Jillian

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Jillian.

http://www.goodreads.com/JillianGS

Add as a Friend Follow Reviews   Send Message | Compare Books





Pocket Muse 2: En...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Wonderbook: The I...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
See all 7 books that Jillian is reading…

Jillian’s Recent Updates

Jillian wants to read
Priestdaddy by Patricia Lockwood
Priestdaddy
by Patricia Lockwood (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jillian wants to read
The Glass Town Game by Catherynne M. Valente
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jillian entered a giveaway
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
by Mackenzi Lee (Goodreads Author)
5 copies available, ends on May 31, 2017 Enter to win »
Jillian rated a book it was amazing
Liar & Spy by Rebecca Stead
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rebecca Stead's books have so much quirk and heart; I just can't get over them. The mysteries in this one are at the right level for the intended age group, and the humor is spot on for all. I would wholeheartedly recommend this to pretty much any ki ...more
Jillian and 1171 other people liked Rick Riordan's review of Between the World and Me:
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
"I'm not sure what compelled me to pick up this book, but that's true of many books I read. I simply felt like it was something I needed to read at that moment, and I'm very glad I did.

Between the World and Me is written as a letter/essay from Coat..." Read more of this review »
Jillian rated a book liked it
The Victorian Celebration of Death by James Stevens Curl
Rate this book
Clear rating
I end up reading strange things while killing time at the library (pardon the pun). The information about funereal traditions and Victorian culture was quite interesting, though I ended up skimming the drier sections on land sales, business, and arch ...more
Jillian wants to read
Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jillian rated a book it was amazing
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Not just important and timely, but well done all around. It balances multiple issues effortlessly and Starr's voice is ideal and so alive. I feel more viscerally aware of what I (thought I) knew about privilege, poverty, and racism. This story is a g ...more
Jillian wants to read
Unruly Places by Alastair Bonnett
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jillian rated a book it was amazing
Gilded Cage by Vic James
Gilded Cage (Dark Gifts #1)
by Vic James (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A fantastic political fantasy in the tradition of The Winner's Curse or Graceling, but with its own unique (and delightfully British) tone and world. There were one or two pieces that didn't quite fit for me, but on the whole I found it utterly capti ...more
More of Jillian's books…
Lemony Snicket
“Fate is like a strange, unpopular restaurant filled with odd little waiters who bring you things you never asked for and don't always like.”
Lemony Snicket

Oscar Wilde
“Actors are so fortunate. They can choose whether they will appear in tragedy or in comedy, whether they will suffer or make merry, laugh or shed tears. But in real life it is different. Most men and women are forced to perform parts for which they have no qualifications. Our Guildensterns play Hamlet for us, and our Hamlets have to jest like Prince Hal. The world is a stage, but the play is badly cast.”
Oscar Wilde, Lord Arthur Savile's Crime and Other Stories

Jeffrey Eugenides
“We could never understand why the girls cared so much about being mature, or why they felt compelled to compliment each other, but sometimes, after one of us had read a long portion of the diary out loud, we had to fight back the urge to hug one another or tell each other how pretty we were. We felt the imprisonment of being a girl, the way it made your mind active and dreamy, and how you ended up knowing which colors went together. We knew that the girls were our twins, that we allexisted in space like animals with identical skins, and that they knew everything about us though we couldn'y fathom them at all. We knew finally that the girls were really woman in diquise, that they understood love even death, and that our job was merely to create the noise that seemed to fascinate them.”
Jeffrey Eugenides, The Virgin Suicides

Neil Gaiman
“When you reach the little house, the place your journey started,

you will recognize it, although it will seem

much smaller than you remember.

Walk up the path, and through the garden gate

you never saw before but once.

And then go home.

Or make a home.

And rest.”
Neil Gaiman, Instructions

William G.T. Shedd
“A ship is safe in harbor, but that's not what ships are for.”
William G.T. Shedd

185 What's The Name of That Book??? — 26120 members — last activity 0 minutes ago
Can't remember the title of a book you read? Come search our archives and shelves. If you don’t find it there, post a description on our Unsolved mess ...more
182134 A Darker Shade of Magic Read Along! — 111 members — last activity Feb 15, 2016 05:28PM
We're hosting a read along of A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab in February and this is a place for discussion, reminders and to connect with oth ...more
Emily
251 books | 88 friends

Madelin...
978 books | 85 friends

Jen Cam...
601 books | 1,070 friends

Em
Em
761 books | 20 friends

Dorothy
63 books | 11 friends

Andi
639 books | 49 friends

Britt
600 books | 77 friends

Kyle
404 books | 21 friends

More friends…
The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
Best Beginning
470 books — 643 voters
1984 by George OrwellHamlet by William Shakespeare
Must Read Classics
1,183 books — 3,481 voters

More…

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
101 (0.0%)

correct:
84 (83.2%)

skipped:
34 (25.2%)

145442 out of 1412101

streak:
1

best streak:
9

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by Jillian

Lists liked by Jillian