Kathleen’s Profile

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Kathleen.





Kathleen's Recent Updates

Kathleen rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Jack Maggs by Peter Carey
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is the sort of book that is commonly labeled “Dickensian,” though it is anything but. Yes, it is set in Victorian London and, yes, Dickens himself, thinly disguised as author Tobias Oates, is a protagonist, but in tone this novel is far more rel...more
Kathleen rated a book 3 of 5 stars
Human Croquet by Kate Atkinson
Rate this book
Clear rating
I’m a fan of Atkinson’s writing, but was too disjointed for my taste. As a dysfunctional family saga I preferred her , and as a study of alternate lives, I preferred her Life after Life. I have to admit, I was never really sure what was going on here...more
Kathleen rated a book 3 of 5 stars
A House to Let by Charles Dickens
Rate this book
Clear rating
This was an interesting find in a used book store. It is a short work of fiction written by Dickens in conjunction with his friend Wilkie Collins, celebrated Victorian novelist Mrs. Gaskell, and a philanthropist, feminist and poetess by the name of A...more
Kathleen rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Living by the Word by Alice Walker
Rate this book
Clear rating
As it happens, I have never read any of Walker’s fiction. This collection of essays is my introduction to her writing, and I have come away with a very high opinion of Walker and her art. She comes across as a thoughtful, level-headed and astute obse...more
Kathleen rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Three Bags Full by Leonie Swann
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is one very unusual book. It’s a mystery story, but most of the action takes place within a herd of sheep. Their shepherd has been murdered and they are determined to find out who did it. After all, he was a good shepherd, and even read aloud to...more
Kathleen rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
Rate this book
Clear rating
Another masterpiece from Brian Selznick. Same format as Hugo Cabret--half text, half illustration--same blending of fiction and history, and more of his engaging characters and settings. Two stories are interwoven: one in text and pictures, one in pi...more
Kathleen rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is a remarkable hybrid between a picture book and a chapter book that will appeal to adults as well as children. Selznick’s pencil drawings are riveting; they are marvelously textured and filled with detail. The story is a hybrid too, combining...more
Kathleen rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Time Was Soft There by Jeremy Mercer
Rate this book
Clear rating
Time Was Soft There is an account of Canadian author Jeremy Mercer’s sojourn at Shakespeare and Company, the famous Parisian bookstore, in the year 2000. Not to be confused with Sylvia Beach’s Parisian bookstore of the same name, this one was founded...more
Kathleen rated a book 4 of 5 stars
The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Di... by Jonas Jonasson
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is a picaresque novel in the tradition of Voltaire’s Candide, Fielding’s Tom Jones and Berger’s Little Big Man, to name a few. This is not a genre that appeals particularly to me, but I did enjoy The 100-Year-Old Man in spite of myself. The stor...more
Kathleen rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Great Expectations by Robert Gottlieb
Rate this book
Clear rating
Charles Dickens was the father of ten children. As the most celebrated author of his day, he was financially secure and able to provide them with a fine home, an enriched environment, travel, and a good education. Alas, these things, in themselves, a...more
More of Kathleen's books…
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
“Goodbye," said the fox. "And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Franz Kafka
“Now I can look at you in peace; I don't eat you any more.”
Franz Kafka

Henry Ward Beecher
“Where is human nature so weak as in the bookstore?”
Henry Ward Beecher

Allen Saunders
“Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.”
Allen Saunders

Isaac Bashevis Singer
“I did not become a vegetarian for my health, I did it for the health of the chickens.”
Isaac Bashevis Singer

Marya G...
339 books | 312 friends

Sam Mills
363 books | 24 friends


David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
Best Books Ever
32,275 books — 126,954 voters


Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
2136 (1.0%)

correct:
1598 (74.8%)

skipped:
0 (0.0%)

6881 out of 2770553

streak:
3

best streak:
18

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by this member