Australian Women Writers Challenge discussion

Book Discussion > Are you an Australian Woman Writer?

Comments (showing 1-50 of 327) (327 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7

message 1: by Shelleyrae (new)

Shelleyrae at Book'd Out | 446 comments Mod
Introduce yourself and your books!

message 2: by Jenny (last edited Dec 06, 2011 08:56PM) (new)

Jenny Schwartz (jenny_schwartz) | 63 comments Ok, so I'll go first! I'm a West Australian writer who is misusing her long-ago history degree:

"Wanted: One Scoundrel" is a steampunk novella set in the Swan River Colony (Western Australia) in the goldrush year of 1895. I've taken major liberties with history and introduced "Bombaytown", an Indian version of San Francisco's Chinatown, to Swan River. My suffragette heroine needs a scoundrel to represent her political views in the men's clubs, so she shanghai's Californian Jed Reeve and gets a whole lot more than she expected. Don't worry. Esme Smith can cope with anything!

Wanted One Scoundrel A Steampunk Christmas Novella by Jenny Schwartz

While you can buy "Wanted: One Scoundrel" on its lonesome, I should tell you, it's also part of a gorgeous anthology from Carina Press ... the three other authors are amazing ...

A Clockwork Christmas by Stacy Gail

message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

Jenny wrote: "Ok, so I'll go first! I'm a West Australian writer who is misusing her long-ago history degree:

"Wanted: One Scoundrel" is a steampunk novella set in the Swan River Colony (Western Australia) in ..."

Hi Jenny - just this morning I got the galley of Clockwork Christmas (that contains your story) from NetGalley. Love a bit of steampunk, so one set in a city I know will be fun to read.

message 4: by Claire (new)

Claire Corbett | 22 comments Hi
My name is Claire Corbett and my novel WHEN WE HAVE WINGS was published by Allen & Unwin in July 2011. It is getting good reviews:http://clairecorbett.squarespace.com/...