Heathens, Pagans and Witches discussion

Practical Pagan > All Things Tarot

Comments (showing 1-50 of 94) (94 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Nell (new)

Nell Grey (nellgrey) | 1676 comments A thread to discuss all things relating to tarot - history, cards, books, readings etc.

message 2: by Nell (new)

Nell Grey (nellgrey) | 1676 comments :) Just to warm the thread a little, a question: What's your favourite tarot? Is it the one you use to read with most often, or the one with the artwork you love most? Perhaps you're wedded to just one deck.

I've been collecting tarots for a few years now, but I'm not a collector in the true sense, in that I only buy the ones with artwork I like. I think of them as mini art galleries in boxes, and love to dream my way through a deck when I have some quiet time. I said when I began that I'd stop at 100, but I have about 130 now, although I buy very few these days. I read only for myself - it's more a sort of introspection or meditation than a quest for answers to questions, although it's uncanny how the tarot has a knack of answering questions that you haven't asked.

Not counting the tarots I've created myself, I think Elizabetta Trevisan's Crystal Tarot is just so beautiful, especially spread on black felt, yet I like the Spiral Tarot - the majors are wonderful and it's so easy to read.

And of course the amazing Thoth, which usually tells me things I don't want to know...

That's three, but three is a magic number :)

message 3: by Ancestral (last edited Mar 08, 2012 03:10PM) (new)