Who's Your Author? discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Archives - '09 - '10 > Introduce Yourself!

This topic has been frozen by the moderator. No new comments can be posted.

Comments (showing 503-552)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

message 552: by Jess (new)

Jess | 3721 comments Hi Regan, welcome!

message 551: by Jess (new)

Jess | 3721 comments Hey Cat, welcome to the group!

message 550: by Cat (new)

Cat (Dodger_Thirteen) Hello. My name is Caitlin but everyone calls me Cat. I had no choice in the matter, so it just kind of stuck.

I've loved stories ever since I was a kid and that love just grew exponentially as I grew up. I'm now a student of English here at uni and just adore books of all kinds, both "Literature" and novelry. (Novelry is apparently not a "real" word, but I love it, so there.)

My favourite type of book is urban fantasy, though I prefer to call them supernatural thrillers. The term urban fantasy never really appealed to me, and most of the books that I read tend to be thrillers - or at least be attempting such - with a supernatural bent. Still, the prevailing title is urban fantasy and that is what I am stuck calling it.

As for authors, I tend to just read and bounce from book to book. My favourite right now is Patricia Briggs, which seems to be pretty popular around here. I've read Caitlin Kittridge's books since we share the same first name and spelling, but I'm not very impressed; I tend to call her my "crack" author, in the sense that I know it's bad for me and that it might one day kill me, but I can't help it.

I just finished reading Grave Witch by Kaylana Price and it was pretty good. Nothing phenomenal, but it had some interesting ideas and I look forward to seeing where the series goes in the future.

I guess that's it...sorry for all the words, I tend to ramble and just type. Nice to be here and I hope to have some interesting discussions with y'all.

-Cat