John Gilbert’s Profile

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about John.

http://www.books-galore.com
http://www.goodreads.com/MeLuckyDollar

Travels with Char...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
A People's Histor...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Kafka on the Shore
John Gilbert is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

John's Recent Updates

Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck
" I'm two chapters in, funny, profound & very readable. I've done Blue Highways a long time ago on audio, might be time to revisit it. "
John Gilbert rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Benjamin Franklin by Walter Isaacson
Benjamin Franklin: An American Life
by Walter Isaacson (Goodreads Author)
read in May, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Gilbert is currently reading
Travels with Charley by John Steinbeck
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Gilbert rated a book 4 of 5 stars
The Giver by Lois Lowry
The Giver
by Lois Lowry (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Gilbert is on page 331 of 590 of Benjamin Franklin
Benjamin Franklin by Walter Isaacson
Benjamin Franklin: An American Life
by Walter Isaacson (Goodreads Author)
progress: 
 
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Gilbert is currently reading
Benjamin Franklin by Walter Isaacson
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Gilbert rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman
Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances
by Neil Gaiman (Goodreads Author)
read in April, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Gilbert rated a book 4 of 5 stars
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins (Goodreads Author)
read in April, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kudos to author Paula Hawkins for convincingly juggling a 1st person narrative with three variably unreliable narrators, resulting in a concise page-turner of just over 300 pages. Great for readers who enjoyed Gone Girl and The Secret History.
John Gilbert is currently reading
Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman
Rate this book
Clear rating
John Gilbert is currently reading
A People's History of the United States by Howard Zinn
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of John's books…
Dr. Seuss
“Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”
Dr. Seuss

Groucho Marx
“I sent the club a wire stating, PLEASE ACCEPT MY RESIGNATION. I DON'T WANT TO BELONG TO ANY CLUB THAT WILL ACCEPT ME AS A MEMBER.”
Groucho Marx, Groucho and Me

W.C. Fields
“If at first you don't succeed, try, try again. Then quit. No use being a damn fool about it.”
W.C. Fields

Mark Twain
“Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.”
Mark Twain

Marcus Tullius Cicero
“A room without books is like a body without a soul.”
Marcus Tullius Cicero

6433 Pulp Magazine Authors and Literature Fans — 476 members — last activity May 13, 2015 10:57AM
A group for fans of the great Pulp Magazines of the 20's through the 50's. Included but not restricted to Weird Tales, Black Mask, Astounding, Adventu ...more
225 Hard Case Crime — 294 members — last activity May 16, 2015 06:50AM
"They do write 'em like they used to." —Publishers Weekly on Fade to Blonde Look for a similar group on Facebook ...more
Eric L.
1 book | 32 friends

Ed
Ed
1,430 books | 4,696 friends

Keith O...
2 books | 26 friends

Katie
540 books | 53 friends

Dan 1.0
2,386 books | 1,659 friends

carrie
100 books | 19 friends

Cathy
255 books | 18 friends

Elizabe...
166 books | 26 friends

More friends…

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
1109 (0.5%)

correct:
860 (77.5%)

skipped:
715 (39.2%)

15605 out of 3318629

streak:
1

best streak:
14

questions added:
2



Polls voted on by this member