SciFi and Fantasy Book Club discussion

The Silent Tower (Windrose Chronicles, #1)
This topic is about The Silent Tower
"Silent Tower" discussion > SILENT TOWER - Chapters XVI - XIX & Epilogue **SPOILERS**

Comments (showing 1-7 of 7) (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

Jon (jonmoss) | 892 comments Ah, the rush to the end. I held off as long as I could to finish these last four chapters and the short epilogue, which is one of my favorite nostalgic bits in this book because when I read this book in 1985, I was neither married nor a mother. I was a college student studying mathematics and computer science, programming on supercomputers (not quite as advanced as what Joanna had access to). Passwords have come a long way (I routinely mistype my passphrases at last four or five times per day because they are very long and contain oddball characters).

That being said, however, I find it a bit odd that Gary, from our world, would set his password to a term common to the other world, when he had only been not-Gary for a matter of hours?

Did you realize before these last chapters why Antryg feared everyone, including Joanna?

I plan to pickup The Silicon Mage later in the week and probably read it over next weekend. While not completely a cliff hanger, The Silent Tower does leave us with a lot we want resolved.

Casceil | 34 comments I had not realized why Antryg was afraid to trust Joanna. Once he explained it, it made perfect sense, but it came as a surprise. I also found the password overly simple. Even then, weren't there password-cracking programs that would run through everything in the dictionary? I suppose it is possible that Gary just considered it an inside joke, and did not expect anyone to try to crack it. I think it is more likely, though, that the author just wanted to come up with a password that would be possible for Joanna to crack, while still making it look very clever of her to do so.