GeekMom discussion

The Hobbit (Middle-Earth Universe)
This topic is about The Hobbit
GeekMom Book Club > Book Club Selection For February / March

Comments (showing 1-33 of 33) (33 new)    post a comment »
dateDown_arrow    newest »

Mandy (ChaosMandy) We are discussing "The Hobbit" by J.R.R Tolkien for our first GeekMom Book Club selection.

Have you read this book before or is this the first time?

Sophie Brown | 6 comments This is my first time reading any of the Tolkien books, very exciting stuff. Just hope I can keep up!

message 3: by NJ (new) - added it

NJ (Chemrebel) | 2 comments I have read the LotR series but not The Hobbit. Looking forward to it!

HomeschoolLiterature.com (HomeschoolLiteraturecom) It has been a really long time since I've read this, so I'm definitely looking forward to working through it again...and perfect timing with the movie coming up! How fun!!

Mandy (ChaosMandy) I'll answer my own question :)

I've read The Hobbit several times in the past but it's been years. I always liked the LOTR books better for some reason - which could have been because my dad had a marked prefence for the trilogy.

I'm looking forward to re-reading it though :) I'll be coming up with questions as we go along to help the discussion but if anyone comes across something they want to discuss, just post it.

Mandy (ChaosMandy) Sophie wrote: "This is my first time reading any of the Tolkien books, very exciting stuff. Just hope I can keep up!"

Welcome to the world of Tolkien! The Hobbit is a good place to start :D

Lori (LoriWatsonBooks) I'm excited to find this group (via the Geek Mom site), as most of my Goodreads friends don't enjoy the same type of books as I do.

I haven't read The Hobbit in years and am considering reading it aloud or using an audiobook with my kids. Love that Dresden was your previous choice, as it's one of my favorite series.

message 8: by Amy (new) - rated it 3 stars