The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time question

What makes you love a book?
Dwight Okita Dwight Apr 25, 2012 09:40PM
I really love Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon. I am also a writer and I would love to hear from readers to know what makes you fall in love with a book. In the most memorable books, what happens in the plot that puts you over the moon? What happens to the characters in the best books? And what does NOT happen in the books that don't sing to you? I've heard what critics and authors like. But I'm especially interested to learn what other readers treasure, get ecstatic over. After I hear from a couple readers, I will add my two cents about why I love this particular book, and books in general.

I love getting an insight into someone elses mind. I find in real life conversations most people keep there guards up and only let out small snippets of hat they are truly thinking but in a book you have the opportunity to get inside others heads and get honest answers. Curious was a fascinating journey into the intricate mind of the autistic I can't say I loved it but I may never have that chance again.

I love the question, and I could focus on a number of things. But what makes a book a classic is that it sticks with me over years. Some books are great to read and may influence me, but a few months later I can not recall a thing from them. I know I read them, but nothing particular sticks in my mind. But not to contradict myself, some books are an overall portrait of an event or a people, so a particular scene does not stick in my head, but a particular feeling is attached to the book.