Reading Young discussion

Mock Newbery Book I Recommend

Comments (showing 1-19 of 19) (19 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Flinkybits (new)

Flinkybits | 10 comments Hi there. I am a Youth Services Librarian. As of late I have been reading books that many libraries think might win the Newbery this year. May I recommend a few that I thought were EXCELLENT!

The Underneath by Kathi Appelt
My FAVORITE, though sad extremely illuminating. Was a finalist for the National Book Awards this year. "Lyrical" writing that draws pretty pictures in your head. Just enough words. Four intertwined stories that are metaphors connected to one another. Gripping, moving, heartbreaking, life changing...it is okay to cry once in a while.

Grow by Juanita Havill-a Novel in Verse, wonderful, short, light in places and heavy in others, a younger person's read.

Seer of Shadows by Avi-spooky! You will be transported back in time to late 1800's New York City and you will learn a lot about photography at that time plus ghosts.

Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins-would not recommend for an award but it is a great adventure book. It is eerie and a little disturbing-a forced battle to the death of teens with a surprising end. Beginning of a series.

Enjoy!

message 2: by Sheila (last edited Feb 25, 2009 03:52AM) (new)

Sheila Ruth (sheilaruth) | 9 comments I agree on The Underneath. It's a beautiful book, and I think it's a strong Newbery contender. I loved The Hunger Games too, but don't think that it's the type of book likely to garner a Newbery. I haven't read the others you mention.

message 3: by Flinkybits (new)

Flinkybits | 10 comments Hi there, Sheila. You should write to Kathi Appelt and tell her you loved her book. She is an extremely personable author and will write you back. Her e-mail adress is: k-author@kathiappelt.com