activity Jan 15, 2017 05:59PM
Hello everyone, So we at Penguin Random House Canada have a conundrum. We're maxed out a 5000 friends and can't add anymore faces to our GoodReads fam ...more
More of Jennifer’s groups…
ReemK10...
151 books | 141 friends

Penguin...
378 books | 4,996 friends

House o...
1,817 books | 1,310 friends

Jane Go...
358 books | 2,470 friends

Matthew...
22 books | 1,918 friends

Cara Ad...
23 books | 1,082 friends

Charles...
49 books | 741 friends

Michael
873 books | 6,362 friends

More friends…

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
158 (0.1%)

correct:
153 (96.8%)

skipped:
15 (8.7%)

87058 out of 1333378

streak:
27

best streak:
27

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by Jennifer

Lists liked by Jennifer