On Chesil Beach On Chesil Beach discussion

Constant Reader

Comments (showing 1-50 of 85) (85 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

Sherry Let's start discussing this on the 15th of February 2008.

message 2: by Ruth (last edited Dec 17, 2007 10:59PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Ruth Right, Sherry. I know. I just couldn't restrain myself. I'll be here when we start our official discussion, and I'll bet Ginny will be, too.

R

Jessica I can't wait!

Nicole I've never done this before, but am looking forward to it having just read On Chesil Beach.

Peter I too will want to throw in a few cents.

Dottie I'm ready -- I'm ready -- now I just have to keep thinking it over so I don't lose the whole thing!

message 7: by Stephen (new)

Stephen Just checked out the discussion of this one under Paul's review. I am no longer concerned about how one engages in a public discussion of On Chesil Beach.

Peter There are (something like) 148 pages of reviews. If you can find it again, could you post a link to Paul's review?

message 9: by Stephen (new)

Stephen I had the same problem, Peter. Try this link:

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/...

message 10: by Lynn (new)

Lynn Okay, for all of you who have been eagerly awaiting the official beginning of the On Chesil Beach discussion..... on your mark, get set, go! (Yes, I know it's not the 15th yet here in Iowa, but it is on the east coast and I'm ready to head to bed and read for a while!)

As I said elsewhere, I haven't had time to re-read this, but there are some things that have stuck with me through the months since I read it last May. One was the feeling that this couple wrestled with the issues of sex and sexuality as if they lived decades earlier instead of the 1960s. It made me realize just how much my dating life was affected by the advent of the Pill (I was in high school in the late 60s/early 70s), but I don't think that was the only reason for the bride's repressed mindset.