Paranormal Addicts & Newbies discussion

477 views
Need A Recommendation? Post Here > Books similar to Immortals after Dark?

Comments (showing 1-50 of 71) (71 new)    post a comment »
« previous 1

message 1: by Kakari (last edited Oct 01, 2011 08:16AM) (new)

Kakari (kakari89) | 6 comments Hey, everyone! I just read A Hunger Like No Other, recommended by a friend, and was surprised at how fleshed-out the entire storyline was. I expected soft-core porn in each chapter, but was really surprised that the main female and male did not have sex even once throughout the entire story until the very end. Of course, there were some pretty steamy scenes throughout -however, nothing really unnecessary. A Hunger Like No Other was amusing and had me chuckling at several scenes (especially those that involved the main character's Valkyrie family), had great action / adventure, and best of all, did not have explicit sex scenes for no reason at all.

Therefore, I was wondering if anyone had similar recommendations for me? I tried reading J.R. Ward's Dark Lover but was turned off by the cliche outfit of the male protagonist and the totally unrealistic sex scene in the first few chapters. Laurel K. Hamilton's books also were a bit too skanky as well -sorry if that offended anyone. It just seems like I can't find the right books on my own. I always end up picking up some paranormal romance that turns out to be erotica for newbies. =\

Help?

EDIT: I'm also looking more for Adult Paranormal Romance. The reason for this is because a lot of YA books are a bit too immature for my taste -hoping I'm not sounding too pretentious here. =S Most of the YA protagonists annoy me with their I-hate-the-world personalities along with their unnecessary snarky attitudes. Also, most YA paranormal romances have the instant-love connection plots which I find incredibly unbelievable, not to mention really flat characters filled with lust. Of course, this isn't all YA novels. I've read some pretty good ones such as Graceling and The Hunger Games. :)


message 2: by Keryl (new)

Keryl Raist (Kerylraist) | 5 comments How important is the romance part of the story? Do you want it to be the main plot point, or is it okay if it's a secondary/tertiary aspect?

Death Has a Name and Thaloc Has a Body: Book Two of the Brodie Wade Series are both paranormal mysteries. The second one has sweet romantic themes, with only a little making out, no sex at all.


message 3: by Kakari (last edited Oct 01, 2011 08:15AM) (new)

Kakari (kakari89) | 6 comments Keryl wrote: "How important is the romance part of the story? Do you want it to be the main plot point, or is it okay if it's a secondary/tertiary aspect?

Death Has a Name and [book:Thaloc Has ..."


Romance is okay, as long as there is still a plot to the story, not just "the life of Bella and Edward, the end." I like there to be some action / adventure to it.

Oh, and maybe I was a bit unclear in my first post. I like some sex in my books but tastefully written. It's just that a lot of paranormal novels I end up reading have unnecessary drawn-out sex scenes to please the audience. Like violence, it's just stupid if the author writes 2-3 pages of unnecessary gore to make her action / adventure scenes seem better. I hope that makes sense. =S


message 4: by Keryl (new)

Keryl Raist (Kerylraist) | 5 comments Okay.

So, not a sweet romance, but if you can mentally insert cheesy porn music in the back ground you will be less than thrilled.

Death and Thaloc might not be precisely what you're looking for then, but they are good books.


message 5: by Kakari (new)

Kakari (kakari89) | 6 comments Keryl wrote: "Okay.

So, not a sweet romance, but if you can mentally insert cheesy porn music in the back ground you will be less than thrilled.

Death and Thaloc might not be precisely what you're looking for ..."


Well, let me put it this way, I like romance not porn. I like sweet sex not sweet lust. It just frustrates me when main characters have sex like three chapters in after barely knowing each other! I like my characters to build a relationship before actually having sex; that way, it seems more realistic. >__>


message 6: by Christine (new)

Christine | 4 comments If you havent read the Mercy Thompson series by
Patricia Briggs, its got lots of action, and great sexual tension between the main characters, its a fast
fun read, the Fever series (Karen Marie Moning)is a good one to. hope this helps


message 7: by Kakari (new)

Kakari (kakari89) | 6 comments Christine wrote: "If you havent read the Mercy Thompson series by
Patricia Briggs, its got lots of action, and great sexual tension between the main characters, its a fast
fun read, the Fever series (Karen Marie ..."


Yeah, I'm definitely getting the first book in the Mercy Thompson series soon. =p


message 8: by Madison (new)

Madison (Madison2626) | 14 comments You should try Kate Daniels Series by Ilona Andrews also The Elemental Assassin series by Jennifer Estep, love these 2 hope u enjoy them as well ;)


message 9: by P.H. (new)

P.H. Dillard (Cylence) | 3 comments I'm new to the boards here, so I don't know if self-plugging is frowned upon, but I just released a vampire/angel novella that so far has gotten good feedback. Only one sex scene, and its just 2 paragraphs (and is actually vital to the storyline), other than that the focus stays on the main plot. If you're interested its on smashwords for free. http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/...


message 10: by ⚉[Rᴇs]ɪᴅᴇɴᴛ Rᴇᴀᴘᴇʀ⚉ (last edited Oct 01, 2011 07:51PM) (new)

⚉[Rᴇs]ɪᴅᴇɴᴛ Rᴇᴀᴘᴇʀ⚉ (Resident_Badass) Here are some series for you that hopefully is what your looking for:
Persephone Alcemdi series by Linda Robertson
Vicious Circle
Undead and Unwed series by MaryJanice Davidson
Undead and Unwed
Riley Jenson Guardian by Keri Arthur
Full Moon Rising
Aisling Gray by Katie MacAlister
Fire Me Up
Vegas Vampires series by Erin Mccarthy
High Stakes
Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh
Angels' Blood
Halfway to the Grave series by Jeannie Frost
Halfway to the Grave
Georgina Kincaid series by Richelle Mead
Succubus Blues
Chicagoland Vampire series by Chloe Neill
Some Girls Bite
These are really good series. HOPE EVERYONE LIKES!!


message 11: by Susan (new)

Susan kakari
Jacob (Nightwalkers, #1) by Jacquelyn Frank is the first in a series of 5 books - they make love and the couples are very much in love - it's not in your face SEX, but it's HOT--there are dangers, fun, interesting characters - all different - and all extremely devoted to their "mates" - guys are HUNKS!
My favorite of all series I've read (and THAT's a LOT)


message 12: by Susan (new)

Susan Love at Stake is another GREAT series


message 13: by Love_books (new)

Love_books | 123 comments Madison wrote: "You should try Kate Daniels Series by Ilona Andrews also The Elemental Assassin series by Jennifer Estep, love these 2 hope u enjoy them as well ;)"

Agreed! I've seen alot of positve reviews about Kate Daniel series. I just started reading the first one and its really good. As for Elemental Assassin series. Im In Love With It lol. You should definitely give this two a try.


message 14: by Kilgallen (new)

Kilgallen | 24 comments I would reccomend The Mystery of Grace by Charles DeLint. Awesome read!


message 15: by Ladyacct (new)

Ladyacct | 65 comments Spider's Bite (Elemental Assassin, #1) by Jennifer Estep

Really good series!!!


message 16: by namericanwordcat (new)

namericanwordcat | 33 comments I really love Robin Owen's Series the sex or love making comes from a relationship--even though one series has fated mates they still have to really work for it. Heart Mate (Celta's Heartmates, #1) by Robin D. Owens Guardian Of Honor (The Summoning, #1) by Robin D. Owens


message 18: by Susan (new)

Susan Just re-read your post Kakari - you really have VERY specific requests - I think you're missing out on a lot of really good books - can you just skim or skip the sex scenes?
and you didn't like JACOB in the Nightwalkers series?!?!?!? That says a lot! Dang woman...you're picky! LOL


Shera (Book Whispers) (SheraBookWhispers) | 2530 comments I have to be honest finding more PNR like a Hunger Like No Other is hard.

To many of them get it on fast. However Anya Bast's one series does fit what you're looking for in the first book.

Wicked Enchantment (Dark Magick, #1) by Anya Bast

Let me know if that one will work for you so I know if I'm going in the right direction.


message 20: by A.R. (new)

A.R. Moler | 22 comments To Kakari, are you only looking for m/f?


Gabrielle Blaque/~Bhlack Benehvolence~ (werewolfgrl1) | 277 comments Hi Kakari, I wanted to recommend a book to you that might be something you looking for. There's this series called The Maker's song and the first book is called A Rush of Wings.

I can't remember a lot about the book but I know that there's only one sex scene in it and it's not all that explicit, I think there's a little more sexual tension then in most books. I think that just makes the book better.

It's also got some suspenseful scenes in it so I hope you don't mind that, but it's a very interesting story and I really think you'd get into it.


Shera (Book Whispers) (SheraBookWhispers) | 2530 comments A Rush of Wings is really dull until the end though!! Plus, I don't think it was as sexy as HLNO.


message 23: by Lisa M (new)

Lisa M (lamessegee) | 462 comments Shera (Book Whispers) wrote: "I have to be honest finding more PNR like a Hunger Like No Other is hard.

To many of them get it on fast. However Anya Bast's one series does fit what you're looking for in the first book.

..."

Really? LOL! I think the Dark Magick series is kind of hot! But don't get me wrong--I LOVE it! ;)


Kakari, you might also want to try these series:
Night Creature by Lori Handeland
Changeling by Dani Harper
First books:
Blue Moon (Nightcreature, #1) by Lori Handeland Changeling Moon (Changeling, #1) by Dani Harper


Shera (Book Whispers) (SheraBookWhispers) | 2530 comments I read a Rush of Wings along time ago. For some reason it was just so dulll that it puts a fog on my brain everytime I think about it. However, I do still buy every book that's released in the series.


message 25: by Kaye620 (new)

Kaye620 | 686 comments Darkfever (Fever, #1) by Karen Marie MoningKaren Marie Moning (e-book on sale for Christmas for $1.99)
Moon Called (Mercedes Thompson, #1) by Patricia Briggs Pat. Briggs
Rosemary and Rue (October Daye, #1) by Seanan McGuire Seanan McGuire
Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires, #1) by Chloe Neill Chloe Neill
Once Bitten, Twice Shy (Jaz Parks, #1) by Jennifer Rardin Jenifer Rardin
Blood Warrior (The Alexa Montgomery Saga #1) by H.D. Gordon H. D. Gordon


message 26: by Kakari (new)

Kakari (kakari89) | 6 comments A.R. wrote: "To Kakari, are you only looking for m/f?"

I don't mind other pairs. xD I don't judge love. =p

And, thanks to everyone so far. >.<


message 27: by Jenny (new)

Jenny Foreman (jenisbored) | 1 comments Kakari- I really like Christine Feehan's Christine Feehan Leopard series... The Leopard Series by Christine Feehan I loved all her series. I hope you enjoy them!


message 28: by Crystallena (new)

Crystallena (HardKnockWife) | 2 comments Sweet shifter loving in the Magnus Pack (read first) and Pride books byShelly Laurenston and it has roller derby! (not until book 4 of the Pride books, but, still, SHIFTER ROLLER DERBY!) Seriously, this was the funniest series I have read in a while and it has just enough good loving to keep me from feeling like a pervert, but still indulge my guilty pleasure.


message 29: by Julie (new)

Julie (musicaficta) I would also recommend Casey Daniels' 'Pepper Martin' series and C.E. Murphy's 'Walker Papers' series.


message 30: by Missyb (new)

Missyb | 93 comments Karen Chance - Cassandra Palmer
Marta Acosta - Casa Dracula
Michele Rowen - Immortality Bites
Nancy Haddock - Oldest City vampire
Molly Harper - Jane Jameson
Erin McCarthy - Vegas Vampire


message 31: by Samantha (new)

Samantha | 1 comments I haven't read it in a while, so please forgive me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, #1) by Kim Harrison had any sex in it. In fact, the romance is thin on the ground in the first book, giving the plot and the characters room to develop without the whole 'how do we get these characters together by the end of the book' that so many other books in the genre tend to do. I've only read the first two, but if they're any indication, it's a series worth checking out.


message 32: by Shera (Book Whispers) (last edited Dec 26, 2011 07:54PM) (new)

Shera (Book Whispers) (SheraBookWhispers) | 2530 comments You're right Samantha. It's pretty clean on sex, thought the later books do have it--it's not the focus.

It is an awesome series.


message 33: by Monica (new)

Monica Briscoe (chloetwin) | 5 comments Agree with the above posts...Dead Witch Walking is a great series with the sex being in the backseat most of the time...not that she doesnt get it on LOL. It's my favorite series!


message 34: by Michelle (new)

Michelle (UrbanFae) | 114 comments I just finished Scent of a White Rose (The Rose Trilogy, #1) by Tish Thawer which was fun and very clean (except for the language which was quite strong.)


Shera (Book Whispers) (SheraBookWhispers) | 2530 comments That sounds really good!! Love the cover.


message 36: by Michelle (new)

Michelle (UrbanFae) | 114 comments I know, right? It's lovely :)


Genesis (aka Zombie Mama) (zombiemommie) Woman of the underworld series by Kelly Armstrong are great Bitten (Women of the Otherworld, #1) by Kelley Armstrong Stolen (Women of the Otherworld, #2) by Kelley Armstrong Broken (Women of the Otherworld, # 6) by Kelley Armstrong Dime Store Magic (Women of the Otherworld, #3) by Kelley Armstrong. Plus others:)


message 38: by [deleted user] (new)

Romance, paranormal beings/events, sensuality without gross-out sexuality, I'd go for The Ballad of Young Tam Lin by Patricia A. Leslie. Lady Janet Dunbar falls in love with the handsome and sensitive Tam Lin. However, once she find's she's pregnant, a major question looms in her mind - Is he human? I may be biased because of a close connection to the author, but I'm pretty picky about what I read, and I loved it. Get a free preview on Kindle.


message 39: by Susan (new)

Susan Shera (Book Whispers) wrote: "You're right Samantha. It's pretty clean on sex, thought the later books do have it--it's not the focus.

It is an awesome series."


Doesn't this define the series as "YA" then ?? From all I've seen / researched etc. it fits.
SO...No soft-porn? READ YA


message 40: by Crystallena (new)

Crystallena (HardKnockWife) | 2 comments Susan *ARK* wrote: "Shera (Book Whispers) wrote: "You're right Samantha. It's pretty clean on sex, thought the later books do have it--it's not the focus.

It is an awesome series."

Doesn't this define the series..."


Myself, I prefer a little nooky in my books, but many series take it too far. I wouldn't go so far as to suggest that if a Urban Fantasy series does not have sex, that it is YA. YA is specifically written for teenagers. There is a pretty big difference in the emotional depth of an adult relationship and one occuring between a couple of teenagers, even without sex. I wouldn't recommend YA as an alternative for romance, if you are avoiding soft porn scenes. To use this example, the Hollows books (Rachel Morgan) are not YA, in any sense, just because it avoids very descriptive sex. The themes in the books are adult, and are written as such. I think it is insulting to say that if a series lacks sexually graphic scenes that it is Young Adult, or to reverse it, to say that a person that would like to avoid sex scenes they should stick to YA novels.


message 41: by Michelle (new)

Michelle (UrbanFae) | 114 comments I'd also recommend Moon Called (Mercedes Thompson, #1) by Patricia Briggs (Don't let the cover fool you, lol.) I was told that the second book in the series is darker than the first, but the first one was pretty tame imho.


message 42: by [deleted user] (new)

Crystallena said, "I think it is insulting to say that if a series lacks sexually graphic scenes that it is Young Adult, or to reverse it, to say that a person that would like to avoid sex scenes they should stick to YA novels." Totally agree. Austin, Dickens, Tolkien, are, by that standard, all YA. Obviously, graphic sex isn't a part of YA, but I think what Crystallena says just goes to how vague the YA category is.


message 43: by Danielle (new)

Danielle | 7 comments I have to second Patricia Briggs Moon Called and Rachel Vincent Stray. But someone above recommended Keri Arthur Full Moon Rising Full Moon Risingand that book it is exactly what you are trying to avoid.


message 44: by Anne (new)

Anne Mikusinsi (abghostwriter) | 18 comments I agree with Karl, I think it's insulting to tell someone 'if you don't want soft-core(or any other core:P) read YA. First of all that comment insults the questioner. Maybe this is a person who doesn't like graphic sex scenes! Everyone is different, and just because they don't agree with what seems to be the majority, why should they be insulted for it.
SECONDLY, while YA is not pornographic in the slightest, that doesn't mean that there's not enough UST, fantasizing, and other stuff.
So lets temper our words with non judgement, shall we?
:P


message 45: by Yasmine (new)

Yasmine | 57 comments I agree with Susan, try The Nightwalkers Series, Hot but not over the top. Love, sex and the plot were all consistent and balanced out throughout the series.
I really enjoyed it, hope you do too... :)


Shera (Book Whispers) (SheraBookWhispers) | 2530 comments Susan *ARK* wrote: "Shera (Book Whispers) wrote: "You're right Samantha. It's pretty clean on sex, thought the later books do have it--it's not the focus.

It is an awesome series."

Doesn't this define the series..."



No. The hollows are still very much adult. They may not have sex scenes galore, it's still has adult content and themes.


message 47: by Missyb (new)

Missyb | 93 comments Anne wrote: "I agree with Karl, I think it's insulting to tell someone 'if you don't want soft-core(or any other core:P) read YA. First of all that comment insults the questioner. Maybe this is a person who d..."

Sometimes a break is needed from what you've been reading. maybe the series you just read was intense on the amount or type of sex or violence & you'd like something a little lighter.


message 48: by Missyb (new)

Missyb | 93 comments Samantha wrote: "I haven't read it in a while, so please forgive me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, #1) by Kim Harrison had any sex in it. In fact, the romance is thin on the ground in the first ..."

Most of the series does not have any sex. When it is it is basically just a mention or a wanting between characters or attraction


message 49: by [deleted user] (new)

The Ballad of Young Tam Lin by Patricia A. Leslie. Sensual, romantic, heroic, no graphic details.


message 50: by Michelle (new)

Michelle (UrbanFae) | 114 comments Missyb wrote: "Samantha wrote: "I haven't read it in a while, so please forgive me if I'm wrong, but I don't believe Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, #1) by Kim Harrison had any sex in it. In fact, the romance is thin on the gro..."

I've been wanting to read this book as well. I love the title!

Another cute cozy urban fantasy is Under Witch Moon (Moon Shadows #1) by Maria E. Schneider


« previous 1
back to top