Goodreads Author Feedback Group discussion

The Craft > How to promote your book with a budget of £0

Comments (showing 1-50 of 94) (94 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Charles (new)

Charles Elford (CharlesElford) | 3 comments Hi All
I'm new to GoodReads and this group and would really value the experience of others. I self-published in 2008 with no idea how to promote the book and no budget and it did ...ok. I'm republishing in 2012 but want to do some things differently to really get the word out there and generate buzz.

So, if you've effectively promoted your book with a budget of zero and could only do 3 things to spread the word wide and fast, what would they be and how (in a nutshell) would you do it?

I'd really value the advice of people who've been there and done it.
Many thanks in advance.

message 2: by Sabine (new)

Sabine Reed (sabineareed) | 28 comments Goodreads. Sending book to bloggers and review sites. Blogging, if you can commit to it. If not, twitter. Best of luck.

message 3: by Charles (new)

Charles Elford (CharlesElford) | 3 comments Thanks Sabine. This is really helpful.

message 4: by David (new)

David (davidjburrows) | 5 comments Link your website to as many others as possible. Or better, get their site to link to yours. To see which websites to link to check out other sites and search for them on google and you will see all the possible links.

message 5: by Charles (new)

Charles Elford (CharlesElford) | 3 comments Thanks David, good tip. Much appreciated.

message 6: by Jay (new)

Jay Taylor (jaytaylor510) | 1 comments I found people who did interviews with "Indie Authors" and asked to be interviewed. So far one interview complete and a couple others scheduled. Also, finding people on here and twitter that love reading and reviewing. Send them a free book and ask for an honest review. Create a page for yourself and book(s) on Facebook. Great community of writers on there. Here is my FB page to give you and idea: