Divergent (Divergent, #1) Divergent question


1837 views
Books similar to Divergent and the Hunger Games?
Rhine Rhine Jul 25, 2011 07:45AM
Do you know any books that are dystopian?

I have read:

The Hunger Games
Divergent
Delirium
Matched
Wither
The Enclave
Birthmarked
The Maze Runner
Inside Out
The Uglies
Bumped
Anthem
Brave New World

I have loved all of these except for Brave New World. Do have any new suggestions?



Shelby (last edited Dec 06, 2011 06:44AM ) Dec 06, 2011 06:44AM   2 votes
One of my favorite dystopian novels NOT listed on your list is the Moon series by Susan Beth Pfeffer, starting with Life As We Know It.
Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer


Oh also, someone else mentioned The Forest of Hands and Teeth. I really liked this series by Carrie Ryan.
1. The Forest of Hands and Teeth
2. The Dead-Tossed Waves
3. The Dark and Hallow Places

The author of The Uglies wrote this review to the first book, The Forest of Hands and Teeth:

Teenagers love a good apocalypse. Who doesn't? All those annoying rules suspended. Society's pretenses made irrelevant. Malls to be looted. School out forever.

But in The Forest and Hands and Teeth, Carrie Ryan's marvelous debut novel, the post-apocalypse is defined more by constraints than freedoms. The book begins seven generations after the Return, an undead plague that has ended civilization as we know it. Of course, a zombie outbreak usually means shotguns and mall looting--the very essence of freedom. But more than a century on from the Return, the malls have already been looted, and shotguns are a distant memory. The novel's heroine, Mary, lives in a village surrounded by one last vestige of industrial technology: a chain-link fence, beyond which is a vast forest full of shambling, eternally ravenous undead--the forest of hands and teeth. No villager ever goes outside this fence, unless they want to die. (And given this bleak scenario, some do.)

Mary's world is bounded not only by the fence but by the archaic traditions of her people, which are enforced by a religious order called the Sisterhood. Marriages, childbirth, death, every stage of life must be controlled to sustain the village's precarious existence. Even the houses are circumscribed--literally--with passages of scripture carved into every entrance to remind the inhabitants of the rules that sustain human life amid the horrors of the forest.

After so long an isolation, the village is beginning to forget. Some doubt that there really was a time before the Return, with giant cities and wondrous technologies. Others believe that nothing at all exists beyond the forest of hands and teeth. And nobody but Mary and her slightly mad mother believes in something called "the ocean," a huge and unbounded space beyond the reach of the undead.

Mary is the sort of teenager who dreams of bigger things. Not just the ocean, but epic romance and adventure beyond the fence, maybe even other villages somewhere out there, safe behind their own fences. She believes that answers can be found to questions like, What made the Return happen? And what was it like before?

Escaping the confines of home for the greater world is, of course, one of the great themes of teen literature. But few heroes in any genre have faced an obstacle as daunting as the forest of hands and teeth. Though Ryan's writing is as lyrical as her title, this novel is driven by the same grim relentlessness that animates any good zombie film. Elegant prose and undead hordes combine to create a story where high drama feels completely unforced, where tension is constant, and where an image as simple as the open sea is achingly romantic.

Zombies have been metaphors for many things: consumerism, contagion in an overpopulated world, the inevitability of death. But here they resonate with a particularly teenage realization about the world--that social limits and backward traditions are numberless and unstoppable, no matter how shambling they may seem at first.

And yet we must try to escape them anyway, lest we wither inside the fence.--Scott Westerfeld


More YA options:
-Feed
-Across the Universe
-The Forest of Hands and Teeth
-Blood Red Road

Some classics:
-1984
-Lord of the Flies
-Fahrenheit 451
-We
-A Clockwork Orange
-Children of Men
-Never Let Me Go

I also second Battle Royale, The Giver, V for Vendetta, and The Handmaid's Tale. I know it's super trendy right now, but I've always loved dystopian literature.


I recommend the Maze Runner series to any and everyone, they may be the best books I have read in a long time


The Mindjack Trilogy by Susan Kaye Quinn is really good too.


I would HIGHLY suggest Article 5 and Under the Never Sky...both are dystopian...both are FANTASTIC!! i wasn't entirely sold when i first picked them up, but was quickly won over.


My favorite YA book is Oppression Jessica Therrien


LOVED Contributor it was a great dystopian book! Contributor (Contributor, #1) by Nicole Ciacchella


sanny (last edited May 15, 2012 11:43AM ) May 15, 2012 11:37AM   0 votes
Not many books I can recall off-hand now...perhaps:
Fahrenheit 451 Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury but this is in no way similar to Hunger Games kind of dystopia.

If you're interested, the manga series "Pluto" by Naoki Urasawa is one of the best-told dystopian tales imo (it's actually a remake of Osamu Tezuka's short story, the strongest robot in the universe). PLUTO 001 by Naoki Urasawa

Also, while this is more post-apocalyptic rather than dystopian, it stands out from recent YA fiction Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, #1) by Susan Ee

Another 'dystopian' and a retelling of sorts, and which I'm reading now: Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer


I can't believe noone has mentioned the Chaos Walking Trilogy, it's really awesome!!

29765792
Alyssa Olson article 5!
Mar 19, 2014 09:50PM

delirium
paranormalcy
matched
legend


Hi!,
Here are some books similar to THG and Divergent!

.Article 5-I haven't read this one yet, but it's had brilliant reviews and sounds amazing!
.The Immortal Rules-This book is in my TBR pile and looks brilliant. :)
.Starters by Lissa Price- I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! ;)

I hope that helps!:)
Beth xx

U 25x33
Gretchen Starters is the best book ever!!! After Divergent
Nov 21, 2013 08:19PM

Maybe The Skulduggery Pleasant Series


UNWIND


article 5 by kristin simmons




Try Crewel by Gennifer Albin.


Wow...that's a lot...you really like dystopian societies, don't you?? I'd have to add the Giver...it was ookay...


The Mortal Instruments is really good.


Although I would recommend all of those above, there's one more you should in the list:
LEGEND by MARIE LU!
A dystopia 100 years from now in Los Angeles. check it out!


Crossing Over by Savannah Schofield

http://www.amazon.com/Crossing-Over-e...


the maze runner, matched, the uglies, XVI


Excellent suggestions here...have read the older ones...(faren. 451, 1984, etc). Will definatly be adding the newer titles to my to-read list. I think a lot of them already are.. the host by Meyer never caught me.




I am reading The Program at the moment by Suzanne Young.... It's so good I can't put it down.


Rhine wrote: "Do you know any books that are dystopian?

I have read:

The Hunger Games
Divergent
Delirium
Matched
Wither
The Enclave
Birthmarked
The Maze Runner
Inside Out
The Uglies
Bumped
Anth..."



wow. you love reading dystopian books. Incarceron is a good book. :)


Matched by Ally Condie

Matched

You can go read my review, it wasn't the best, but it seems like you're a really big fan of these types of books and the sequel is coming out soon too. I think you'll like it. It was good, although, I had some issues with it, but I still liked it and enjoyed it. It's a nice light summer read that's also pretty quick.




Battle Royale by Koushun Takami. It's a really great book that is kind of like the original Hunger Games, but bloodier and far more intense.


The first dystopian book I've ever read and always loved is
The Chrysalids
It's a classic. I liked The Day of the Triffids too, but not as much as the Chrysalids. I think it's his best.


Riatrini (last edited Dec 09, 2011 09:23AM ) Dec 04, 2011 09:09PM   0 votes
The mortal instruments


The hollow people by Brian Keaney


I highly recommend The Giver and Unwind. A newer book not yet mentioned here but that I really loved is Pure by Julianna Baggott.


Just finished reading this one Reboot (Reboot, #1) by Amy Tintera. It's a great book! :D


Wither: In the future, humans die in their 20s, so a young girl is kidnapped by a wealthy man who wants to make her his wife and father a child with her
Wither (The Chemical Garden, #1) by Lauren DeStefano

The Complex: About a girl infected with a deadly virus who is quarantined for 13 years in a futuristic building (takes place 50 years from now)
The Complex by C.E. Zaragoza

XVI: When girls turn 16 they become sexually available and are given a tattoo that signifies this:
XVI (XVI, #1) by Julia Karr

All very dystopian and not yet mentioned here!


Ashes,ashes is a really great book :)


Blood Red Road, The Host, Skinned


Heather (last edited May 15, 2012 10:34PM ) May 15, 2012 10:33PM   0 votes
I have read these four:

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Starters by Lissa Price
Legend by Marie Lu
Across the Universe by Beth Revis

and they are also dystopian.

I've heard great things about The Host by Stephanie Meyer and the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld but I have not read them yet. :) Enjoy!


Jessie (last edited Feb 22, 2013 08:27AM ) Feb 22, 2013 08:26AM   0 votes
Try these 2!

Unwind (Unwind, #1) by Neal Shusterman

and

Awaken (Awaken, #1) by Katie Kacvinsky

GREAT reads, and the sequels are already out, so you wouldn't have to wait long. :)


Rhine wrote: "Do you know any books that are dystopian?

I have read:

The Hunger Games
Divergent
Delirium
Matched
Wither
The Enclave
Birthmarked
The Maze Runner
Inside Out
The Uglies
Bumped
Anth..."


I think you would like Matched. Crossed is the second book in the series and comes out in November 1, 2011. Then there will be a third and final book coming out November 2012. The series is by Ally Condie. I read Hunger Games, Matched and then Divergent. I read Incarceron and Sapphique, but I really didn't like that series. These books are my only introductions in to the dystopian world. I will have to check out some of the other books you have listed. :o) But if you liked Hunger Games and loved Divergent, then you will like Matched and Crossed.


Tika (last edited Jul 28, 2011 06:23AM ) Jul 28, 2011 06:21AM   -1 votes
Aftertime by Sophie Littlefield is one of my new fav's!
Aftertime (Aftertime, #1) by Sophie Littlefield


Yes, Hunger Games made me remember Battle Royale. Except the book is far similar to Hunger Games than the manga which is more bloody and graphic. The movie is shocking but its just actings.

Try :
The Iron Witch (The Iron Witch, #1) by Karen Mahoney
V for Vendetta by Steve Moore The Iron King (Iron Fey, #1) by Julie Kagawa The Host (The Host, #1) by Stephenie Meyer Uglies (Uglies, #1) by Scott Westerfeld Beyond the Night (Envy Chronicles, #1) by Joss Ware


back to top

all discussions on this book | post a new topic


Books mentioned in this topic

Divergent (other topics)
The Iron King (other topics)
Beyond the Night (other topics)
The Host (other topics)
V for Vendetta (other topics)
More...

Authors mentioned in this topic

Jessica Therrien (other topics)