Clare Cannon’s Profile

Clare Cannon
1540 ratings (4.12 avg)
1344 reviews
Goodreads librarian
more photos (4)

#24 top readers
#23 top reviewers
#44 best reviewers
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Clare.

http://www.GoodReadingGuide.com
http://www.goodreads.com/GoodReadingGuide

Self-Esteem Witho...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Through Wind and ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Making Scents
Clare Cannon is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Clare's Recent Updates

Clare Cannon rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Is It Just Me? by Miranda Hart
Is It Just Me?
by Miranda Hart
read in July, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Genuinely funny and unselfconsciously wise, Miranda Hart is just what you need on a rainy day (or on a long drive if you're up to listening to audio, she's great!). Perhaps most appreciated by those who grew up in the 80s, she laughs through reminisc...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Summers at Castle Auburn by Sharon Shinn
Summers at Castle Auburn
by Sharon Shinn
read in July, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Aptly recommended for fans of Crown Duel, Summers at Castle Auburn comes closer than most to the attractive innocence and depth of character of that much loved romance. The protagonist, young Coriel, has courage and wisdom and a youthful generosity t...more
Clare Cannon is now a fan of Sharon Shinn
28544
Clare Cannon rated a book 3 of 5 stars
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
The Fault in Our Stars
by John Green (Goodreads Author)
read in March, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
[image]
If you see blotchy-faced teenagers on the street this week they will have emerged from an early screening of the young adult movie of the year, The Fault in Our Stars . Based on the novel of the same name by John Green, #TFIOS is a recent tak...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Sylvester by Georgette Heyer
Sylvester
by Georgette Heyer
read in May, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Though Sylvester is more odious than Mr Darcy and Phoebe more critical than Elizabeth Bennett; though I so often wanted to bang their heads together, to make them listen instead of bickering back and forth; though they strike each other into mirth at...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 3 of 5 stars
Ten Acres In Malibu by Robert Gottschlich
Ten Acres In Malibu
by Robert Gottschlich
read in March, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ten Acres in Malibu has a worthwhile story to tell. A young man seeks employment simply to pay the bills, and applies for a job as 24-hour home-help for an elderly man with dementia. Young Robert has no idea what to expect—or whether he's even qualif...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Hero's Guide to Being an Outlaw by Christopher Healy
Rate this book
Clear rating
[image]
What an adventure! The third (and supposedly last?) Hero's Guide has pirates and prisoners, sea vessels and deserted islands, bounty hunters and bandits, giants and trolls, evil warlords and wicked witches, palaces and kingdoms, soldiers and...more
Clare Cannon wants to read
The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
Rate this book
Clear rating
Listened to an intriguing interview about Percy this morning; looking forward to reading this and Love in the Ruins to consider his take on existentialism. He had a medical degree, a strong interest in philosophy and a deep faith, and applied all of...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 2 of 5 stars
After The First Death by Robert Cormier
After The First Death
by Robert Cormier
read in December, 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
Upon reading the description you will see that this is a horrible story that is nevertheless quite effective as a thriller. It shows the hardening of heart of a young terrorist involved in the hijacking of a school bus. After immediately throwing us...more
Clare Cannon rated a book 2 of 5 stars
The Dancing Master by Julie Klassen
The Dancing Master
by Julie Klassen (Goodreads Author)
read in April, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
A disappointing Klassen, not so much due to objectionable content as to the weakness of the plot and the formulaic cheesiness of the dialogue and description. Julia Midwinter is a flirtatious show-off, constantly seeking approval from men. Whether tr...more
More of Clare's books…
J.R.R. Tolkien
“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”
J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

Henry James
“Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind.”
Henry James

Winston Churchill
“Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened.”
Winston Churchill

Mark Twain
“Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.”
Mark Twain

Robert Frost
“No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.”
Robert Frost

5989 Clean Reads — 1292 members — last activity 16 hours, 53 min ago
This is a group for people who love to read a good book, but don't want to have to put it down one chapter in because of things that, if it were a mov...more
3676 Readers Who Blog — 276 members — last activity Jun 13, 2013 11:11AM
Do you have a blog where you discuss books, do book reviews? Or maybe you blog about something else? No matter what kind of blog you have, this group...more
80073 Ask Jay Asher & R.J. Palacio - October 23, 2012 — 992 members — last activity Nov 20, 2013 05:47PM
Join us on Tuesday, October 23, 2012 for a special discussion with Jay Asher & R.J. Palacio. Jay & R.J. will be discussing their newest work, includin...more
10067 Clean Romances — 2863 members — last activity 7 hours, 52 min ago
This group is dedicated to building a up a list of clean romance books. Not "Christian" or "Inspirational" (there are other groups for those), but goo...more
26225 Kids/Teens Book Club — 4973 members — last activity 1 hour, 57 min ago
Welcome to the group :) Here we talk about and recommend plenty of MG/YA books, as well as discuss film, music, our writing, current affairs and much...more
More of Clare’s groups…
Rita Ca...
509 books | 28 friends

Lisa  (...
1,855 books | 1,040 friends

Erika B...
2,049 books | 443 friends

Becky
393 books | 18 friends

Joyce
338 books | 869 friends

Jennife...
173 books | 1,313 friends

Beth A.
1,507 books | 60 friends

Mariell...
398 books | 112 friends

More friends…
Frederica by Georgette HeyerThe Nonesuch by Georgette HeyerDevil's Cub by Georgette HeyerCotillion by Georgette HeyerFriday's Child by Georgette Heyer
Favorite Georgette Heyer Book!
53 books — 418 voters
Birthmarked by Caragh M. O'BrienThe Help by Kathryn StockettWonder by R.J. PalacioBrightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken
Best Break Out
1,763 books — 4,476 voters

More…

2011 Reading Challenge
Clare Cannon
Clare Cannon has completed her goal of reading 205 books for the 2011 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2012 Reading Challenge
Clare Cannon
Clare Cannon has completed her goal of reading 300 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2013 Reading Challenge
Clare Cannon
Clare Cannon has completed her goal of reading 200 books for the 2013 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
17 (0.0%)

correct:
11 (64.7%)

skipped:
56 (76.7%)

471094 out of 2717667

streak:
0

best streak:
2

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by this member