Kimberly’s Profile

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Kimberly.

http://www.brokeandbookish.blogspot.com
http://www.goodreads.com/KimberlywithaT

After I Do
Kimberly is currently reading
by Taylor Jenkins Reid (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

progress: 
 
  (page 150 of 352)
51 minutes ago

 
Atlantia
Kimberly is currently reading
by Ally Condie (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating

Kimberly Kimberly said: " I do enjoy Ally Condie's writing. This should be interesting. :) "

progress: 
 
  (page 40 of 368)
Jan 21, 2015 10:32AM

 

Kimberly's Recent Updates

Kimberly is on page 150 of 352 of After I Do
After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid
After I Do
by Taylor Jenkins Reid (Goodreads Author)
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kimberly liked a quote
5350
“Perhaps, after all, romance did not come into one’s life with pomp and blare, like a gay knight riding down; perhaps it crept to one’s side like an old friend through quiet ways; perhaps it revealed itself in seeming prose, until some sudden shaft of illumination flung athwart its pages betrayed the rhythm and the music, perhaps . . . perhaps . . . love unfolded naturally out of a beautiful friendship, as a golden-hearted rose slipping from its green sheath.”
L.M. Montgomery
Kimberly liked a quote
5350
“Isn't it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”
L.M. Montgomery
Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery
“Anne laughed and sighed. She felt very old and mature and wise — which showed how young she was.”
L.M. Montgomery
Kimberly wants to read
The Body by Stephen King
The Body
by Stephen King (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kimberly wants to read
Monstrous by MarcyKate Connolly
Monstrous
by MarcyKate Connolly (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kimberly is on page 30 of 352 of After I Do: I'm crying already.
After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid
After I Do
by Taylor Jenkins Reid (Goodreads Author)
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kimberly started reading
After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid
After I Do
by Taylor Jenkins Reid (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jana (That Artsy Reader Girl)
Jana (That Artsy Reader Girl) is starting The Fault in Our Stars: It's happening, guys, and I'm terrified!
More of Kimberly's books…
Rosemarie Urquico
“You should date a girl who reads.
Date a girl who reads. Date a girl who spends her money on books instead of clothes, who has problems with closet space because she has too many books. Date a girl who has a list of books she wants to read, who has had a library card since she was twelve.

Find a girl who reads. You’ll know that she does because she will always have an unread book in her bag. She’s the one lovingly looking over the shelves in the bookstore, the one who quietly cries out when she has found the book she wants. You see that weird chick sniffing the pages of an old book in a secondhand book shop? That’s the reader. They can never resist smelling the pages, especially when they are yellow and worn.

She’s the girl reading while waiting in that coffee shop down the street. If you take a peek at her mug, the non-dairy creamer is floating on top because she’s kind of engrossed already. Lost in a world of the author’s making. Sit down. She might give you a glare, as most girls who read do not like to be interrupted. Ask her if she likes the book.

Buy her another cup of coffee.

Let her know what you really think of Murakami. See if she got through the first chapter of Fellowship. Understand that if she says she understood James Joyce’s Ulysses she’s just saying that to sound intelligent. Ask her if she loves Alice or she would like to be Alice.

It’s easy to date a girl who reads. Give her books for her birthday, for Christmas, for anniversaries. Give her the gift of words, in poetry and in song. Give her Neruda, Pound, Sexton, Cummings. Let her know that you understand that words are love. Understand that she knows the difference between books and reality but by god, she’s going to try to make her life a little like her favorite book. It will never be your fault if she does.

She has to give it a shot somehow.

Lie to her. If she understands syntax, she will understand your need to lie. Behind words are other things: motivation, value, nuance, dialogue. It will not be the end of the world.

Fail her. Because a girl who reads knows that failure always leads up to the climax. Because girls who read understand that all things must come to end, but that you can always write a sequel. That you can begin again and again and still be the hero. That life is meant to have a villain or two.

Why be frightened of everything that you are not? Girls who read understand that people, like characters, develop. Except in the Twilight series.

If you find a girl who reads, keep her close. When you find her up at 2 AM clutching a book to her chest and weeping, make her a cup of tea and hold her. You may lose her for a couple of hours but she will always come back to you. She’ll talk as if the characters in the book are real, because for a while, they always are.

You will propose on a hot air balloon. Or during a rock concert. Or very casually next time she’s sick. Over Skype.

You will smile so hard you will wonder why your heart hasn’t burst and bled out all over your chest yet. You will write the story of your lives, have kids with strange names and even stranger tastes. She will introduce your children to the Cat in the Hat and Aslan, maybe in the same day. You will walk the winters of your old age together and she will recite Keats under her breath while you shake the snow off your boots.

Date a girl who reads because you deserve it. You deserve a girl who can give you the most colorful life imaginable. If you can only give her monotony, and stale hours and half-baked proposals, then you’re better off alone. If you want the world and the worlds beyond it, date a girl who reads.

Or better yet, date a girl who writes.”
Rosemarie Urquico

“If you want more people to come to the theatre, don't put the prices at £50. You have to make theatre inclusive, and at the moment the prices are exclusive. Putting TV stars in plays just to get people in is wrong. You have to have the right people in the right parts. Stunt casting and being gimmicky does the theatre a great disservice. You have to lure people by getting them excited about a theatrical experience.”
Catherine Tate

“Im being extremely clever up here and theres no one to stand around looking impressed.
Whats the point of having you all?”
The Doctor

“Despite what you’ve read, your sadness is not beautiful. No one will see you in the bookstore, curled up with your Bukowski, and want to save you.
Stop waiting for a salvation that will not come from the grey-eyed boy looking for an annotated copy of Shakespeare,
for an end to your sadness in Keats.
He coughed up his lungs at 25, and flowery words cannot conceal a life barely lived.
Your life is fragile, just beginning, teetering on the violent edge of the world.
Your sadness will bury you alive, and you are the only one who can shovel your way out with hardened hands and ragged fingernails, bleeding your despair into the unforgiving earth.
Darling, you see, no heroes are coming for you. Grab your sword, and don your own armor.”
Emily Palermo

John Green
“I’d never been religious, but he told us that religion is important whether or not we believed in one, in the same way that historical events are important whether or not you personally lived through them.”
John Green, The John Green Collection

8361 College Students! — 2591 members — last activity 6 hours, 6 min ago
This group is for college students, recent grads, and those in their 20's to talk about what they are reading, college life, and about life in general ...more
8632 Study Buddies — 628 members — last activity Sep 24, 2014 11:33PM
For fans of Maria V. Snyder and The Study Series. Add to your To-Be-Read shelf! Taste of Darkness (Healer, Book 3) TASTE OF DARKNESS THREADS: NO Spoiler ...more
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 46836 members — last activity 1 minute ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
185 What's The Name of That Book??? — 14770 members — last activity 2 minutes ago
Can't remember the title of a book you read a while back? Come search our archives and shelves, and if we haven't already solved for your book, post a ...more
Alexa
1,268 books | 712 friends

Jana (T...
3,111 books | 393 friends

Shannon
1,435 books | 270 friends

Daphne
1,895 books | 158 friends

Jamie (...
2,009 books | 2,629 friends

Daisy
3,022 books | 227 friends

Sarah (...
650 books | 311 friends

Carrie
1,345 books | 116 friends

More friends…
Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
Books That Should Be Made Into Movies
19,171 books — 51,549 voters
Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons
WORST Book Cover Art
224 books — 162 voters

More…

2012 Reading Challenge
Kimberly
Kimberly has completed her goal of reading 70 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2013 Reading Challenge
Kimberly
Kimberly has completed her goal of reading 85 books for the 2013 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
473 (0.2%)

correct:
316 (66.8%)

skipped:
382 (44.7%)

42409 out of 3033275

streak:
0

best streak:
8

questions added:
0

 27

 1



Polls voted on by this member