The Sword and Laser discussion

Non-military/war based Sci-fi?

Comments (showing 1-36 of 36) (36 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

message 1: by Steve (last edited Jun 26, 2012 09:15AM) (new)

Steve Bedford (realityinabox) | 12 comments Hi all, I'm new to S&L, and rather new to Sci-Fi in general. I started reading Leviathan Wakes (13% done, my kindle tells me) and am enjoying it, but I am wondering if anybody could point me in the direction of some solid Sci-Fi that doesn't revolve around military strategy and/or space wars. I'm not against reading sci-fi about space battles, but I am more interested in advanced societies technologies, as well as exploration and space travel rather than killing various iterations of space bugs. It seems like most of the descriptions of the novels I have looked at near the top of the various sci-fi listopia's are about some sort of military conflict.

I want to label what I'm looking as philosophical or utopian sci-fi. I am currently studying engineering, so I want to be inspired, as well as challenged to think differently about the implications of technology, so I figure where better to look than sci-fi. Recommendations?

Keith (Teleport-City) | 258 comments The Sparrow grapples heavily with all sorts of philosophical questions -- scientific, social, moral, and religious.

And although it has a very slight military aspect to it (but no space battles or anything), The Mote in God's Eye is a fantastic exploration of humanity's first contact and how complicated it is on every level. One of my all-time favorite scifi books.

Random (rand0m1s) You might consider looking into the Hainish Cycle of books by Ursula K. Le Guin

This Alien Shore by CS Friedman

One of my personal favorites Anathem by Neal Stephenson

The Engines of God by Jack McDevitt

Cassandra Davis | 3 comments Alone on the Edge is a wonderful look into the psyche of a human being isolated on the edge of space.