Amanda’s Profile

Amanda
671 ratings (3.29 avg)
276 reviews
more photos (8)

#61 best reviewers
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Amanda.

http://viiamanda.blogspot.com/

Hamlet's BlackBer...
Rate this book
Clear rating

progress: 
 
  (page 56 of 267)
Aug 24, 2014 04:23PM

 
My Beloved World
Amanda is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

progress: 
 
  (page 48 of 432)
Aug 24, 2014 04:22PM

 
Death by Black Ho...
Rate this book
Clear rating

progress: 
 
  (page 52 of 384)
Jul 15, 2014 07:38PM

 

Amanda's Recent Updates

Amanda and 38 other people liked Louisa's review of Norwegian Wood:
Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami
" Please sit and listen/feel for a little while: The chirping of birds, the warmth of the sun on your face, the gentle sway of trees and see within yourself what it truly feels to be lonely. To always be an outsider in this overcrowded world. A plac... " Read more of this review »
Amanda and 4 other people liked Diane's review of Seconds:
Seconds by Bryan Lee O'Malley
" This graphic novel is just cool.

It's the story of Katie, a chef who wants to open her own restaurant, and she also wishes she could get back with her ex-boyfriend, Max. Katie lives in an apartment above a restaurant named Seconds, and one night sh... " Read more of this review »
Wizard and Glass by Stephen King
" I remember when this book was released. I was in high school, in the middle of a serious Stephen King binge. In roughly a year, I read nearly everything he'd written to that point, except The Stand, books he'd written as Bachman, and The Dark Towe... " Read more of this review »
Amanda is on page 56 of 267 of Hamlet's BlackBerry
Hamlet's BlackBerry: A Practical Philosophy for Building a Good Life in the Digital Age
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda started reading
Hamlet's BlackBerry by William Powers
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda made a comment on her review of Anansi Boys
373951
"Jason wrote: "Taking us readers of your review through your digression does the utmost credit to Gaiman and the universal love of story-telling that h...more "
Amanda made a comment on her review of The Inquisitor
12160887
"Okay, when do you start to make it?

As soon as Hollywood returns my calls. For some reason, though, no one there seems to be taking me seriously.

By the...more
"
Amanda made a comment on her review of The Girl in the Road
18297954
"R.S. wrote: "I didn't enjoy "that scene" either. It would have been fine without. I felt dirty after reading it."

I didn't feel it added anything to th...more
"
34497
"Demi wrote: "I'm only just starting this series (with The Colour Magic) but I have heard that within the Discworld is a Young Adult series which has b...more "
Amanda rated a book 3 of 5 stars
Day Men Vol. 1 by Matt Gagnon
Day Men Vol. 1
by Matt Gagnon
read in August, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Amanda's books…
“And pretty is not even the right word. She burns. She's a verb.”
Max Gladstone, Two Serpents Rise

Charles Frazier
“He had been alone in the world and empty for so long. But she filled him full, and so he believed everything that had been taken out of him might have been for a purpose. To clear space for something better.”
Charles Frazier, Cold Mountain

Jess Walter
“All we have is the story we tell. Everything we do, every decision we make, our strength, weakness, motivation, history, and character-what we believe-none of it is real; it's all part of the story we tell. But here's the thing: it's our goddamned story!
Jess Walter, Beautiful Ruins

Cormac McCarthy
“when God made man the devil was at his elbow. A creature that can do anything. Make a machine. And a machine to make the machine. And evil that can run itself a thousand years, no need to tend it.”
Cormac McCarthy, Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West

Charles Frazier
“One thing he discovered with a great deal of astonishment was that music held more for him than just pleasure. There was meat to it. The grouping of sounds, their forms in the air as they rang out and faded, said something comforting to him about the rule of creation. What the music said was that there is a right way for things to be ordered so that life might not always be just tangle and drift, but have a shape, an aim. It was a powerful argument against the notion that things just happen.”
Charles Frazier, Cold Mountain

72899 International League of Super Reviewers — 65 members — last activity Jun 05, 2014 03:14PM
The International League of Super Reviewers is a group dedicated to defending the earth against alien menaces and super-villains by writing superior b...more
4009 Browncoats — 260 members — last activity Aug 17, 2014 11:36AM
A group for fans of Joss Whedon's Firefly and Serenity.
Anthony...
483 books | 91 friends

Cheryl
1,336 books | 276 friends

Robert
1,894 books | 1,528 friends

Erin ♥ ...
5,334 books | 613 friends

Sandra ...
3,774 books | 791 friends

Carol. ...
1,274 books | 354 friends

Sesana
2,534 books | 89 friends

Becky
2,282 books | 304 friends

More friends…

2012 Reading Challenge
Amanda
Amanda has completed her goal of reading 50 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2013 Reading Challenge
Amanda
Amanda has completed her goal of reading 55 books for the 2013 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
7047 (3.5%)

correct:
5962 (84.6%)

skipped:
27062 (79.3%)

912 out of 2713834

streak:
6

best streak:
28

questions added:
6



Polls voted on by this member