The Not-So Austen Bookclub discussion

102 views
Book Recommendations > Highly Anticipated Novels ~ What To Read Next

Comments (showing 1-50 of 116) (116 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3

message 1: by Booknut, Head Moderator (new)

Booknut (booknut101) | 4573 comments Mod
You know the ones - those books which you have circled in Dymocks catalogues or have marked as 'wishlist' or 'to-read' on Goodreads. Let everyone know what books YOU'RE excited about!!

For me, those books are (I apologise if I forget any - this is off the top of my head!):
- Clockwork Princess (so, so, so far away...!)
- Tiger's Destiny
- Iron's Prophecy
- Scent of Magic
- Days of Blood and Starlight
- Boundless
- The Evolution of Mara Dyer
- Eternally Yours (Cate Tiernan)
- Requiem
- Unravel Me
- Sever
- Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles)
- The Rising (Kelley Armstrong)
- Mark of Athena


message 2: by Isabelle, Co-Moderator (last edited Aug 17, 2012 11:48PM) (new)

Isabelle (Potterwholockian) | 1412 comments Mod
Books I am excited about.

-Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices #3)
-The Rise Of Nine (Lorien Legacies #3)
-Doomsday (The Phoenix Files #6)
-Oblivion (The Power of Five #5)
-Son (The Giver #4)


message 3: by Olivia (new)

Olivia (DrBrennan17) | 1938 comments Clockwork Princess
Tiger's Destiny
The Rising
City of Heavenly Fire

That's all I can think of at the moment but I know there are more.


message 4: by Lucinda (new)

Lucinda | 1851 comments JK Rowling's the casual vacancy
many fantasy fictional books next in a series (ie. emily gee's the sentinel mage)
lots more!


message 5: by Rachel (new)

Rachel (Velliya) | 424 comments Casual vacancy
Oblivion (OH MY GOSH! IVE BEEN WAITING FOR TWO YEARS!!!!)
Scarlett
etc


message 6: by Emiri (new)

Emiri Tachibana (SpiritFlight) | 18 comments Clockwork Princess (ID)
Code (Virals)
Falling into Midnight (Solace&Grief)


message 7: by Olivia (new)

Olivia (DrBrennan17) | 1938 comments Lucinda wrote: "JK Rowling's the casual vacancy
many fantasy fictional books next in a series (ie. emily gee's the sentinel mage)
lots more!"


Oh! Yes!


message 8: by ~Haelee~ (new)

~Haelee~ | 33 comments I know I'm repeating what a lot of other people have said but...

Palace of Stone - Princess Academy 2
The Rise of Nine - The Lorian Legacies 3
Unravel Me - Shatter Me 2
Scarlet - The Lunar Chronicles 2
Cloclwork Princess - The Infernal Devices 3 (I'm especially excited for this one!!!!)
The Mark of Athena - The Heroes of Olympus 3
Prodigy - Legend 2

...and a lot of other books that I'm forgetting...


message 9: by Nicole D. (last edited Aug 18, 2012 02:18PM) (new)

Nicole D. (TheReadingRebel) | 12 comments Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare
The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa
Iron Legends by Julie Kagawa
City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
Shadowhunter Codex by Cassandra Clare
Battle Magic by Tamora Pierce
Blood of Eden 2 by Julie Kagawa
New Moon the graphic novel vol 1


message 10: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Just a few that I can think of right now....
- Tiger's Destiny (The Tiger Saga #4)
- Iron's Prophecy (The Iron Fey #4.5)
- The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #1)
- Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2)
- Reached (Matched #3)
- Requiem (Delirium #3)
- The Rise Of Nine (Lorien Legacies #3)
- Prodigy (Legend #2)
- The Eternity Cure (Blood of Eden #2)
- Shades of Earth (Across the Universe #3)
- With All My Soul (Soul Screamers #7)
- Spark (Elemental #2)
- Godess (Starcrossed #3)
- Deity (Covenant #3)
- Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2)
- Perfect Scoundrels (Heist Society #3)

Ones I am soooooo excited for.....
- Opal (Lux #3!)
- The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3!)
- Mark of Athena (Heroes of Olympus #3!)
- Clockwork Princess (Infernal Devices #3!!!)
- City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6!!!)


message 11: by Lucinda (new)

Lucinda | 1851 comments In January the release of Gail Z Martin's next book in her new fantasy trilogy!!! She is the author of the increadible series 'the chronicles of the necromancer'...
The Summoner (Chronicles of the Necromancer, #1) by Gail Z. Martin
The Blood King (Chronicles of the Necromancer, #2) by Gail Z. Martin
Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer, #3) by Gail Z. Martin
Dark Lady's Chosen (Chronicles of the Necromancer, #4) by Gail Z. Martin
...if you have not read her books and you love fantasy (Terry Brooks, JRR Tolkien and Terry Goodkind) then i highly recomend them. x


message 12: by Monique (new)

Monique (MacL) | 70 comments Im looking forward to the two new series Lisi Harrison is writing:)


message 13: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Monique wrote: "Im looking forward to the two new series Lisi Harrison is writing:)"

Me too!!! They both sound sooooo ahh-dorable! I love the idea of 5 PoV in the form of journals!


message 14: by Aiashine (new)

Aiashine (aiashineshin) | 47 comments - Mark of Athena
- Iron's Prophecy (The Iron Fey #4.5)
- The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #1)
- Perfect Scoundrels (Heist Society #3)
- The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3!)
- Blood Prophecy (Drake Chronicles #6)
- Goddess Inheritance (Goddess Test #3)
- Stormdancer


message 15: by Ana (new)

Ana Lucinda wrote: "JK Rowling's the casual vacancy
many fantasy fictional books next in a series (ie. emily gee's the sentinel mage)
lots more!"


Definitely JK's new book!


message 16: by Lucinda (new)

Lucinda | 1851 comments I cannot wait for the release of JK Rowlings fictional novel, but i am also excited about MK Hume's next book in the Merlin series following on from 'Death of an Empire'.
Prophecy  Death of an Empire by M.K. Hume


message 17: by Olivia (new)

Olivia (DrBrennan17) | 1938 comments Lucinda wrote: "I cannot wait for the release of JK Rowlings fictional novel, but i am also excited about MK Hume's next book in the Merlin series following on from 'Death of an Empire'.
[bookcover:Prophecy: Dea..."


Haven't read the Merlin series but I plan to!


message 18: by Lucinda (new)

Lucinda | 1851 comments MK Hume writes adult historical fiction. She wrote a trilogy about King Arthur that was fantastic (Dragon's Child, Warrior of the west and the bloody cup). Now she is writing a Merlin series that began with Propecy 1: Clash of kings, and book 2: death of an empire.
...i have asked for Christmas Death of an Empire - as books are expensive and i would love to read it, plus i cannot buy anymore books at the moment:(
I would highly recomend her and here is her website address to check out:
www.mkhume.co.uk


message 19: by [deleted user] (new)

HOUSE OF HADES

Nothing else needs to be said.


message 20: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments βιβλιοφάγος (a.k.a. Cat) wrote: "HOUSE OF HADES

Nothing else needs to be said."


Exactly.


message 21: by Lucinda (new)

Lucinda | 1851 comments The sequel to 'The Name of the Wind' by Patrick Rothfuss. I have just finished reading it and thought that it was AMAZING!!! Now, i have a whole year to wait for book 2 :(

The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicle, #1) by Patrick Rothfuss


message 22: by ~Haelee~ (last edited Oct 29, 2012 04:00PM) (new)

~Haelee~ | 33 comments βιβλιοφάγος (a.k.a. Cat) wrote: "HOUSE OF HADES

Nothing else needs to be said."


I agree!!!


message 24: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Jay wrote: "Dualed (Dualed, #1) by Elsie ChapmanEverneath (Everneath, #1) by Brodi AshtonClockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3) by Cassandra ClareThe Prey (The Hunt, #2) by Andrew Fukuda Vortex (Tempest, #2) by Julie CrossAltered (Altered, #1) by Jennifer Rush[bookcover:Sunrise|..."

OH GOODNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So many of those I am (impatiently) waiting for!!! Light, Prodigy, Goddess, Shades of Earth, Unravel Me, Through the Ever Night, The Eternity Cure, Divergent #3, THE HOUSE OF HADES!!!, and of course......CLOCKWORK PRINCESS (133 days to go!) EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP!!!!!!!!!!! And more up there as well!


message 25: by Melissa (new)

Melissa | 862 comments Too many books that I can't wait for, it would take WAY too long to try to make a list of them!


message 26: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Melissa wrote: "Too many books that I can't wait for, it would take WAY too long to try to make a list of them!"

I completely agree!!


message 28: by Olivia (new)

Olivia (DrBrennan17) | 1938 comments Melissa wrote: "Too many books that I can't wait for, it would take WAY too long to try to make a list of them!"

Definitely true:P


message 29: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Melissa wrote: "Too many books that I can't wait for, it would take WAY too long to try to make a list of them!"

Hahaha exactly!! :)


message 30: by Anna (last edited Nov 07, 2012 09:45PM) (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Aiashine wrote: "The Regency Witches
Blood Prophecy
The House of Hades
The Traitor Son
The Goddess Inheritance
Perfect ScoundrelsUntitled
Isla and the Happily Ever After
The Indigo Spell"


Ohhhhhh!!!! I'm sooo excited for Perfect Scoundrels, House of Hades, and Indigo Spell too!!!!


message 31: by Booknut, Head Moderator (new)

Booknut (booknut101) | 4573 comments Mod
~Haelee~ wrote: "I know I'm repeating what a lot of other people have said but...

Palace of Stone - Princess Academy 2
The Rise of Nine - The Lorian Legacies 3
Unravel Me - Shatter Me 2
Scarlet - The Lunar Chronic..."


I read Palace of Stone and it was wonderful!!


message 32: by Lucinda (new)

Lucinda | 1851 comments I am excited about a new book that i have recieved to read called 'Beautiful Creatures' which is shortly being made *i believe* into a film.
Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1) by Kami Garcia
I gather that fans of Twilight by Stephanie Meyer or True Blood will love this, romantic gothic supernatural tale.

Has anyone read it & liked it?


message 33: by Clarté (new)

Clarté | 65 comments Lucinda wrote: "I am excited about a new book that i have recieved to read called 'Beautiful Creatures' which is shortly being made *i believe* into a film.
Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1) by Kami Garcia
I gather that f..."


It isn't just going to be a movie, it already is, it hits theatres in February, I believe.


message 34: by Lucinda (new)

Lucinda | 1851 comments Oh! Thank you for informing me of this fact, i shall definately have to look out for it then.


message 35: by Olivia (new)

Olivia (DrBrennan17) | 1938 comments The movie looks amazing:) The book was quite good:) I really enjoyed it!


message 36: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Lucinda wrote: "I am excited about a new book that i have recieved to read called 'Beautiful Creatures' which is shortly being made *i believe* into a film.
Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1) by Kami Garcia
I gather that f..."


I just finished that a bit ago and loved it!! The trailer looks amazing!!!! I can't wait for the movie! February, 13th!!!!


message 37: by Olivia (new)

Olivia (DrBrennan17) | 1938 comments Anna wrote: "Lucinda wrote: "I am excited about a new book that i have recieved to read called 'Beautiful Creatures' which is shortly being made *i believe* into a film.
Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1) by Kami Garcia..."


Haha I know! I really liked it! I have yet to read the next one!
I'm so excited for the movie!!! February is so close, yet so far away!!!


message 38: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Olivia wrote: "Anna wrote: "Lucinda wrote: "I am excited about a new book that i have recieved to read called 'Beautiful Creatures' which is shortly being made *i believe* into a film.
[bookcover:Beautiful Creat..."


Same here!! Exactly!


message 39: by Lucinda (new)

Lucinda | 1851 comments Is there a reason that it is the 13th of feb?? 13th?

*I have seen the trailer & it looks amazing!*


message 40: by Olivia (new)

Olivia (DrBrennan17) | 1938 comments Lucinda wrote: "Is there a reason that it is the 13th of feb?? 13th?

*I have seen the trailer & it looks amazing!*"


Haha It can't be just a coincidence!!!

And I know! I'm so excited!


message 41: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Olivia wrote: "Lucinda wrote: "Is there a reason that it is the 13th of feb?? 13th?

*I have seen the trailer & it looks amazing!*"

Haha It can't be just a coincidence!!!

And I know! I'm so excited!"


*chuckles* I hadn't even thought of that!! How eerie! Me too I can't wait to see it!


message 42: by johanna d.m. (new)

johanna d.m. (johannad_m) | 216 comments Hmm ... mine would be ...

-The Mark of Athena (currently reading! :D)
None of your others xD
-Ebon, Robin Mckinley 2014 >:(
-The Suntrail, Erin Hunter
And ... everything else on there that I can't remember C:


message 43: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments ງດໂາຊກກຊ wrote: "Hmm ... mine would be ...

-The Mark of Athena (currently reading! :D)
None of your others xD
-Ebon, Robin Mckinley 2014 >:(
-The Suntrail, Erin Hunter
And ... everything else on there that I can'..."


Mark of Athena is amazing!!!!!!!!! But dude that ending.. *sob*


message 44: by johanna d.m. (new)

johanna d.m. (johannad_m) | 216 comments *Spoiler Alert* :P

I actually already know how it ends T_T some spoiler on Goodreads told me. Grrrrrrrr ...


message 45: by Melissa (new)

Melissa | 862 comments I wonder how everyone (not in you-know-where) are going to react to Nico. I don't think any of them except Hazel have met him before.


message 47: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments ງດໂາຊກກຊ wrote: "*Spoiler Alert* :P

I actually already know how it ends T_T some spoiler on Goodreads told me. Grrrrrrrr ..."


That sucks!! I hate when that sort of thing happens!


message 48: by Anna (last edited Dec 23, 2012 09:14PM) (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Melissa wrote: "I wonder how everyone (not in you-know-where) are going to react to Nico. I don't think any of them except Hazel have met him before."

I'm excited to see how they all work out together! I think Hazel and Frank are the only ones that know him..


message 49: by Melissa (last edited Dec 23, 2012 09:17PM) (new)

Melissa | 862 comments Anna wrote: "Melissa wrote: "I wonder how everyone (not in you-know-where) are going to react to Nico. I don't think any of them except Hazel have met him before."

I'm excited to see how they all work out toge..."


How does Frank know him? Did Nico spend time with him while he was pretending to be a son of Pluto?


message 50: by Anna (new)

Anna Wood-gaines (AnnaBanana13) | 1674 comments Melissa wrote: "Anna wrote: "Melissa wrote: "I wonder how everyone (not in you-know-where) are going to react to Nico. I don't think any of them except Hazel have met him before."

I'm excited to see how they all ..."


I think he knows him as Hazel's brother..


« previous 1 3
back to top

unread topics | mark unread


Books mentioned in this topic

The Summoner (other topics)
The Blood King (other topics)
Dark Haven (other topics)
Dark Lady's Chosen (other topics)
Prophecy: Death of an Empire (other topics)
More...