Nocturnal’s Profile

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Nocturnal.

http://www.redbubble.com/people/rhidfotos
http://www.goodreads.com/Nocturnalpancake




Nausea
Nocturnal is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Against Nature
Rate this book
Clear rating

Nocturnal Nocturnal said: "Des Esseintes is great, but the reading is very heavy. I'm glad I made the decision to read it in English, as in anything other than my first language I think I would struggle. I'm unable to read more than one chapter every week or so - the descripti...more "

 

Nocturnal's Recent Updates

Nocturnal wants to read
Glorious Plague by Karen Heuler
Glorious Plague
by Karen Heuler (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Nocturnal rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Thomas Cromwell by Robert Hutchinson
Rate this book
Clear rating
You know, this book is very, very informative. If you want any facts - any facts at all - about Cromwell's life, you can find them here. In that sense, this book is very good.

However, I have two gripes regarding the layout, and the tone. There were f...more
Nocturnal is currently reading
Nausea by Jean-Paul Sartre
Rate this book
Clear rating
Nocturnal added
Annie Leibovitz at Work by Annie Leibovitz
Annie Leibovitz at Work
by Annie Leibovitz
read in January, 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
Nocturnal rated a book 3 of 5 stars
Heroes, Rascals And Rogues by Rupert Matthews
Rate this book
Clear rating
A very good starting place for research. Just a single read through this book gave me quite a few areas - or people - to look into more in the future. Not so great on all the facts (knowing as much as I do about pirates, I found the pirate section to...more
Nocturnal rated a book 3 of 5 stars
What Was She Thinking? [Notes on a Scandal] by Zoë Heller
Rate this book
Clear rating
Short, but incredibly witty, this novel is something of a breath of fresh air for me. I am somewhat sceptical towards the modern novel as a genre, and as a rule I tend to regard anything published since the early 1900s as being uninteresting, particu...more
Nocturnal rated a book 4 of 5 stars
The Brothers Karamozov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Rate this book
Clear rating
For fans of Crime and Punishment, this book is the next step up in Dostoyevsky's way of writing and philosophy.

A large chunk of the book is given over to philosophizing, in fact, taking in such subjects as the existence of God and the politics of the...more
Nocturnal rated a book 4 of 5 stars
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and Other Jazz Age Stories by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Rate this book
Clear rating
I've got the penguin/times edition of this book, but I really can't find the energy to sift through the hundreds of editions here to find it. That aside, I hugely enjoyed this collection in every part. The only thing I found troubling was 'O Russet W...more
Nocturnal rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Photo Icons. The Story Behind the Pictures. Volume 1 by Hans-Michael Koetzle
Rate this book
Clear rating
Informative and interesting, here you can learn biographies as well as techniques. As a photographer myself I found it pleasant to be told the stories of the photographs rather than lectured too much on how it was done and what equipment they used an...more
Nocturnal rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Shaman's Crossing by Robin Hobb
Rate this book
Clear rating
Having read the series, I offer this judgement:

Not as good as her other books, and I think it may have given me an eating disorder. Still, alright as far as books go. Certain parts unsatisfactory, certain parts shiningly good. So-so.
More of Nocturnal's books…
The Boat Times (Mystery & Thrillers)
1 chapters   —   updated Jun 13, 2009 11:56AM
Description: The first section of a short story; just working it through the kinks. I'm trying to use the techniques I love in the works of Chesterton and Poe in building up a mystery.
233 ¡ POETRY ! — 14633 members — last activity 1 hour, 10 min ago
No pretensions: just poetry. Stop by, recommend books, offer up poems (excerpted), tempt us, taunt us, tell us what to read and where to go (to read it...more
Anthony
380 books | 21 friends

Zohra
332 books | 23 friends

midnigh...
6,469 books | 343 friends

Christo...
37 books | 208 friends

Ahmed W...
55 books | 24 friends

Salar Nzar
30 books | 3 friends

Joseph ...
140 books | 93 friends

Daniel ...
48 books | 2,308 friends

More friends…

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
22 (0.0%)

correct:
13 (59.1%)

skipped:
4 (15.4%)

438247 out of 2771160

streak:
2

best streak:
4

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by this member