Sophie’s Profile

761 ratings (3.55 avg)
249 reviews
Goodreads librarian
more photos (1)

#3 top librarians
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Sophie.

The World of Ice ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

  (page 175 of 326)
Jun 21, 2015 08:36PM

Storm Breaking
Rate this book
Clear rating

"YAAAAAS TARMA." Dec 01, 2014 01:53PM


Sophie's Recent Updates

Sophie voted for The Royal We as Best Fiction in the Final Round of the 2015 Goodreads Choice Awards.
The Royal We by Heather Cocks
Sophie entered a giveaway
My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sophie voted for All the Rage as Best Young Adult Fiction in the Semifinal Round of the 2015 Goodreads Choice Awards.
All the Rage by Courtney Summers
Lafayette in the Somewhat United States by Sarah Vowell
"A fantastically funny, wry, and insightful look into the American Revolution, as seen through the lens of one uber-patriot, Lafayette. What Vowell does best is tie the past with the present, arguing we Americans have been at odds with one another..." Read more of this review »
Sophie voted for 2 books on the list Best Lesbian Fiction
Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden
The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
Vote on this list »
Sophie and 2 other people liked Beth's review of Carry On:
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
"Utterly enchanting. I have to say, I'd rather hang out with Simon, Baz, Penelope, and Agatha at Watford than Harry, Hermione, and the rest of the Hogwarts gang. Rainbow Rowell gives an authentic teen voice to wizards, of all people, and mixes in a..." Read more of this review »
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
"I'm not sure how to star this? Because it's beautifully written but I sure didn't enjoy myself much - ya know? But I'm absolutely going on to the second book, so there's that!"
Sophie rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
The Traitor Baru Cormorant
by Seth Dickinson (Goodreads Author)
recommended to Sophie by: Sunil
recommended for: Fans of Megan Whalen Turner and N.K. Jemisin
read in October, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Um wow I am not okay


Like. There are a lot of interesting things to say about this book. But right now I need to just curl up in a little ball and process what I just read. WHY YOU
The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
" Great review. "
Sophie liked a quote
The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
“Freedom granted by your rulers is just a chain with a little slack.”
Seth Dickinson
More of Sophie's books…
George Eliot
“It is never too late to be what you might have been.”
George Eliot

Howard Zinn
“TO BE HOPEFUL in bad times is not just foolishly romantic. It is based on the fact that human history is a history not only of cruelty, but also of compassion, sacrifice, courage, kindness.
What we choose to emphasize in this complex history will determine our lives. If we see only the worst, it destroys our capacity to do something. If we remember those times and places—and there are so many—where people have behaved magnificently, this gives us the energy to act, and at least the possibility of sending this spinning top of a world in a different direction.
And if we do act, in however small a way, we don’t have to wait for some grand utopian future. The future is an infinite succession of presents, and to live now as we think human beings should live, in defiance of all that is bad around us, is itself a marvelous victory.”
Howard Zinn

J.K. Rowling
“I enjoyed the meetings, too. It was like having friends.”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Rainer Maria Rilke
“Perhaps all the dragons in our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us act, just once, with beauty and courage. Perhaps everything that frightens us is, in its deepest essence, something helpless that wants our love.”
Rainer Maria Rilke, Letters to a Young Poet

May Sarton
“We have to dare to be ourselves, however frightening or strange that self may prove to be.”
May Sarton

1 Goodreads Feedback — 18529 members — last activity 30 minutes ago
This is a place to give feedback about Goodreads. Feature ideas, bugs, or any other suggestion for improvement. The Goodreads staff monitors this grou ...more
185 What's The Name of That Book??? — 18358 members — last activity 1 minute ago
Can't remember the title of a book you read a while back? Come search our archives and shelves, and if we haven't already solved for your book, post a ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 55297 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
4738 Rothfussians — 3081 members — last activity Nov 19, 2015 10:48AM
Patrick Rothfuss needs a group! For fantasy fans and anyone that appreciates beautifully written books. Discuss The Name of the Wind, Th ...more
43519 readers advisory for all — 3173 members — last activity 2 hours, 33 min ago
life's too short to read crappy books. this is why readers' advisory exists. feel free to join if you are looking for "a book like____" or "a book tha ...more
More of Sophie’s groups…
2,296 books | 203 friends

1,882 books | 313 friends

317 books | 30 friends

1,800 books | 314 friends

642 books | 67 friends

415 books | 55 friends

Amy McN...
236 books | 252 friends

Steven ...
392 books | 16 friends

More friends…

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
4593 (2.0%)

3702 (80.6%)

1825 (28.4%)

2163 out of 3626407


best streak:

questions added:

Polls voted on by Sophie

Lists liked by Sophie