HC’s Profile

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about HC.

http://hharju.blogspot.com/
http://www.goodreads.com/HCHarju

HC's Recent Updates

HC liked a quote
Skin Game by Jim Butcher
“But they were doughnuts of darkness. Evil, damned doughnuts, tainted by the spawn of darkness... ... which could obviously be redeemed only by passing through the fiery, cleansing inferno of a wizardly digestive tract.”
...more
Jim Butcher
HC rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Skin Game by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating
HC liked a quote
Skin Game by Jim Butcher
“There’s power in the touch of another person’s hand. We acknowledge it in little ways, all the time. There’s a reason human beings shake hands, hold hands, slap hands, bump hands.

“It comes from our very earliest memories, when we all come into the world blinded by light and color, deafened by riotous sound, flailing in a suddenly cavernous space without any way of orienting ourselves, shuddering with cold, emptied with hunger, and justifiably frightened and confused. And what changes that first horror, that original state of terror?

“The touch of another person’s hands.

“Hands that wrap us in warmth, that hold us close. Hands that guide us to shelter, to comfort, to food. Hands that hold and touch and reassure us through our very first crisis, and guide us into our very first shelter from pain. The first thing we ever learn is that the touch of someone else’s hand can ease pain and make things better.

“That’s power. That’s power so fundamental that most people never even realize it e
...more
Jim Butcher
HC rated a book 5 of 5 stars
While You Were Writing by Virginia Nelson
While You Were Writing (Watkin's Pond, #2)
by Virginia Nelson (Goodreads Author)
read in October, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Oh this one is so very fun!
Radcliffe is moody, broody and brutally honest as well as opinionated.
Sher is sassy, bold and temperamental.

The snark and battle of the wills in thoroughly enjoyable. Getting into the heads of artists during their creative
...more
HC rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Coldbrook by Tim Lebbon
Coldbrook
by Tim Lebbon (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
The story is extremely fast paced and graphic. The characters are generally likeable and tough. It is interesting and fun how some of the most underrated characters become the biggest heroes and how some of the nicest people have a choice whether to ...more
HC rated a book 4 of 5 stars
The Accidental Pirate by Virginia Nelson
The Accidental Pirate
by Virginia Nelson (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
What an absolutely fun and sexy read. The story moves fast and is full of action and humor. The sparring between Sterling and Jamie is priceless and the sexual tension is constantly in the mix. I love that there was not only one love story but two as ...more
HC rated a book 4 of 5 stars
How to Marry a Warlock in 10 Days by Saranna DeWylde
How to Marry a Warlock in 10 Days (10 Days, #2)
by Saranna DeWylde (Goodreads Author)
read in October, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
What a fun and humorous read. Dred is the perfect bad boy and Middy is no wilting flower. I liked that the two characters didn’t instantly fall in love but as they got to know each other the love bloomed

For the rest go here:
http://www.nightowlreviews
...more
HC rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Hex and the Single Witch by Saranna DeWylde
Rate this book
Clear rating
What a fun and naughty story. Alexander is a sexy bad boy and Caraway is a saucy, outspoken vixen. I loved the snark and sarcasm between the two and the sex scenes are adventurous and erotic.

To read the rest of the review Follow this link.
http://www.
...more
HC rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Return to Her by Alexandra O'Hurley
Return to Her
by Alexandra O'Hurley (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I received a free copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review.

I liked that Mason and Cassie started as friends first. There was mutual attraction but they both put it to the side for the sake of their friendship.
This story is a b
...more
HC rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Dom of the Dead by Virginia Nelson
Dom of the Dead (1Night Stand, #172)
by Virginia Nelson (Goodreads Author)
read in May, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
This book takes you on an emotional roller coaster. Oh the feelz as she cries over his body and later when she is struggling to survive.
She continuously wishes that she had told him her feelings and now it's too late.
He can only watch her at first.
...more
More of HC's books…
Socrates
“There is only one good, knowledge, and one evil, ignorance.”
Socrates

Mitch Albom
“Everyone knows they're going to die, but nobody believes it.... So we kid ourselves about death.... But there's a better approach. To know you're going to dies, and to be prepared for it at any time....Do what the Buddhists do...ask, Is today the day? Am I ready? Am I doing all I need to do? Am I being the person I want to be?”
Mitch Albom, Tuesdays with Morrie

Jim Butcher
“There’s power in the touch of another person’s hand. We acknowledge it in little ways, all the time. There’s a reason human beings shake hands, hold hands, slap hands, bump hands.

“It comes from our very earliest memories, when we all come into the world blinded by light and color, deafened by riotous sound, flailing in a suddenly cavernous space without any way of orienting ourselves, shuddering with cold, emptied with hunger, and justifiably frightened and confused. And what changes that first horror, that original state of terror?

“The touch of another person’s hands.

“Hands that wrap us in warmth, that hold us close. Hands that guide us to shelter, to comfort, to food. Hands that hold and touch and reassure us through our very first crisis, and guide us into our very first shelter from pain. The first thing we ever learn is that the touch of someone else’s hand can ease pain and make things better.

“That’s power. That’s power so fundamental that most people never even realize it exists.”
Jim Butcher, Skin Game

Jim Butcher
“But they were doughnuts of darkness. Evil, damned doughnuts, tainted by the spawn of darkness . . . . . . which could obviously be redeemed only by passing through the fiery, cleansing inferno of a wizardly digestive tract.”
Jim Butcher, Skin Game

Jennifer Egan
“I don’t want to fade away, I want to flame away - I want my death to be an attraction, a spectacle, a mystery. A work of art.”
Jennifer Egan, A Visit from the Goon Squad

65644 Naughty Corner-Fans of Em Petrova and Suzanne Rock — 97 members — last activity Jun 10, 2014 06:36PM
Naughty books, pics, blurbs, and excerpts from Em Petrova and Suzanne Rock. Come play in the Naughty Corner with us!
61153 Lyrical Press Books — 198 members — last activity Jan 09, 2014 05:39PM
Welcome to our Goodreads group! Here, readers and reviewers can gather and connect with Lyrical's authors and staff.
83561 Bargain Basement — 7115 members — last activity 6 hours, 50 min ago
Join the Bargain Basement club for Freebies, bargains, reviews, and giveaways.
25x33 Bubbles 'n Bits — 19 members — last activity Apr 27, 2011 02:14PM
A place to meet, greet and catch up the Champagne authors and what they are reading!
Sandra ...
299 books | 1,915 friends

CoffeeT...
3,607 books | 2,966 friends

Theresa...
137 books | 18 friends

Lance
49 books | 2,524 friends

Crystal...
979 books | 138 friends

Michael
873 books | 6,481 friends

Linda P...
231 books | 5,001 friends

Rebecca...
477 books | 4,900 friends

More friends…

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
25 (0.0%)

correct:
14 (56.0%)

skipped:
9 (26.5%)

433349 out of 2965204

streak:
0

best streak:
3

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by this member