Amanda’s Profile

Amanda
688 ratings (3.29 avg)
277 reviews
more photos (8)

#91 best reviewers
Sign in to Goodreads to learn more about Amanda.

http://viiamanda.blogspot.com/

Detroit: An Ameri...
Rate this book
Clear rating

progress: 
 
  (page 153 of 304)
May 19, 2015 06:17AM

 
Karen Memory
Amanda is currently reading
by Elizabeth Bear (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

progress: 
 
  (page 75 of 350)
May 19, 2015 06:17AM

 
The Vampire Armand
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Amanda's Recent Updates

Amanda and 34 other people liked Carol. 's review of Zombie, Ohio:
Zombie, Ohio by Scott Kenemore
"
An interesting take on the traditional zombie. No, really. It is sort of the zombie equivalent of "The Universe Doesn't Give a Fuck About You," a treatise on getting off your butt and living your best type-A life. Because even zombies can achieve..." Read more of this review »
Amanda and 56 other people liked Dan 1.0's review of The Old Man and the Sea:
The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway
"After eighty-five fishless days, Santiago hooks more than he bargained for. Can he battle everything the sea throws at him to land his prize?

In the interest of reading a wider variety of things, I snapped this up like an eighteen-foot marlin bites..." Read more of this review »
Skippy Dies by Paul Murray
"I imagine that the book is called 'skippy dies' because it's the most momentous event in it. It certainly was in the first 100 pages.

It wasn't just the most momentous event, it was pretty-much the only event. And it happens on the first page.

The..." Read more of this review »
L'Enfer, le silence by Juan Díaz Canales
"In the fourth outing for black-cat detective John Blacksad he is actually going out from the (New York) metropolis that was the backdrop for the first three albums. His destination is New Orleans, a fictionalized one, peopled with the antropomorph..." Read more of this review »
Amanda is on page 153 of 304 of Detroit
Detroit by Charlie LeDuff
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda started reading
Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear
Karen Memory
by Elizabeth Bear (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda started reading
Detroit by Charlie LeDuff
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda rated a book 3 of 5 stars
Among Others by Jo Walton
Among Others
by Jo Walton (Goodreads Author)
read in May, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda wants to read
Mermaid in Chelsea Creek by Michelle Tea
Rate this book
Clear rating
Amanda wants to read
Gemini Cell by Myke Cole
Gemini Cell
by Myke Cole (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Amanda's books…
“Chicanery is the spice that seasons the world.”
Dan Schwent

Stacia Kane
“Readers have the right to say whatever the fuck they want about a book. Period. They have that right. If they hate the book because the MC says the word “delicious” and the reader believes it’s the Devil’s word and only evil people use it, they can shout from the rooftops “This book is shit and don’t read it” if they want. If they want to write a review entirely about how much they hate the cover, they can if they want. If they want to make their review all about how their dog Foot Foot especially loved to pee on that particular book, they can."

[Blog entry, January 9, 2012]”
Stacia Kane

Cormac McCarthy
“when God made man the devil was at his elbow. A creature that can do anything. Make a machine. And a machine to make the machine. And evil that can run itself a thousand years, no need to tend it.”
Cormac McCarthy, Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West

“And pretty is not even the right word. She burns. She's a verb.”
Max Gladstone, Two Serpents Rise

Jess Walter
“Stories are bulls. Writers come of age full of vigor, and they feel the need to drive the old stories from the herd. One bull rules the herd awhile but then he loses his vigor and the young bulls take over.

Stories are nations, empires. They can last as long as ancient Rome or as short as the Third Reich. Story-nations rise and decline. Governments change, trends rise, and they go on conquering their neighbors.

Stories are people. I'm a story, you're a story . . . your father is a story. Our stories go in every direction, but sometimes, if we're lucky, our stories join into one, and for a while, we're less alone.”
Jess Walter, Beautiful Ruins

72899 International League of Super Reviewers — 63 members — last activity Jun 05, 2014 03:14PM
The International League of Super Reviewers is a group dedicated to defending the earth against alien menaces and super-villains by writing superior b ...more
4009 Browncoats — 269 members — last activity Feb 06, 2015 08:11AM
A group for fans of Joss Whedon's Firefly and Serenity.
Jenna
972 books | 479 friends

Kemper
1,778 books | 1,170 friends

Becky
2,422 books | 327 friends

Carol.
1,396 books | 400 friends

Cassy
1,514 books | 262 friends

Cheryl
1,607 books | 370 friends

Anne
3,486 books | 636 friends

David S...
1,340 books | 486 friends

More friends…

2012 Reading Challenge
Amanda
Amanda has completed her goal of reading 50 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2013 Reading Challenge
Amanda
Amanda has completed her goal of reading 55 books for the 2013 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

Quizzes and Trivia

questions answered:
7047 (3.2%)

correct:
5962 (84.6%)

skipped:
27062 (79.3%)

979 out of 3329046

streak:
6

best streak:
28

questions added:
6



Polls voted on by this member