Kayleigh’s Profile

Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Kayleigh.





The Long Dark Tea...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Whitechapel Gods
Kayleigh is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
By Myself and The...
Kayleigh is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Kayleigh's Recent Updates

Kayleigh rated a book 3 of 5 stars
Moonshine by Rob Thurman
Moonshine (Cal Leandros #2)
by Rob Thurman (Goodreads Author)
read in September, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kayleigh is currently reading
The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul by Douglas Adams
Rate this book
Clear rating
1221698
Fiction gives us empathy: it puts us inside the minds of other people, gives us the gifts of seeing the world through their eyes. Fiction is a lie that tells us true things, over and over. Neil Gaiman
Kayleigh liked a quote
1221698
Fiction gives us empathy: it puts us inside the minds of other people, gives us the gifts of seeing the world through their eyes. Fiction is a lie that tells us true things, over and over.Neil Gaiman
Kayleigh liked a quote
1221698
Fiction can show you a different world. It can take you somewhere you've never been. Once you've visited other worlds, like those who ate fairy fruit, you can never be entirely content with the world that you grew up in. Discontent is a good thing: discontented people can modify and improve their worlds, leave them better, leave them different.

And while we're on the subject, I'd like to say a few words about escapism. I hear the term bandied about as if it's a bad thing. As if "escapist" fiction is a cheap opiate used by the muddled and the foolish and the deluded, and the only fiction that is worthy, for adults or for children, is mimetic fiction, mirroring the worst of the world the reader finds herself in.

If you were trapped in an impossible situation, in an unpleasant place, with people who meant you ill, and someone offered you a temporary escape, why wouldn't you take it? And escapist fiction is just that: fiction that opens a door, shows the sunlight outside, gives you a place t...more
Neil Gaiman
Kayleigh rated a book 3 of 5 stars
The Doomsday Vault by Steven Harper
The Doomsday Vault (Clockwork Empire, #1)
by Steven Harper (Goodreads Author)
read in September, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kayleigh started reading
Whitechapel Gods by S.M. Peters
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kayleigh rated a book 3 of 5 stars
The Ordinary Princess by M.M. Kaye
The Ordinary Princess
by M.M. Kaye
read in August, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
This sweet little story was a nice change of pace. After slogging through the hundreds of pages of death, corruption, xenophobia, and anguish that is the Crown of Stars series, I needed something lighthearted and fluffy, something that wouldn't have...more
Kayleigh rated a book 4 of 5 stars
The Last of Us by Neil Druckmann
The Last of Us: American Dreams
by Neil Druckmann
read in September, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Kayleigh is currently reading
Moonshine by Rob Thurman
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Kayleigh's books…
Markus Zusak
“Steve, on the other hand, has plenty of friends, but he wouldn't bleed for any of them, because he wouldn't trust them to bleed for him. In that way he's just as alone as me.”
Markus Zusak, Underdogs

Neil Gaiman
“Fiction can show you a different world. It can take you somewhere you've never been. Once you've visited other worlds, like those who ate fairy fruit, you can never be entirely content with the world that you grew up in. Discontent is a good thing: discontented people can modify and improve their worlds, leave them better, leave them different.

And while we're on the subject, I'd like to say a few words about escapism. I hear the term bandied about as if it's a bad thing. As if "escapist" fiction is a cheap opiate used by the muddled and the foolish and the deluded, and the only fiction that is worthy, for adults or for children, is mimetic fiction, mirroring the worst of the world the reader finds herself in.

If you were trapped in an impossible situation, in an unpleasant place, with people who meant you ill, and someone offered you a temporary escape, why wouldn't you take it? And escapist fiction is just that: fiction that opens a door, shows the sunlight outside, gives you a place to go where you are in control, are with people you want to be with(and books are real places, make no mistake about that); and more importantly, during your escape, books can also give you knowledge about the world and your predicament, give you weapons, give you armour: real things you can take back into your prison. Skills and knowledge and tools you can use to escape for real.

As JRR Tolkien reminded us, the only people who inveigh against escape are jailers.”
Neil Gaiman

Abigail Adams
“If particular care and attention is not paid to the ladies, we are determined to foment a rebellion, and will not hold ourselves bound by any laws in which we have no voice or representation.”
Abigail Adams, The Letters of John and Abigail Adams

Eric Hansen
“Government observers, keen on getting the Penan out of the valuable hardwood forests, have claimed that Penan health is poor and that they are malnourished. This is a ploy to get them settled so they can be controlled. Also, it is a source of embarrassment to the governments of Malaysia and Indonesia that in the 1980s, nomadic hunters are still roaming the jungles. This doesn't help the national image of a modern, developing country.”
Eric Hansen, Stranger in the Forest: On Foot Across Borneo

Eric Hansen
“Considering our backgrounds, I found it a strange irony that Ian and I should meet in central Borneo. Both of us were set in motion by the war in Southeast Asia. Ian enlisted. I left the country several weeks before an FBI agent arrived at my parents' front door.”
Eric Hansen, Stranger in the Forest: On Foot Across Borneo

72636 Webcomic Wonderland — 283 members — last activity 18 hours, 37 min ago
This is a group for anyone who reads webcomics or would like to start. Here you can discuss all of your favorite webcomics, take polls, play games and...more
17217 Writing in the Sand — 39 members — last activity Aug 30, 2009 02:13PM
CALLING ALL WRITERS!! Welcome to 'Writing in the Sand' a group decicated to you,your writing,books and random stuff.So come and join,create a group st...more
217 Banned Books — 4325 members — last activity Sep 02, 2014 11:35PM
To celebrate our love of reading books that people see fit to ban throughout the world. We abhor censorship and promote freedom of speech.
970 Boxall's 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die — 13735 members — last activity 6 hours, 50 min ago
For those attempting the crazy feat of reading all 1001 books! For discerning bibliophiles and readers who enjoy unforgettable classic literature, 1001...more
4009 Browncoats — 260 members — last activity Aug 17, 2014 11:36AM
A group for fans of Joss Whedon's Firefly and Serenity.
More of Kayleigh’s groups…
Nicole
1,201 books | 6,182 friends

Tamora ...
2,713 books | 3,697 friends

Lynne
273 books | 24 friends

Chel
1,341 books | 35 friends

Alex
625 books | 89 friends

Kate
722 books | 34 friends

Neil
33 books | 5,539 friends

Meggie
325 books | 63 friends

More friends…
The Blood Books, Volume I by Tanya HuffLarklight by Philip ReeveHere, There Be Dragons by James A. OwenSummon the Keeper by Tanya HuffWise Child by Monica Furlong
Best Unknown Books
1,782 books — 1,548 voters
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas AdamsThe Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar WildeGood Omens by Terry PratchettThe Essential Calvin and Hobbes by Bill Watterson
Best Humorous Books
2,457 books — 4,809 voters

More…

2011 Reading Challenge
Kayleigh
Kayleigh has completed her goal of reading 90 books for the 2011 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2012 Reading Challenge
Kayleigh
Kayleigh has completed her goal of reading 95 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2013 Reading Challenge
Kayleigh
Kayleigh has completed her goal of reading 60 books for the 2013 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
1584 (0.8%)

correct:
1430 (90.3%)

skipped:
5 (0.3%)

7962 out of 2767082

streak:
126

best streak:
126

questions added:
0



Polls voted on by this member