Clare Cannon’s Profile

Clare Cannon
1569 ratings (4.12 avg)
1384 reviews
Goodreads librarian
more photos (4)

#24 top readers
#23 top reviewers
#44 best reviewers
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Clare.

http://www.GoodReadingGuide.com
http://www.goodreads.com/GoodReadingGuide

Self-Esteem Witho...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Through Wind and ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Making Scents
Clare Cannon is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Clare's Recent Updates

1280337 28544
Clare Cannon rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Is It Just Me? by Miranda Hart
Is It Just Me?
by Miranda Hart
read in July, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Genuinely funny and unselfconsciously wise, Miranda Hart is just what you need on a rainy day (or on a long drive if you're up to listening to audio, she's great!). Perhaps most appreciated by those who grew up in the 80s, she laughs through reminisc...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Summers at Castle Auburn by Sharon Shinn
Summers at Castle Auburn
by Sharon Shinn
read in July, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aptly recommended for fans of Crown Duel, Summers at Castle Auburn comes closer than most to the attractive innocence and depth of character of that much loved romance. The protagonist, young Coriel, has courage and wisdom and a youthful generosity t...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 3 of 5 stars
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
The Fault in Our Stars
by John Green (Goodreads Author)
read in March, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
[image]
If you see blotchy-faced teenagers on the street this week they will have emerged from an early screening of the young adult movie of the year, The Fault in Our Stars . Based on the novel of the same name by John Green, #TFIOS is a recent tak...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Sylvester by Georgette Heyer
Sylvester
by Georgette Heyer
read in May, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Though Sylvester is more odious than Mr Darcy and Phoebe more critical than Elizabeth Bennett; though I so often wanted to bang their heads together, to make them listen instead of bickering back and forth; though they strike each other into mirth at...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 3 of 5 stars
Ten Acres In Malibu by Robert Gottschlich
Ten Acres In Malibu
by Robert Gottschlich
read in March, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ten Acres in Malibu has a worthwhile story to tell. A young man seeks employment simply to pay the bills, and applies for a job as 24-hour home-help for an elderly man with dementia. Young Robert has no idea what to expect—or whether he's even qualif...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Hero's Guide to Being an Outlaw by Christopher Healy
Rate this book
Clear rating
[image]
What an adventure! The third (and supposedly last?) Hero's Guide has pirates and prisoners, sea vessels and deserted islands, bounty hunters and bandits, giants and trolls, evil warlords and wicked witches, palaces and kingdoms, soldiers and...more
Clare Cannon wants to read
The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
Rate this book
Clear rating
Listened to an intriguing interview about Percy this morning; looking forward to reading this and Love in the Ruins to consider his take on existentialism. He had a medical degree, a strong interest in philosophy and a deep faith, and applied all of...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 2 of 5 stars
After The First Death by Robert Cormier
After The First Death
by Robert Cormier
read in December, 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
Upon reading the description you will see that this is a horrible story that is nevertheless quite effective as a thriller. It shows the hardening of heart of a young terrorist involved in the hijacking of a school bus. After immediately throwing us...more
More of Clare's books…
Mark Twain
“Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.”
Mark Twain

Oscar Wilde
“We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.”
Oscar Wilde, Lady Windermere's Fan

Henry James
“Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind.”
Henry James

J.R.R. Tolkien
“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Ralph Waldo Emerson
“It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson, Emerson in His Journals

5989 Clean Reads — 1312 members — last activity Sep 17, 2014 09:57PM
This is a group for people who love to read a good book, but don't want to have to put it down one chapter in because of things that, if it were a mov...more
3676 Readers Who Blog — 277 members — last activity Sep 02, 2014 10:17PM
Do you have a blog where you discuss books, do book reviews? Or maybe you blog about something else? No matter what kind of blog you have, this group...more
80073 Ask Jay Asher & R.J. Palacio - October 23, 2012 — 991 members — last activity Nov 20, 2013 05:47PM
Join us on Tuesday, October 23, 2012 for a special discussion with Jay Asher & R.J. Palacio. Jay & R.J. will be discussing their newest work, includin...more
10067 Clean Romances — 2880 members — last activity 21 hours, 26 min ago
This group is dedicated to building a up a list of clean romance books. Not "Christian" or "Inspirational" (there are other groups for those), but goo...more
26225 Kids/Teens Book Club — 4997 members — last activity 7 hours, 12 min ago
Welcome to the group :) Here we talk about and recommend plenty of MG/YA books, as well as discuss film, music, our writing, current affairs and much...more
More of Clare’s groups…
Monika
1,157 books | 12 friends

Tiffany...
734 books | 48 friends

Kim
494 books | 106 friends

Robin A...
279 books | 55 friends

Sarah
712 books | 22 friends

Sara Mc...
646 books | 1,273 friends

Carrie
1,148 books | 8 friends

Rhonda
263 books | 41 friends

More friends…
Jane Eyre by Charlotte BrontëThe Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne BrontëWuthering Heights by Emily BrontëAgnes Grey by Anne BrontëVillette by Charlotte Brontë
Best of Brontë
17 books — 270 voters
Wonder by R.J. PalacioThe Invaders by John FlanaganJake and Lily by Jerry SpinelliPalace of Stone by Shannon Hale
Newbery 2013
116 books — 1,085 voters

More…

2011 Reading Challenge
Clare Cannon
Clare Cannon has completed her goal of reading 205 books for the 2011 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2012 Reading Challenge
Clare Cannon
Clare Cannon has completed her goal of reading 300 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2013 Reading Challenge
Clare Cannon
Clare Cannon has completed her goal of reading 200 books for the 2013 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
17 (0.0%)

correct:
11 (64.7%)

skipped:
56 (76.7%)

474818 out of 2768122

streak:
0

best streak:
2

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by this member