Goodreads Librarians Group discussion

note: This topic has been closed to new comments.
Free books

Comments (showing 1-7 of 7) (7 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by Ian (new)

Ian George (GeorgeIan) | 7 comments Im a new author and I have 5 short stories on Amazon, my problem is, when I use the free promotions I get lots and lots of downloads but no ratings and no critique! In short, there seems to be no point in giving away my work! Does anyone have any views or guidance to give? I have had reviews from paying customers, so it makes me wonder if there is something preventing ratings or reviews for people who benefit fro the promotional downloads.

message 2: by Ciska (new)

Ciska (Ciska_vander_Lans) | 4 comments I am not sure if this is the right place to discuss.
But I know a lot of people just grab the free books. They feel no rush to read it, it is just to have it.
A paying customer is interested in the book and will read it.

message 3: by Ian (new)

Ian George (GeorgeIan) | 7 comments Ciska wrote: "I am not sure if this is the right place to discuss.
But I know a lot of people just grab the free books. They feel no rush to read it, it is just to have it.
A paying customer is interested in the..."

Hi, you make a good point. It might explain it. Damned annoying! Anyway, thats human nature I guess.

Why isn't this the right place to discuss it? The problem is I couldn't find a general place that was well enough populated to raise the issue, so I thought Librarians would be switched on knowledgeable folk.

The genre specific threads are all very well, but they are also restricting!

Thanks for your comment anyway, I think its a valid one and I think I will stop giving my work away except to selected readers for their specific critique.

message 4: by Banjomike (new)