The Time Traveler's Wife The Time Traveler's Wife discussion

Why is this a romance?

Comments (showing 1-34 of 34) (34 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Paul Dale It seems somewhat of a odd question but for me it's a valid one.

Given the nature of how they meet and the very strong pre-determination in all that happens, is this really a romance? Do the characters have a choice?

I think I may be answering my own question when I say that my notion of romance is somewhat different to the relationship that is written about here.

I would love to hear why people think this is a romance and what is romantic about this book.

(A touch of background, I studied The Love Story as part of a degree so I have real interest in the subject.)

message 2: by W (new) - rated it 4 stars

W I think that's one of the things that makes it such an interesting romance to read -- if you know you're destined to be together, how would that change how you approach your relationship? Most relationships you can choose to walk away, but they already knew that wasn't the case. Also, since they met each other at different times, they each had to develop their feelings and grow in their love at very different rates -- Henry as an adult couldn't show his love for Claire in the same way when he visited her as a child, and when they finally did meet in the current time, Claire's feelings had already developed a lot more than Henry's. They struggled through so many complications of their love, and yet somehow stuck with it.

message 3: by Amy (new) - rated it 4 stars